Infected: Epitaph by Andrea Speed

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review.
This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

o-infected-epitathInfected: Epitaph by Andrea Speed
Series: Infected, Book Seven
Release Date: November 18, 2014
Pages: 330 • Format: eARC
Published By: DSP Publications
Purchase Links:
DSPAmazon Kobo

In a world where a werecat virus has changed society, Roan McKichan, a born infected and ex-cop, works as a private detective solving crimes involving other infecteds.

Tiger strain infections start showing up all over Seattle, much to Roan’s dismay, and worse yet, they may have a personal connection. Meanwhile, Roan gets hired to look into the puzzling death of Dee’s former lover. Then the FBI wants him to investigate a new apocalypse cult of infecteds pushing for a violent revolution against normals. All around Roan, events are spiraling out of control.

Just when his singular abilities are needed most, Roan develops new symptoms that might signify dire consequences if he doesn’t stop shifting at will. Roan finds himself at a crossroads and must make a difficult decision about his future.

four-stars

 

You guys, I’ve made it to the end! I’m not celebrating because its over. I’m celebrating because I DID NOT CRY. Not once. I expected heart wrenching tears while reading this. I expected to be in pain by the end of this series. I was okay. It might have been because I waited 9 months between book 7 and this to read it. I couldn’t take the pain that I was feeling while reading this.I don’t know if I’m okay with everything overall. No scratch that, I’m okay with it. I just would have liked to see the ending spread out over 50 more pages. Its just me wanting more Roan.

I really liked the mysteries in both parts of the book. I think everything came full circle with Roan. It has been an emotional journey with these characters. It bothered me when I started reading it that it was no physical sex on page. After book 2 trust me, you won’t even need it. I’ve had a range of emotions and I can say Roan is one of my most favorite characters ever. He is flawed, loyal, funny, smart, and heart breakingly sacrificial. That last one might not my a pro for more, but for me it is. He’s real in every sense of the word. At best he’s amazing with the skill set and life he is given, at worst he is an idiot. That’s the easiest way for me to put it. I hated those moments of the pain for everyone around him. Everyone around him suffers and is in pain because of his pain. It takes him a long time to realize that people love and care for him. I mean only Roan can find a bunch of misfits and they move the earth for him.

I guess feeling melancholy is normal after reading this. I don’t know quite how to review this. So many thoughts and feelings are swirling in my head. I can say, Dylan has definitely grown on me. I was one of those fans who didn’t want him in the picture. Not because he wasn’t a good person, but because Paris left such a huge impact on my heart. For the short time he was here, he was amazing in the very short time that I’ve read about him. Its not me not wanting Roan to be happy, but the departure of such a character stings for quite a while. Dylan doesn’t compare. Its not something I want to do, but Dylan paves the way for himself. He creates his own lane, he requires his own respect and is flayed open just as much as the rest of us when it comes to Roan.

Its so nice to see a lot of people show up in the final book. I’m happy with Roan’s peace. I can say that without reservations. I’d like to point out that I wanted to see Kevin. Yes, his minor role was missed to me. Hopefully I’ll see him in spin offs or such. I don’t know about Holden. We all know his issues. I’m trying to figure out if I can read a series featuring Holden without Roan. I feel like with all his cynicism, I’d be able to.  This series should be read in order, and favored. One of the best urban fantasy series ever!

 

signature-fonts

About Andrea Speed

Andrea Speed was born looking for trouble in some hot month without an R in it. While succeeding in finding Trouble, she has also been found by its twin brother, Clean Up, and is now on the run, wanted for the murder of a mop and a really cute, innocent bucket that was only one day away from retirement. (I was framed, I tell you – framed!)
In her spare time, she arms lemurs in preparation for the upcoming war against the Mole Men. Viva la revolution!

Infected: Undertow by Andrea Speed

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review.
This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

o-infected-undertowInfected: Undertow by Andrea Speed
Series: Infected, Book Seven
Release Date: November 11, 2014
Pages: 350 • Format: eARC
Published By: DSP Publications
Purchase Links:
DSPAmazon Kobo

2nd Edition

In a world where a werecat virus has changed society, Roan McKichan, a born infected and ex-cop, works as a private detective trying to solve crimes involving other infecteds

Now Roan is locked in a coma as the struggle between his human and werecat sides reaches a new extreme. All Dylan can do is sit, wait, and think.

Meanwhile, Roan’s assistant, Holden, wants to shed his old street life and his relationship with Scott, but he can’t seem to do either. Holden doesn’t want a relationship with Scott but finds himself drawn to him all the same, even if he can never fully reveal his past.

With Roan out of commission, Holden looks into the murder of an old friend. At the same time, Fiona takes on a case about underground death matches between infecteds—one with connections to the Church of the Divine Transformation.

Finally Roan wakes only to discover that his shifts have new consequences. His lion’s strength is growing, and he can’t hide from it any longer….

1st Edition published by Dreamspinner Press, June 2013.

four-stars

This book put me through the emotional ringer for sure. After all of the emotional pain of book 6, I was expecting to feel melancholy. It’s not quite how I felt at the end. I think I felt resolve for myself mostly. I felt all of Roan’s pain, and it was several times while reading this that I had to stop because I was crying uncontrollably. I get it, and I feel so bad and super protective over Roan. The two mysteries were good for different reasons but my review is based on the characters that’s all at this point. Roan is tired. That’s basis of this story. I think he’s been tired for a while, maybe even before Paris. All the events and everything he had to do was the icing on the cake to me. I’m tired for Roan. I cannot imagine what he was going through, and in the book my heart went out for Dylan. I 100% believe if Dylan left Roan then Roan would commit suicide. No one can change my mind on that one. So I have book 8 left, and a few novellas but I’m not sure how I feel this close to the series ending.

I don’t know how I feel about Holden at this point. My thoughts are all over the place, because unlike many characters Holden likes being himself. I don’t know if it’s selfish or a sociopath. He has the tools to be someone better, but I don’t know if he thinks he’s worth it, and that’s what I’m getting from him. On the other hand maybe normalcy is starting out with a relationship. It seems to be the path that Scott and Holden are on. Either brings baggage to the table, and both of them seem so damn stubborn that it shouldn’t work. Maybe expectations are super low that they are willing to deal with whatever when it comes to being together.

Roan’s vigilantism seems to catch up with him. I feel like I like/dislike the justice that he doles out. He is the only of his kind that is able to help people, but in helping people Roan losing his self, not just the lion surfacing and taking over, but Roan moral compass seems to decline. I don’t necessary like who he becomes, but it’s so unfair that its an necessary evil. I honestly don’t know how much more Dylan can take. It’s a lot mentally & emotionally to be with Roan. I could never take Dylans’ love away from him, but I feel like Dylan should re-evaluate his life. Is this what he wanted? How many more hospital visits, comas, and tears can you take. How much more personal attacks, and brutalization is enough for his sanity to still be in check.

I’m going to wrap this up because this down feeling I get with writing this review further proves my point of me loving and rooting for fictional characters. I would love to see Roan walk about from MK Investigations with Dylan and move away to open space off the coast of the Pacific Ocean. I pray book 8 gives Roan his peace that he so deserves.

About Andrea Speed

Andrea Speed was born looking for trouble in some hot month without an R in it. While succeeding in finding Trouble, she has also been found by its twin brother, Clean Up, and is now on the run, wanted for the murder of a mop and a really cute, innocent bucket that was only one day away from retirement. (I was framed, I tell you – framed!)
In her spare time, she arms lemurs in preparation for the upcoming war against the Mole Men. Viva la revolution!

Infected:Lesser Evils by Andrea Speed

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review.
This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

2nd Edition

In a world where a werecat virus has changed society, Roan McKichan, a born infected and ex-cop, works as a private detective trying to solve crimes involving other infecteds.

Until recently, Roan was ahead of the curve when it came to reining in the lion that lives inside him. Now his control is slipping at the worst possible times. A new drug has hit the streets—one that triggers unscheduled changes in infected users. Street hustler Holden Krause gets attacked by one of his clients, then is surprised to find himself involved in an unwanted, unexpected relationship. And a serial killer begins targeting infecteds in their cat form—something that’s 100 percent legal.

To stop the murders, Roan has to work outside the law. But his newfound thirst for violence makes him worry he might be more like the killer than he thought, and his reluctance to talk about it with his husband, Dylan, puts an extra strain on their relationship. So Roan isn’t just fighting the killer and struggling with his mutating virus… he’s trying to save himself.

1st Edition published by Dreamspinner Press, October 2012.

four-half-stars

 

I wanted to Sam & Dean this book by the end of it. I wanted someone to care enough to tell Roan to stop. Jeez, no one asked him to stop and evaluate. Sure he’s going to look at you crazy but so what!  I wanted to grab Roan, and drive up to Vancouver to get away from all the madness. But I can’t because I’m guessing he’s meant to go through this situation for the end of the series.

I’m going to need serious counseling after this series. I finished the book feeling melancholy. I’m so debating if reading the last two books are worth it at this point. I am at a lost of words after reading this. I mean Roan has been dealing with the virus for so long, and for it turn it’s back on him at this point was heartbreaking. Let’s be real Roan’s being self-destructing self book 2. This is book 6, and shit got real. I feel bad for Dylan at this point, he is giving all his love to this man and doesn’t know what will set Roan off. I don’t know if I could live with someone who could take the decision to off themselves with no regards to you. I’m not even angry at Roan. I’m just sad for him. It was hard for me to read this especially with all the things he had going on. He’s basically killing his own, and no one cares, and the virus is making him the biggest target ever. I will say this though, I didn’t like Holden for Roan in this book. It pissed me off. I was angry on Dylan’s behalf and my own. I wanted Roan to relax and think. He doesn’t seem to get the impact his death would have on people. Holden is another story. We see bits and pieces of the real him, but he is sociopath and I wanted to kick his butt and make him stay clear away from Roan.

He’s been different all his life. He wants to be less different, not more, but every time he turns around he’s getting more different. I think he feels he’s getting farther and farther away from human, and yes, while that sounds like a marvelous idea, it isn’t to Roan.

This story showed once again how Humanity pisses me off. Roan is dealing with himself, and having to kill his own. On top of that someone else decides to hunt his own and the police does nothing about it. I kept waiting for someone higher to say that it was wrong. What the hell is wrong with people? Infecteds didn’t ask to be here. They are here and human, and getting hunted down like the Serengeti. This book was long, and the one thing that I can say is I don’t know if I trust Holden anymore. Yeah, he’s been great and at times he’s amazing, but I’m too damn stubborn to forgive him for his actions in this book. Every bit of the story was emotional for me. It was darker and more vicious from anything we’ve seen so far. I’m actually scared because this ended in a cliffhanger and if I think this was bad then 7 is probably going to cause me to go for fluff for a week.

About Andrea Speed

Andrea Speed was born looking for trouble in some hot month without an R in it. While succeeding in finding Trouble, she has also been found by its twin brother, Clean Up, and is now on the run, wanted for the murder of a mop and a really cute, innocent bucket that was only one day away from retirement. (I was framed, I tell you – framed!)
In her spare time, she arms lemurs in preparation for the upcoming war against the Mole Men. Viva la revolution!

Infected: Shift by Andrea Speed

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review.
This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Between his mutating virus and his rocky relationship with his artist boyfriend, Dylan, Roan has enough problems to solve without taking on other people’s, but that’s the nature of his work. Someone has to look into the case of the murdered trans woman, and if the perp is the dirty cop Roan suspects it is, the police are not the right people for the job.

But now Roan has a new obstacle to overcome: someone caught part of his transformation on video, and the media frenzy is making it hard to do his job. One case nets him a hockey team full of new friends. Another leads to an attempt on his life. And Roan’s hustler sidekick drags him on a quest for revenge.

With his world and his body both in turmoil, Roan is finding it harder and harder to see the line between justice and vigilantism.

1st Edition published by Dreamspinner Press, May 2012.

four-stars

“There’s bigots in every race, creed, and orientation. Idiocy is universal.”

So this was book five and I feel like something ominous is going to happen. I think I have 3 full books left and I’m worried about Roan alot. Learning that the virus is adapting to Roan was super scary. What does it really mean? Is he suddenly going to outlive everyone? Between learning about the virus evolving and the huge amount of violence, I don’t really know what to think. WTF Holden? I’m not giving him a pass to be on his vigilant kick. Sure everyone deserved what they got, but who anointed him to be Judge, Jury and Executor?

I like Dylan, but honestly I would rather him move on. I know Roan loves him, but at this stage of the series I just feel like he’s a warm body. It’s taking a toll on him, you can see it from each book. I feel like the trauma that he witnessed as a kid is the same feeling now without the familial guilt surrounding it. Roan is in a different place, and on one hand I want Dylan to stick around, but only because I think Roan will find a way to end it if there’s no one their for him to be with. It’s the sad truth and it’s purely selfish on my part for him to exclude his happiness in order to place Roan.

I do miss Kevin. What the hell is up with that? This book the hockey players made me enjoy it alot. They were funny, and such a protective bunch. Kinda made the story lighter then what it was. It was almost dark at times, and it hurt to see Roan lose himself in the Lion at times. The lion takes over and Roan completely loses himself. I’m so afraid that he is going to do something that he regrets sooner then later.

Definitely looking forward to the next book, but I can’t read these back to back. I need to space them.

About Andrea Speed

Andrea Speed was born looking for trouble in some hot month without an R in it. While succeeding in finding Trouble, she has also been found by its twin brother, Clean Up, and is now on the run, wanted for the murder of a mop and a really cute, innocent bucket that was only one day away from retirement. (I was framed, I tell you – framed!)
In her spare time, she arms lemurs in preparation for the upcoming war against the Mole Men. Viva la revolution!

Infected: Free Fall by Andrea Speed

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review.
This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

2nd Edition

In a world where a werecat virus has changed society, Roan McKichan, a born infected and ex-cop, works as a private detective trying to solve crimes involving other infecteds.

Conceived bearing the lion strain of the virus, Roan is the only fully functioning virus child in the country—maybe in the world. But that doesn’t mean he’s okay. He’s still struggling with the death of his husband and the guilt of finding new love; his old enemy, the Church of the Divine Transformation, is becoming increasingly hostile; and he’s taken on a tragic cold case involving a long-missing boy.

As Roan fights to control the lion inside him, his world explodes with all kinds of trouble. The leader of the church is ramping up the violence against him, calling Roan out as a traitor to his kind. There’s a loose infected terrorizing the city. And Holden, male prostitute and Roan’s unofficial assistant, brings him a case involving the suspicious death of one of Holden’s clients, which puts Roan far too close to a murderer for his state of mind….

1st Edition published by Dreamspinner Press, November 2011.

 

three-stars

Self Destruction: noun
1.the destruction or ruination of oneself or one’s life.
2.suicide.

Okay, this installment had me angriest the most. Throughout the series so far, I’ve seen Roan be alot of things. Never in my wildest dreams did I think he would be on this path. I want to say honestly, Tamika you should have seen this coming. While it might not be 100% intention it still is there. Roan was selfish in this book. Not only to Dylan the guy he loves but doesn’t really want to but to the memory of Paris as well. Roan had to face alot of his demons in this book, and I’m sure it isn’t going to get easier from here on out. I would like to stay he’s stronger then the bouts of anger and pill consumption, but I don’t know. I do know he did let me down in this one.

I put him so high up on the pedestal because he has a community of people rallying around him. I enjoyed Freefall, but the second part of the story bored me. I dislike Dylan putting up with Roan’s behavior. I don’t care for the nonchalance behavior of their relationship at times. Some times it feels like Roan is a one man Army and if you fall in his wake then it’s completely on you.

What’s scary is to see the path that Holden went down. He’s a completely different guy from book three. This Holden is has completely did 180% personality change. I mean the vigilantism wasn’t something that I would have thought he would do. He’s suffering from his life being uprooted and being loyal to Roan.

It’s a mixed feeling that I have regarding this book. First half was okay, but the second half was a bust for me. Of course I’m anxious to start the next book. Hopefully this motley crew of a cast can get their ish together.

About Andrea Speed

Andrea Speed was born looking for trouble in some hot month without an R in it. While succeeding in finding Trouble, she has also been found by its twin brother, Clean Up, and is now on the run, wanted for the murder of a mop and a really cute, innocent bucket that was only one day away from retirement. (I was framed, I tell you – framed!)
In her spare time, she arms lemurs in preparation for the upcoming war against the Mole Men. Viva la revolution!

Infected: Life After Death by Andrea Speed

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review.
This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

2nd Edition

In a world where a werecat virus has changed society, Roan McKichan, a born infected and ex-cop, works as a private detective trying to solve crimes involving other infecteds. But when your heart is gone, it’s easy to fall into a black hole and never crawl out.

Roan has been lost and alone for more than a year, and his best friends think a new case might be just the motivation he needs. Roan forces himself back into the game and discovers a dead man who might not be all that dead, a street hustler that wants to hustle him, and a dominatrix who is well prepared to take Roan’s orders.

As Roan claws his way out of the darkness by diving back into his work, he finds himself in a race against time in the adrenaline-pumping realization that nothing helps a person want to live like helping someone else survive.

1st Edition published by Dreamspinner Press, May 2011.

four-stars

Which was why it couldn’t last, as things like that never did. You got a moment in the sun, but that was all–a moment. Good things never seemed to last beyond that.

Awe man, I am reeling with the ending of the book, dealing with the fact that Roan is in a semi relationship, dealing with the lost of Paris myself, and loving the addition of Fiona & Holden. Seriously, my emotions are in a pinball machine and I don’t know how to deal. I must say Andrea Speed did a wonderful job with the edition of this story. Roan’s still in mourning, and I think it’ll be a while Just reading it at times, and those spontaneous moments where he thinks of Paris how me in tears. I don’t really have the words on how I felt reading it at the time. I knew I was missing Paris, but loved seeing Roan get back to a semi version of his self. Seeing Roan lose himself in this book was more heartbreak for me. It was so many times, that if he could fly away he would have. That conversation he had with Dr. Rosenberg had me crying as well. Seeing all the people who cared about him and cared for him for the last year was really nice. Oh Matt, I like Matt alot, and this boy is just yearning for someone to love him. I hope he can get someone to love him right and for him to stay safe. For being a smart man, Roan just seemed dumb to this.

But again, life wasn’t fair, was it? Sometimes people got things they shouldn’t have, and sometimes people survived who shouldn’t have.

I have such mixed feelings on Dylan. I mean he’s dealing with his own grief and while he’s so patient I worry about if he is forgetting himself in the long run. I enjoyed learning about his past, and definitely would like to see more of him in the future. I have fallen in love with Kevin!!! I can’t wait until he gets his someone, but Kevin was a little judgy much in this one, it could be that thinking Holden & Cowboy together did something to him internally. I hate that he’s so far in the closet, but I don’t know who it would take to get him out. I will admit this case left me a little perturbed one of the alleged suspects I still don’t know how he factored in. I’m still unsure, it was so many aliases I’m not sure who the killer was and when did everything take place. I dealt with that because while it bothered me, it wasn’t enough to deter me from Roan and his journey.

Humanity was awful; humanity made you hurt. Humanity was a weakness that would kill everyone, one way or another.

About Andrea Speed

Andrea Speed was born looking for trouble in some hot month without an R in it. While succeeding in finding Trouble, she has also been found by its twin brother, Clean Up, and is now on the run, wanted for the murder of a mop and a really cute, innocent bucket that was only one day away from retirement. (I was framed, I tell you – framed!)
In her spare time, she arms lemurs in preparation for the upcoming war against the Mole Men. Viva la revolution!

Infected: Bloodlines by Andrea Speed

o-infected-bloodlinesInfected: Bloodlines by Andrea Speed
Series: Infected, Book Two
Release Date: October 14, 2014
Pages: 224 • Format: eBook
Published By: DSP Publications
Purchase Links:
DSPAmazonKobo

2nd Edition

In a world where a werecat virus has changed society, Roan McKichan, a born infected and ex-cop, works as a private detective trying to solve crimes involving other infecteds.

The newly married Roan is struggling to balance his work with his home life as he grows increasingly distracted by his husband Paris’s declining health. One case with strong emotions attached takes up most of his time: finding the murderer of a missing little rich girl.

It’s a family with secrets so toxic they’d rather no one investigate, and there’s no shortage of suspects. But despite the dangers and obstructions involved, Roan won’t stop… until he loses something infinitely precious as well.

1st Edition published by Dreamspinner Press, December 2010.

five-stars

Oh my goodness. I haven’t cried this hard in a while. I will be walking into work with puffy eyes and a heavy heart. I mean, I knew what was going to happen because certain tossers can’t put a spoiler tag on their review. But knowing and reading it in that moment was two completely different things. It was so heartbreaking. From the beginning to the end just reading about it left a dull ache in my chest. I mean Roan and Paris get married and instead of spending their time in married bliss, it’s a ticking time bomb on the end that they know it as. I cried early on in the beginning, because Paris was amazing this entire book. I loved the crime and even going into this was better then book one for me. I love seeing Roan grow as a person and a lion. I mean he’s steadily growing stronger and the love of his life is getting sicker.

I like the way the author was able to intertwined the plot and the actions of Roan & Paris. I find Roan’s actions amendable for even trying to work through all the things he’s dealing with. I felt his grief from the page 1. It’s like a slow ticking cancer killing you from page to page. Roan sets out to take the missing person case of a wealthy girl. I really liked the case and the drama surrounding this case. We got to see Kevin who I’m enamored with and some familiar faces among the way. I’m scared to know what the future of MK Investigations hold and the future of Roan. I want Roan to be able to live after this, but I understand and it’s a week later that I’m extending this review and my grief is still palpable. Here’s my favorite quote.

“I’m always going to be with you, you know. As long as you remember me, I will exist. Memory is a form of existence, life after death.”

About Andrea Speed

Andrea Speed was born looking for trouble in some hot month without an R in it. While succeeding in finding Trouble, she has also been found by its twin brother, Clean Up, and is now on the run, wanted for the murder of a mop and a really cute, innocent bucket that was only one day away from retirement. (I was framed, I tell you – framed!)
In her spare time, she arms lemurs in preparation for the upcoming war against the Mole Men. Viva la revolution!

Infected: Prey by Andrea Speed

o-infected-preyInfected: Prey by Andrea Speed
Series: Infected, Book One
Release Date: October 14, 2014
Pages: 384 • Format: eBook
Published By: DSP Publications
Purchase Links:
DSPAmazonKobo

2nd Edition

In a world where a werecat virus has changed society, Roan McKichan, a born infected and ex-cop, works as a private detective trying to solve crimes involving other infecteds.

The murder of a former cop draws Roan into an odd case where an unidentifiable species of cat appears to be showing an unusual level of intelligence. He juggles that with trying to find a missing teenage boy, who, unbeknownst to his parents, was “cat” obsessed. And when someone is brutally murdering infecteds, Eli Winters, leader of the Church of the Divine Transformation, hires Roan to find the killer before he closes in on Eli.

Working the crimes will lead Roan through a maze of hate, personal grudges, and mortal danger. With help from his tiger-strain infected partner, Paris Lehane, he does his best to survive in a world that hates and fears their kind… and occasionally worships them.

1st Edition published by Dreamspinner Press, June 2010.

three-half-stars

Okay so I’ve had this book for a long time. Thank Bingo for calling the Urban Fantasy shelf. I knew a little bit about the series from other friends. I knew it heartbreak expected in book two, but urban fantasy isn’t my go to genre. I like romance and even paranormal mixed together. So I was very hesitant about reading this. I know book one in alot of fantasy series deals with the world building and some times that can overwhelm a reader. It can be difficult to follow along with the story, the terminology and the rules to the story that before we look up and have finished I don’t know what’s happened to the characters. What Andrea Speed did was good. She split book one into two novels, where there was world building and introductions to the world but we got to see these characters in all their glory so book two wouldn’t seem like an introduction into the series.

Our two main characters, Roan and Paris are cat shifters who inherited the cat virus in two different ways. They were definitely night and day, but I really enjoyed them. I’m still a little off put of the no sex in the book, but once I started reading, I’d realized I didn’t need it and I was good to go. The story holds up on it’s own merit and it’s good. I loved Roan and Paris relationship. Roan is this tough as nails, ex-cop turned private eye who seems so grouchy and grumpy, but it a soft ooey goey marshmallow underneath it all. Parish brings outs the best parts of Roan and this is where I noticed that I didn’t need the sex I was 1000% comfortable with them being together. It doesn’t help that Parish is fine as hell. Clearly he has something about him besides his looks that has everyone nodding yes about him. I really enjoy his charisma and his personality plus he’s super bad ass.

I definitely like the plot surrounding the cat strain virus, the cast of characters. Oh my goodness I loved the diversity alot. So many different colored people in the cast. I especially love Diego, Matt and Kevin!!! I want to wrap Kevin up in a hug. I should definitely talk to Ms. Speed to see if Kevin gets someone down the line or maybe I should wait until I finish the series. This was a good start to an amazing series it seems like. I’ll be back reviewing my journey as I continue to explore this world. I’ll leave you with this quote, it’s my favorite of book one. (SN: Think I’m going to leave a quote after each book read)

“You are so funny. You do know I love you more than I’ve ever loved anyone, right? Well, admittedly, I never really loved anyone before, but saying that blunts the impact. I know you’ve got the whole hard-boiled detective thing going on, but I know what you’re really like. I know that under all that armor you’re the most decent man I’ve ever met. You’re my hero.”

About Andrea Speed

Andrea Speed was born looking for trouble in some hot month without an R in it. While succeeding in finding Trouble, she has also been found by its twin brother, Clean Up, and is now on the run, wanted for the murder of a mop and a really cute, innocent bucket that was only one day away from retirement. (I was framed, I tell you – framed!)
In her spare time, she arms lemurs in preparation for the upcoming war against the Mole Men. Viva la revolution!

Review: Freefall (Infected, Book 4) by Andrea Speed

Review:  Freefall (Infected, Book 4) by Andrea SpeedSeries: (Infected #4)
on November 25th, 2011
Pages: 343 pages
(Website, Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads)
In a world where a werecat virus has changed society, Roan McKichan, a born infected and ex-cop, works as a private detective trying to solve crimes involving other infecteds.

Conceived bearing the lion strain of the virus, Roan is the only fully functioning virus child in the country—maybe in the world. But that doesn’t mean he’s okay. He’s still struggling with the death of his husband and the guilt of finding new love; his old enemy, the Church of the Divine Transformation, is becoming increasingly hostile; and he’s taken on a tragic cold case involving a long-missing boy.

As Roan fights to control the lion inside him, his world explodes with all kinds of trouble. The leader of the church is ramping up the violence against him, calling Roan out as a traitor to his kind. There’s a loose Infected terrorizing the city. And Holden, male prostitute and Roan’s unofficial assistant, brings him a case involving the suspicious death of one of Holden’s clients, which puts Roan far too close to a murderer for his state of mind
four-stars

Roan is still recovering from the heartache, but he is settling into his new life with Dylan. He is back working, but he is hiding some physical changes as his virus is mutating somehow. The Church of the Divine Transformation is still targeting Roan and in this book, someone close to Roan is caught in the crossfire, making the Lion roar for real. I was concerned about Roan and Dylan’s relationship for a while as Dylan isn’t as clueless to Roan’s coping mechanisms as Roan thinks Dylan is. Dylan is also struggling with his own needs and desires to be loved fully versus the ghost of Paris.

Meanwhile, the author introduces us to a new secondary character, Holden, who assists Roan in his investigation when Roan was recovering in the hospital. Holden and Dylan didn’t quite hit it off, but Holden is crazy like Roan so I like what he brings to this series.

This series does a fantastic job blending romance and mystery. Great writing, and I am curious to see what the heck is going on with Roan and his infection.

**Favorite Part: Dylan’s portrait

About Andrea Speed

Andrea Speed was born looking for trouble in some hot month without an R in it. While succeeding in finding Trouble, she has also been found by its twin brother, Clean Up, and is now on the run, wanted for the murder of a mop and a really cute, innocent bucket that was only one day away from retirement. (I was framed, I tell you – framed!)
In her spare time, she arms lemurs in preparation for the upcoming war against the Mole Men. Viva la revolution!

Review: Life After Death (Infected, Book 3) by Andrea Speed

Review: Life After Death (Infected, Book 3) by Andrea SpeedSeries: Infected # 3
on May 16th, 2011
Pages: 350 pages
(Website, Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads)
In a world where a werecat virus has changed society, Roan McKichan, a born infected and ex-cop, works as a private detective trying to solve crimes involving other infecteds.

But when your heart is gone, it’s easy to fall into a black hole and never crawl out. Roan has been lost and alone for more than a year, and his best friends think a new case might be just the motivation he needs. Roan forces himself back into the game and discovers a dead man who might not be all that dead, a street hustler that wants to hustle him, and a dominatrix who is well prepared to take Roan’s orders. As Roan claws his way out of the darkness by diving back into his work, he finds himself in a race against time in the adrenaline-pumping realization that nothing helps a person want to live like helping someone else survive.

This one was an emotional journey as it has been a year [ since the loss. It was so sad to see Ro in such a funk. But it was so encouraging to see how Paris had taken so many steps to try to make sure Roan would be okay. He had notes, people etc to try to uplift Roan.
Work and a new friendship (the later also precipitated by Paris) finally started to help Roan take affirmative steps to living again. Dylan isn’t Paris, but he is good for Roan and I really like that.
I am kind of glad Matt wasn’t the choice as Matt doesn’t quite “know himself” and isn’t emotionally stable to deal with Roan and his issues.

The mystery (missing person & crimes) in this novel was a tad confusing, and I didn’t quite enjoy that merry go-round. But I found it refreshing that Roan was back to investigating and getting back into his professional life. Plus, he needs the money to pay bills. It also gave Roan an opportunity to deal with Matt in the workplace. That was was wake up call for all involved.

I am ready for book 4.

Ezi

About Andrea Speed

Andrea Speed was born looking for trouble in some hot month without an R in it. While succeeding in finding Trouble, she has also been found by its twin brother, Clean Up, and is now on the run, wanted for the murder of a mop and a really cute, innocent bucket that was only one day away from retirement. (I was framed, I tell you – framed!)
In her spare time, she arms lemurs in preparation for the upcoming war against the Mole Men. Viva la revolution!