Tender with a Twist by Annabeth Albert

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review.
This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Tender with a Twist: by Annabeth Albert
Series: Rainbow Cove #2
Release Date: October 2nd, 2017
Pages:264 • Format: eARC
Published By: Self Published
Purchase Links:
Amazon

One kinky wood carver. One younger chef looking to try new things. A series of lessons that bring both men more than they bargained for…

Curtis Hunt has made a name for himself as a chainsaw wood carver, winning national competitions and operating a small business in Rainbow Cove, Oregon. As winter whittles away his tourist traffic, his goal is just to survive the season and try to not get lost in grief for his dead lover. It’s been two years, but he’s sure he’ll never be over the love of a lifetime. However, his body has a certain restlessness that he doesn’t quite know how to calm.

Logan Rosner knows a thing or two about restlessness. It’s what drove him to Rainbow Cove to be a chef at a bar and grill run by his friends. And it’s what drives him to a single sizzling encounter with the local legendary lumberjack. Both men get far more than they expected and learn that first impressions aren’t always accurate…

But when Logan proposes a series of sexy lessons, Curtis must decide how much he’s willing to risk. He knows he can’t afford to get attached to Logan’s good cooking, his easy smiles, or his caretaking, but he keeps going back for more, even as deeper emotions become involved. Soon, Curtis must decide whether to risk his heart again or risk losing Logan for good.

 

four-stars

 

I enjoyed book one alot, but this one had the KINK and the EMOTIONS!!!! #Winning.

From the beginning, I truly enjoyed reading from both guys point of views. It had all my favorite tropes age gap, kink, big muscly tattooed guys, prim and proper slimmer guys, emotional roller coasters and foodgasms.  Albert is such an amazing story teller. I love her writing process, and everything she puts into her characters. The differences in personalities are such a big thing. I love that not one of her characters are the same. The dilemmas that each guy found themselves had brought them to each other for different reasons. Logan wanting to be someone he’s always dreamed of and Curtis trying to fight what he secretly craves.

Curtis, Curtis, Curtis dude its like pulling teeth with you. Argh, I wanted to scream and understand all at the same damn time. Curtis is a grouchy vegan, wood carver with a kink out of this world. Curtis is grieving for his husband, friend, and family. His ex was all that wrapped into one person. Kink is something that he wants and needs. Not really feeling Logan “The Kid”, Curtis continuously blows him off. His perceptions of Logan are well off, and he does things that makes him open his eyes. Logan has wants and desires. Things that he felt he couldn’t have back in Portland. Well Rainbow Cove, has been good to him. In coming here and finding his niche, he’s found his counterpart in Curtis. Total opposites attract story as well.

I won’t go into the plot. That’s never any fun. This story is a roller coaster. Its fun, sweet, painful, sexy, and tears all at once. Fans of Albert’s writing will fawn over this. She delivers a powerful punch of emotions, and I’m never disappointed. Cannot wait for the third book. The writing was good overall, the pacing was steady, and the kink side of the book was very powerful. A sweet HEA at the end of the day. Wouldn’t mind seeing these two in the future.

 

signature-fonts

About Annabeth Albert

Annabeth Albert grew up sneaking romance novels under the bed covers. Now, she devours all subgenres of romance out in the open—no flashlights required! When she’s not adding to her keeper shelf, she’s a multi-published Pacific Northwest romance writer.

Emotionally complex, sexy, and funny stories are her favorites both to read and to write. Annabeth loves finding happy endings for a variety of pairings and is a passionate gay rights supporter. In between searching out dark heroes to redeem, she works a rewarding day job and wrangles two children.

Trust With A Chaser by Annabeth Albert

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review.
This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Trust with a Chaser: by Annabeth Albert
Series: Rainbow Cove #1
Release Date: August 1st, 2017
Pages: 255 • Format: eARC
Published By: Annabeth Albert
Purchase Links:
Amazon

One hot cop. One bar owner out for redemption. One smoking-hot summer fling destined to leave scorch marks…

Mason Hanks has returned to Rainbow Cove, Oregon with one goal in mind: turn the struggling coastal community into a thriving LGBTQ tourism destination. Step one is transforming an old bar and grill into a gay-friendly eatery. Step two? Don’t piss off Nash Flint, the very hot, very stern chief of police who’s not so sure he’s on board with Mason’s big plans.

Nash Flint just wants to keep his community safe and enjoy the occasional burger in peace. He’s not big on change nor is he a fan of Mason’s troublemaking family, especially his rowdy older brothers. But Mason slowly wins him over with fantastic cooking and the sort of friendship Nash has been starving for.

When their unlikely friendship takes a turn for the sexy, both men try to steer clear of trouble. Nash believes he’s too set in his ways for Mason, and Mason worries that his family’s reputation will ruin any future with Nash. Burning up the sheets in secret is a surefire way to crash and burn, and discovery forces a heart-wrenching decision—is love worth the risk of losing everything?

four-stars

This book! ZOMG!!! It brightened up my day big time. I read this in one sitting, and couldn’t move or put it down. I need Albert to push this series out big time! Rainbow Cove is so my comfort read. I really enjoyed everything about this book, my only downfall is that I never wanted it to end! Guh!!!! Why??? I needed to see Mason, Lilac and Nash after that statement. Annabeth, you had to know we would want to see them, and read about them for at least another 100 pages. Is that so hard to ask?

Probably so. LOL. Don’t worry folks, this doesn’t end in a cliffhanger. Its more a HFN until I get a finale from these two. It has a lot of my favorite tropes, the age-gap, out for you, small quaint town settings, children. Its a definite winner. Mason Hanks comes from a family of people whom representation isn’t that upstanding. They are kinda known as criminals, and people who don’t up-stand the law. Not that Mason things he’s better then his family, but he just wants different in life. Coming back to Rainbow Cove isn’t something he planned but with 2 of his friends having the opportunity to open a tavern in his home town is a dream come true. Being closer to his niece who he adores, and a wayward brother and okay father. Never in Mason’s wildest dreams did he think Police Chief Nash Flint would be somebody he falls in love with. Flint isn’t easy to deal with at all. He’s so far in the closet, he’s practically in Narnia. Not really for fear of what others thing, but the fear of not living up to the job title and perception of folks all around him. Falling in Love with Flint isn’t easy. He’s grumpy, monosyllabic at times, and stubborn. Think that’s a common trait in the y chromosome folks. I liked the they were able to trade off on compromising for each others wants and desires. They didn’t have the best of communication but definitely made it for best for them.

One of my favorite things is when the writing feels real. This is a really good realistic fiction. With everyday problems and every day people. I enjoyed the other characters a lot. Can’t wait for Curtis & Logan’s book, I can only dream of where it goes. No idea on who Adam will end up with, kinda don’t want it to be Brock because I want him to end up with this burly lumberjack guy in my head. Proper Brock and Lumberjack dude is so hot. ARGH!!! Focus Tamika! I can’t wait for more, and loved the pacing of the story. There were some really steamy scenes, and I found the pillow talk to be truly endearing. I think fans will really appreciate and enjoy this series a lot. Annabeth, totally rocked this! Definite recommend from me!

 

signature-fonts

About Annabeth Albert

Annabeth Albert grew up sneaking romance novels under the bed covers. Now, she devours all subgenres of romance out in the open—no flashlights required! When she’s not adding to her keeper shelf, she’s a multi-published Pacific Northwest romance writer.

Emotionally complex, sexy, and funny stories are her favorites both to read and to write. Annabeth loves finding happy endings for a variety of pairings and is a passionate gay rights supporter. In between searching out dark heroes to redeem, she works a rewarding day job and wrangles two children.

On Point by Annabeth Albert

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review.
This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

On Point: by Annabeth Albert
Series: Out of Uniform, #3
Release Date: June 5th, 2017
Pages:320 • Format: eARC
Published By: Carina Press
Purchase Links:
Carina Press BooksAmazonKobo

Never fall for your best friend…

Pushing thirty, with his reenlistment looming, decorated navy sniper Maddox Horvat is taking a long look at what he really wants in life. And what he wants is Ben Tovey. It isn’t smart, falling for his best friend and fellow SEAL, but ten years with Ben has forged a bond so intimate Maddox can’t ignore it. He needs Ben by his side forever—heart and soul.

Ben admits he likes what he’s seen—his friend’s full lower lip and the perfect muscles of his ass have proved distracting more than once. But Ben’s still reeling from a relationship gone to hell, and he’s not about to screw up his friendship with Maddox, too.

Until their next mission throws Ben and Maddox closer together than ever before, with only each other to depend on.

Now, in the lonely, desperate hours awaiting rescue, the real challenge—confronting themselves, their future and their desires—begins. Man to man, friend to friend, lover to lover.

 

 

four-stars

Definitely one of my favorite of the series! With all the whiplash and back and forth between the two, I’m super happy it worked out well. Ben & Maddox are everything to each other. They’ve been best friends for over 10 years, have witnessed important things in one another life, the good, bad and super ugly. The one constant is neither can seem to be without each other. Maddox is deeply in love with Ben. Ben is comfortable and doesn’t want to rock the boat. Well, you cannot control everything and reality slaps both guys clean in the face.

The book begins with the guys out on a mission. Things go downhill on this mission, and both of their worst fears come forward. Not knowing if they will make it out alive yet another hour with seeing each other. I really liked how Albert worked these scenes into the present day story. Told from dual pov’s we can see each other’s feelings and reservations about them becoming a unit in more ways then others. Their romance is sweet, and I loved all the transition parts from the friends to lovers aspect of the guys.

My favorite thing about this story was Maddox. He was the sweetest person ever!! I loved how he carried himself, and his softer nature. He made my heart gush so much. Ben was a good guy, and I understand all his reservations about falling in love again and going all in when he’s been burnt multiple times by people he loved. Really enjoyed seeing them come together to work things out. Loved seeing all the guys from the other books and can’t wait for more!
signature-fonts

About Annabeth Albert

Annabeth Albert grew up sneaking romance novels under the bed covers. Now, she devours all subgenres of romance out in the open—no flashlights required! When she’s not adding to her keeper shelf, she’s a multi-published Pacific Northwest romance writer.

Emotionally complex, sexy, and funny stories are her favorites both to read and to write. Annabeth loves finding happy endings for a variety of pairings and is a passionate gay rights supporter. In between searching out dark heroes to redeem, she works a rewarding day job and wrangles two children.

At Attention by Annabeth Albert

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review.
This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

At Attention: by Annabeth Albert
Series: Out of Uniform, #2
Release Date: April 10th, 2017
Pages: 209 • Format: eARC
Published By: Carina Press
Purchase Links: Carina Press BooksAmazonKobo

Lieutenant Apollo Floros can ace tactical training missions, but being a single dad to his twin daughters is more than he can handle. He needs live-in help, and he’s lucky a friend’s younger brother needs a place to stay. He’s surprised to see Dylan all grown up with a college degree…and a college athlete’s body. Apollo’s widowed heart may still be broken, but Dylan has his blood heating up.

It’s been eight years since the teenage Dylan followed Apollo around like a lovesick puppy, and it’s time he showed Lieutenant Hard-to-Please that he’s all man now—an adult who’s fully capable of choosing responsibility over lust. He can handle Apollo’s muscular sex appeal, but Apollo the caring father? Dylan can’t afford to fall for that guy. He’s determined to hold out for someone who’s able to love him back, not someone who only sees him as a kid brother.

Apollo is shocked by the intensity of his attraction to Dylan. Maybe some no-strings summer fun will bring this former SEAL back to life. But the combination of scorching desire and warm affection is more than he’d expected, and the emotion between them scares him senseless. No fling lasts forever, and Apollo will need to decide what’s more important—his past or his future—if he wants to keep Dylan in his life.

two-half-stars

 

You know, I’ll admit I waffle if I should give this book 3 stars for the author, or the actual story. I had to go with my gut on this. This was a disappointing read. I struggled throughout the entire story. My biggest thing is that we’ve read this scenario before. There was nothing new or exciting for the same thing again and again. I love Annabeth’s work tremendously but it took everything in me to power through and read it. I seen all the high rating, and love for it. I had to wonder was we reading the same book. The general formula of a widower and a crush getting together was just it. There was nothing significantly interesting to me. Not one point. If I read ten pages then I forgot what the first 5 were. I even put it down for a while to read something else, and it still didn’t draw me in or give me a glimpse of hope that it gets better.

I liked Apollo from book 1. I guess in his book he lost all the sparkle and excitement that I wanted to read about. Yes he was a caring father, and a tad overprotective but that’s human nature. He’s grieving and still in the mindset about Neal. I don’t know how he feels about Dylan honestly. Even at the end, I sort of was not buying his feelings. I guess they feel forced to me. On Apollo’s side it just felt physical. I didn’t see the attraction outside of that, and I’m bothered by this mostly.

I know Dylan has always liked Apollo so I can believe his attraction. He does some classic stupid things, but they are classic and one reason this trope is so popular. Trying to only stay physical without getting their emotions involved is dumb. One because Dylan’s emotions were already there and they just came back full fledged. This was really a contemporary novel nothing really major happens outside of the story.

I tried and tried to read and get involved with the story but it just seemed liked missed connections to me. I will read book 3 because I know Annabeth’s stories work well for me. I just didn’t like this one at all.

 

signature-fonts

About Annabeth Albert

Annabeth Albert grew up sneaking romance novels under the bed covers. Now, she devours all subgenres of romance out in the open—no flashlights required! When she’s not adding to her keeper shelf, she’s a multi-published Pacific Northwest romance writer.

Emotionally complex, sexy, and funny stories are her favorites both to read and to write. Annabeth loves finding happy endings for a variety of pairings and is a passionate gay rights supporter. In between searching out dark heroes to redeem, she works a rewarding day job and wrangles two children.

Danced Close by Annabeth Albert

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review.
This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Danced Close: by Annabeth Albert
Series: Portland Heat #6 
Release Date: March 14th, 2017
Pages: 132 • Format: eARC
Published By: Lyrical Shine
Purchase Links:
AmazonKobo

Portland, Oregon, is one of the hottest cities in America. Just ask all the hard-working men sweating it up behind the counters of the restaurants, boutiques, and cafés all over town …

Newly clean and sober, Todd’s taken a shine to his job at Portland’s most talked about bakery. It’s not just the delicious desserts they sell, but the tasty treats who keep walking through the door. That certainly includes Kendall Rose, a wedding planner with eyes the color of brown sugar and skin to match. Todd doesn’t try to hide his attraction to Kendall’s elegant confidence and unique style, even as he worries about exposing the secrets of his past.

For Kendall, the attention is just part of the anything-goes Portland he’s grown to love. But he’s still looking for that special someone who will embrace all of him—including his gender fluidity. So he takes a chance and asks Todd to be his partner in a dance class leading to a fundraiser. When the music starts and he takes Todd in his arms, Kendall is shocked at how good it feels. Turns out taking the lead for once isn’t a mistake. In fact, it might be time to take the next step and follow his heart …

three-stars

 

After careful consideration I bumped my rating up to a full 3 stars. I’m not happy with the overall product, but A.A is a very good writer. I always say I want more out of this series, and after each novella I’m like it should have been more pages. This was one time that I think it read needed to be long. The beginning was to slow, and choppy, I’m not convinced Todd knows himself well enough, because we surely didn’t get enough about him. It was frustrating trying to put together a background with no help. It would be little information about him, but nothing substantial as to why he is who he is. I thought this was careless on Albert’s part when every book in this series has been outstandingly thorough up until now. I feel the same exact way for Kendall. It’s little information but nothing really big.

After all of that is being said, once we got passed 35% the story got interesting. I think these two lonely guys who needed acceptance for different reasons learned to trust themselves to open up to one another. I will say that I did like that for all of their internal flaws there wasn’t nothing like the uplifting that they did for one another. Kendall for all his assurances about his appearance was a little hesitant about Todd’s feelings about himself. I think Todd realized that if Kendall a person who probably get judges daily for his appearance, then Todd can start uplifting him as well. It’s the same for Todd, he lacks the confidence at work and in his personal life. I like the idea that dancing has brought them together, and much closer.

I think it was a cute story, but I didn’t enjoy it as much as the other novellas in the series. I wish this would have been a full length story then it could have went a different way for me. It’s still Annabeth Albert, and I like her books. I think fans of this series will really like an added book to this series.

 

signature-fonts

About Annabeth Albert

Annabeth Albert grew up sneaking romance novels under the bed covers. Now, she devours all subgenres of romance out in the open—no flashlights required! When she’s not adding to her keeper shelf, she’s a multi-published Pacific Northwest romance writer.

Emotionally complex, sexy, and funny stories are her favorites both to read and to write. Annabeth loves finding happy endings for a variety of pairings and is a passionate gay rights supporter. In between searching out dark heroes to redeem, she works a rewarding day job and wrangles two children.

Off Base by Annabeth Albert

ouI received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review.
This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Off Base: by Annabeth Albert
Series: Out of Uniform #1 
Release Date: January 9, 2017
Pages: 304 • Format: eARC
Published By: Carina Press
Purchase Links:
Amazon• Kobo • Barnes & Noble

After trading the barracks for a fixer-upper rental, navy SEAL Zack Nelson wants peace, not a roommate—especially not Pike, who sees things about Zack he most wants to hide. Pike’s flirting puts virgin Zack on edge. And the questions Pike’s arrival would spark from Zack’s teammates about his own sexuality? Nope. Not going there. But Zack can’t refuse.

Pike Reynolds knows there won’t be a warm welcome in his new home. What can he say? He’s an acquired taste. But he needs this chance to get his life together. Also, teasing the uptight SEAL will be hella fun. Still, Pike has to tread carefully; he’s had his fill of tourists in the past, and he can’t risk his heart on another, not even one as hot, as built—and, okay, yeah, as adorable—as Zack.

Living with Pike crumbles Zack’s restraint and fuels his curiosity. He discovers how well they fit together in bed…in the shower…in the hallway… He needs Pike more than he could have imagined, yet he doesn’t know how to be the man Pike deserves.

four-stars

This was way more angstier then I like, but it was really good. It brought out plenty of emotions from me, and I’m glad I was able to finish it. It was a point of time in the story where I wanted to punt Zack’s ass through the field goal range. I wanted to shake him, and hurt him for not realizing what he was doing to himself and Pike. It took me a while to put Zack from Connection Error together with this Zack. I mean, he was a douchebag in Connection Error, and a little bit docuhy here, but the man was hurting internally. Gah!!! I really dislike when authors force me to like the A-Holes. I fell for Zack after a while. I adored Pike! I thought he was amazing, and I just wanted to wrap him up and never let him out my sight. *Le Sigh*, here goes my thoughts.

Poor Zack, this man is the epitome of The River D-E-N-I-L-E. He’s in denial about his sexuality and his love for Pike. He is SEAL who is intensely lonely, and really buried deep in the closet. Well not buried, but he’s not owning up or accepting of his sexuality. I really love how Albert makes these guys who I find myself disliking really make it up to me at the end. Zack has this internal angsty thing going on. When work like becomes to much for him, then he ventures out on his own living by himself. Well not entirely, because while he’s immediately against the idea of having Pike; out and proud Pike as a room mate there’s something there for Zack to convince himself to let it happen.

It’s a slow burner for sure with the romance. While Pike is realizing he’s falling for Zack, he knows it isn’t reciprocated at the least by Zack. I really enjoyed Pike’s character. He was super sweet and understanding. I hate what he went through with his first love, but I think it definitely put into perspective of his future romances. For characters like Pike who I feel get shafted in stories it enables my mama bear features and I automatically want them to dump or hurt the one that causes them pain. I’m so happy Pike didn’t listen to me lol. It definitely hurt Pike a multitude of rejections from Zack. The one thing I continuously have to realize is, you can’t force anyone to except their sexuality. It has to be on there own personal time, and I’m uber grateful that Albert writes things this way.

I cannot wait until the next book in the series. Hopefully its’ the LT with the kids, and I wouldn’t mind seeing more of Harper. Yeah, I got my eye on him. Albert has been winning lately with all her release, and I’m telling you she’s becoming such a favorite of mine. If you haven’t read her #gaymers series then you best get to it. This is a definite read and hopefully you enjoy it as much as I do!

About Annabeth Albert

Annabeth Albert grew up sneaking romance novels under the bed covers. Now, she devours all subgenres of romance out in the open—no flashlights required! When she’s not adding to her keeper shelf, she’s a multi-published Pacific Northwest romance writer.

Emotionally complex, sexy, and funny stories are her favorites both to read and to write. Annabeth loves finding happy endings for a variety of pairings and is a passionate gay rights supporter. In between searching out dark heroes to redeem, she works a rewarding day job and wrangles two children.

Wrapped Together by Annabeth Albert

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review.
This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

wrapped-together-coverWrapped Together: by Annabeth Albert
Series:Portland Heat #5
Release Date: December 6, 2016
Pages: 112 • Format: eARC
Published By: Lyrical Shine
Purchase Links:
AReAmazonKobo

In the bustling restaurants, shops, and cafés of Portland, Oregon, things really heat up for the hard-working men behind the scenes when the holidays come into town . . .

For a stationery store owner, the holidays are great for business. But for Hollis Alcott, Christmas reminds him of the tragic events of three years past, and the last thing he wants to do is take part in Portland’s over-abundance of festive cheer. But Sawyer Murphy, a hunky gift shop owner whose brother is married to Hollis’s sister, has made it his mission to pluck Hollis out of his holiday blues. And his plan is beginning to work. Wrapped in the warm glow of newfound passion, the former business rivals hit up Portland’s finest holiday traditions—and Hollis’s icy attitude begins to melt like snowflakes on his tongue. But he isn’t sure he can trust anyone with the only gift he has—his heart—without breaking it like an antique ornament. Unless he can find the courage to take a leap with the one lover he never expected . . .

four-stars

My favorite Holiday read so far. Annabeth never disappoints me! This was such a cute story. It was really good. I loved the tone of the story, and ZOMG Hollis was Kinky Boots big time. This is a Christmas Story part of her Portland Heat Series. (Which I adore big time).

Hollis isn’t a fan of Christmas, he’s still grieving over the death of his parents. He’s anti-Christmas at this point, and doesn’t want to be forced to celebrate or be cheery. Wrapped Together is a friends to lovers story. Someone he’s know most of his life Sawyer seems to be the bane of his existence. I loved how meticulous Hollis was. I like seeing different qualities to different characters. He was suffering from being guilty about his parent’s death so he’s punishing himself. Along comes Sawyer, who’s so tenacious and won’t take No for an answer.

Sawyer is fun, flirty, open, and easy going. I really liked him. I liked him a lot for Hollis. I love the pacing of the story, and seeing them open up to one another. Albert doesn’t disappoint with the writing or the heat level in this book. No matter if Hollis tries to run away from Sawyer, in the bedroom they are super duper compatible. Hollis had some passion inside him. He just needed Sawyer to ease it on out. (Note to self: NEVER GOOGLE KINKY GIFS) You are going to see somethings that you shouldn’t. Gross. LOL.

Back to the story at hand, I really enjoyed this, and can see myself re-reading it again. Every time I finish a Portland Heat book, I always say I wish it was full length. This was no different. I want to see every milestone that they take as a couple. I think these two guys were damn near perfect for each other. They bring out the best in one another. Highly recommend this book. Really great holiday read, and Albert never disappoints!

About Annabeth Albert

Annabeth Albert grew up sneaking romance novels under the bed covers. Now, she devours all subgenres of romance out in the open—no flashlights required! When she’s not adding to her keeper shelf, she’s a multi-published Pacific Northwest romance writer.

Emotionally complex, sexy, and funny stories are her favorites both to read and to write. Annabeth loves finding happy endings for a variety of pairings and is a passionate gay rights supporter. In between searching out dark heroes to redeem, she works a rewarding day job and wrangles two children.

Connection Error (#Gaymers #3) by Annabeth Albert

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review.
This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Title: Connection Error by Author Annabeth Albert
Series: Gaymers #3
Release Date: Sept 05, 2016
Pages: • Format:eARC
Published By: Carina Press
Purchase Links:
Carina PressAmazon

It’s typical of video game programmer Josiah Simmons to be the last one on the plane on the way to the biggest meeting of his career. Though he’s (mostly) coping with his ADHD, he can’t handle another distraction. But he also can’t ignore his rugged seatmate—especially once he learns the military man’s a fan of his game.

Ryan Orson refuses to let his severe injuries pause his career as a navy SEAL. He’s got hours of grueling physical therapy ahead of him, and no time for anything that might get in the way of his return to active duty. But that doesn’t mean he’s above a little first-class flirtation with geeky-cute Josiah.

When a delay strands the pair in St. Louis, they agree to share a hotel room and a night of gaming. Neither expects their new connection to move to the next level in the light of day. Opposites may attract, but is this game over before it’s even begun?

Book Three of the #gaymers series

This book is approximately 66,000 words

One-click with confidence. This title is part of the Carina Press Romance Promise: all the romance you’re looking for with an HEA/HFN. It’s a promise!

four-stars

I was literally like this the entire time with Ryan!!!! GAH!!!!  Annabeth, why did you do this to me? I was on an extreme high from Beta Test and you give me this ANGST FEST!!!

I get the hives with to much angst, and for some folks this might be just for them. At the end of the story, I’m still not sold on Ryan. Book three is way, way, way more angstier then the other two. They were both my kind of feel good love stories. This was a good hurt/comfort, but I can’t be happy because I feel like I don’t know where I stand with Ryan. I feel like I was in a relationship with him, and the entire time he was playing with my emotions. I’m to uncertain of him to be happy with the outcome. Do you get me? Well if not , let me break it down for you.

Josiah, sweet, ADHD brain riddled, kinky Josiah. I liked him, and in his book he read a tad bit different for me. I guess because we’re reading from his pov. It’s nice to see all his vulnerabilities and see him in a different light. I liked him alot, and I think he handled Ryan well. I think that Jos isn’t use to the type of attention or love that he wants from Ryan. I found him to be a typical 23 year old. His character was a little over the top, and I’m happy the way Annabeth went about Jos and his ADHD. He talked about his fears, his desires, and at the end of the day I think he was just trying to Adult. It’s kinda hard for him to be an adult when he’s basically coddle by his mom, but I think him gaining his freedom and standing up for himself showed such character growth.

**Groans** Ryan. I get all of his neurosis. They make sense. Ryan is an ex- navy seal who is having trouble acclimating to civilian life and the lost of his fiance. Well his fiance dumped him and moved on. Ryan frustrated me, and in my head I kept yelling at myself that he shouldn’t frustrate me. I know this, but it still got on my nerves. Apart of me gets it, he couldn’t give Jos what he needed because Ryan wasn’t in control of his own life. This is where angst heaven came into play. Every little stepping stone and progress they made together, Ryan would shut it down automatically. And yeah, for a time, it completely read like he was leading Jos on. Leading him on just so Ryan wouldn’t be lonely. It was like pulling teeth at best. At worst, I kept screaming at Ryan. “What do you want?”

This gif is extremely perfect for me, because I was Ryan Gosling screaming at my kindle. Come on!! Ryan had all the cards in his hand. Yes, your life wasn’t where you wanted it to be, or what you pictured your recovery to be like, but it wasn’t fair to Jos at all. I’m winding down now, and I liked the story, and all the pain it put me through. I need some fluffy goodness from Annabeth Albert to make up for this.

About Annabeth Albert

Annabeth Albert grew up sneaking romance novels under the bed covers. Now, she devours all subgenres of romance out in the open—no flashlights required! When she’s not adding to her keeper shelf, she’s a multi-published Pacific Northwest romance writer.

Emotionally complex, sexy, and funny stories are her favorites both to read and to write. Annabeth loves finding happy endings for a variety of pairings and is a passionate gay rights supporter. In between searching out dark heroes to redeem, she works a rewarding day job and wrangles two children.

Beta Test by Annabeth Albert

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review.
This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

0516_9781459290648_BetaTest_WebBeta Test by Annabeth Albert
Series: #gaymers, Book Two
Release Date: May 30, 2016
Pages: 178 • Format: eARC
Published By: Carina Press
Purchase Links:
Carina Amazon iTunes • Kobo • B&N • Google Play

Player vs. Player. Fight!

Brilliant graphic designer Ravi Tandel is ahead of the game—he’s just been asked to present a top secret project at a huge conference in Seattle. All systems are go…until he learns his buttoned-up office nemesis is coming along for the ride.

Tristan Jones isn’t really the gamer type, but he knows the back end of the video game business inside out. Together, he and Ravi will give an awesome presentation. If they survive the cross-country trip first.

Tossed together in close quarters, Ravi’s shocked to see Tristan’s sexy, softer side emerge from such a conservative shell. He’s less shocked to learn his handsome colleague’s prominent family would never support an out-and-proud son. But Ravi didn’t struggle through his own coming out to hide who he is now. To be together, Tristan will have to push past his fear and ultimately decide: Does he want a future with Ravi? Or is it game over before they’ve even begun?

four-stars

This book was just as good as book one! I’m really enjoying this series a ton. I love the characters, the colorful personalities, and just the overall theme of it. I’m so looking forward to book 3 in the fall!

Book is the ultimate geek fest for me!!! Goodness Tris and his spreadsheets were hawt!!! Ravi has a million friends, is well liked, knows everything and falls for straight edge Tristan who wears simple colors, who has to have order and closed off!!! This is definitely a slow burn, but once things get going it’s so hard to stop. I never wanted the story to end. I was enjoying it alot! I like that we got to know each character apart from the romance before anything happened. They come from two different walks of lives but seem to be totally the same with family issues. Both guys had to learn how to stand up for themselves with their family and outside forces. Both come from conservative homes where being “Gay” didn’t fit their families plan. Both guys treated it differently. Ravi decided to leave his family behind and live his own life in his own way. Tristan was the complete opposite, he stayed around out of guilt.

I like that both guys kind of notices each other good qualities. Tris is really insecure in a relationship because of a previous one, and we see Ravi constantly building him up. I thought it was super adorable. Tris notices Ravi’s eating choices and his low blood sugar hulk rage. I get that way as well, so I definitely understood. I loved what Annabeth Albert did. It was so refreshing to see a New Adult book with some communication. These two had no problems with speaking their minds and they were magnificent. The physical side of their relationship was sweet, sensual. Both guys were patient with each other, and it’s hard not to have heart eyes while reading the story. I basically felt like a voyeur reading these scenes, it was passion and such vulnerability at times. They explored each other’s body and that was more sensual in itself.

I loved the writing, and thought this slow burn is one of the best out there. I loved seeing Noah & Adrian. I cannot wait to book three, because A.A. is rocking this series.

About Annabeth Albert

Annabeth Albert grew up sneaking romance novels under the bed covers. Now, she devours all subgenres of romance out in the open—no flashlights required! When she’s not adding to her keeper shelf, she’s a multi-published Pacific Northwest romance writer.

Emotionally complex, sexy, and funny stories are her favorites both to read and to write. Annabeth loves finding happy endings for a variety of pairings and is a passionate gay rights supporter. In between searching out dark heroes to redeem, she works a rewarding day job and wrangles two children.

Blog Tour – Beta Test by Annabeth Albert

Beta Test Blog Tour Banner

Oh My Shelves is proud to be part of the blog tour for Beta Test, the latest release in the #gaymers series from Annabeth Albert and share an excerpt from the story.

Be sure to scroll all the way down for a chance at a great giveaway too!  

* * * * * *

~Excerpt~

 

Chapter One

Tristan read the manual. Actually, to be precise, he read the Christopher Exploration Industries Employee Handbook for the second time as he sat in the conference room the receptionist had shown him to. The manual had a big space volcano logo on it, along with a small subheading proclaiming “home of Space Villager,” the flagship online role-playing game the company developed here at its Santa Monica headquarters.

He’d read the PDF the HR person had sent over a week ago, and now he was reading the paper copy while waiting for his orientation to begin. PDF was great, but paper meant he could use his new highlighter. He might be done with grad school, but there was something soothing about underlining the most important bits of information. It made him feel ready on a day when his muscles jangled with nervous energy. Focusing on highlighting kept his racing pulse at a manageable level. Even though he’d been through the intensive interview process and had stacks of research on the company littering his living room, he still couldn’t believe they’d picked him to work on the game the whole tech industry was buzzing about.

Even the conference room was impressively techno-hip with screens on almost every wall, including a huge one that took up almost the entire front of the room, like a movie screen. A massive oak table occupied the middle of the room, surrounded by space-age seats that looked like the progeny of a high-end movie theater and a Mercedes. The room itself was weirdly dim with track lighting glinting off all the reflective surfaces. Tristan felt a bit like he’d wandered onto a sci-fi movie set. Any minute now, a dictator would emerge through a hidden panel and start revealing the invasion plans to his minions.

Instead of some dark lord, however, the perky brunette receptionist poked her head into the room.

“And here’s our other new employee! Tristan, meet Ravi Tandel. He’s a graphic designer, and you guys will be going through orientation together.” She opened the door wider and a guy in his midtwenties sauntered in. And yes, sauntered was 100 percent the right word. The guy wore lime-green skinny jeans, a cream sweater, and a lime-and-cream scarf draped more artfully than the valances in Tristan’s mother’s living room. He had poofy Elvis-esque hair, and when he moved it was with an effortless I-own-this-room confidence and grace.

And something about him made Tristan feel about as cool and significant as yesterday’s coffee grounds.

“Hey.” Ravi held out his hand.

“Hiiii—whoa!” As Tristan tried to stand, he somehow tripped a mechanism in the chair, tipping precariously backward, almost flat, and hey, there was a screen on the ceiling too, but whoops, trying to sit up catapulted the whole contraption forward, dropping him in a heap right at Ravi’s feet. They were nice feet, but clad in ridiculous-looking purple loafers with no socks.

“You okay?” Ravi hauled him up, his grip firm and sure. He was stronger than his thin frame would suggest, and he was actually an inch or two taller than Tristan.

“I’m fine, thanks.” Tristan brushed his navy dress pants off before retreating back to a different chair, one hopefully less out to get him. He pulled his laptop case and handbook over to the new spot.

“I’ll let you guys chat while you wait for Rex, the office manager. Anyone need a coffee?” the receptionist asked. Her eyes twinkled and her tight facial muscles said she was having a hard time not laughing at Tristan.

I would be too.

“I’d love one, if it’s not too much trouble. Black, one sugar.” Ravi’s voice was just as polished as the rest of him, deep and melodic with a hint of the sort of East Coast accent Tristan associated with lawyer friends of his mother’s.

“You?” The receptionist looked expectantly at Tristan.

“Black is fine.” Or at least it would be today. In reality, he drowned coffee under gallons of cream and sugar, and on rare occasions he let himself order one of those blended things. But today he was out to fit in, not make waves, and prove that he could be a team player. And liking his coffee closer to candy was just one of the things he wasn’t sharing with his new coworkers.

“So what do you do?” Ravi took a chair across from Tristan, pushing it back from the table and reclining it to the perfect conversational angle, no thrashing like a trout on a line required from him.

“I’m going to be in the marketing department. Brand management.”

“This your first job in the software industry?” Ravi’s dark eyes swept over him as if he found Tristan’s new white shirt, dress pants and microchip tie somehow lacking. That last bit had been a touch of whimsy, a graduation gift from a friend who’d heard about his job, and a nod to the fact that the hiring manager said this was a fun office. But the way Ravi’s eyes were sparkling had Tristan reconsidering every wardrobe choice.

“No,” Tristan said, because technically it was his first job anywhere where he didn’t have intern after his name.

Ravi shrugged like he didn’t quite believe Tristan. “You’re young,” he pronounced.

“I’m twenty-four.” Tristan tried to sit up straighter without accidentally tripping the chair’s desire to hurl him toward Ravi.

Or maybe that’s just you.

And he couldn’t be that much younger than Ravi, who looked to be in his midtwenties as well, maybe a couple of years older. But Ravi simply shook his head like he couldn’t fathom Tristan being old enough to drive, let alone work here. Tristan knew it was his face—pale skin, blue eyes, blond hair, and he looked like he never needed to shave, even if he totally did.

“Man, I needed this.” Ravi smiled as the receptionist came back in with two steaming cups. “I swear I’m still fighting a hangover from New Year’s.”

Tristan felt his eyes go wide, and he looked to the receptionist to see if she was equally horrified. But she laughed like Ravi was a man in one of those campaigns for expensive whiskey—the sort of guy people couldn’t wait to have a drink with, and the sort they’d let get away with all sorts of bad behavior because he was so interesting.

And hot.

Okay, that too, but hot and stupid because really, what kind of guy admitted to having a hangover on his first day at a new job? Not to mention, New Years was almost two weeks ago.

“Rex is on a call with the Austin office, but he should be right in.” The receptionist backed out of the room, eyes lingering on Ravi. And seriously, the guy wasn’t that hot, even if he did look as if he belonged on the cover of one of those romances Tristan’s old nanny used to sneak.

Liar.

Okay, maybe he was, but Tristan wasn’t supposed to be noticing such things at work. He forced himself to return to his highlighting.

“Hey, that’s a great idea.” Ravi dug out a bright green pen from his pants pocket that perfectly coordinated with his outfit. He opened his handbook, only he didn’t start underlining and taking notes in the margins like Tristan. No, he used the blank inside cover to sketch an entire intergalactic war, complete with exploding meteors and futuristic ships darting between planets. Tristan found himself hypnotized as the drawing unfolded over the course of their wait. Ravi’s pen flew over the page, first doing rough outlines of elements, then adding more and more detail. Unlike Tristan, who kept glancing up at the clock, Ravi seemed totally immersed in his drawing, but he would have to hide that art fast when—

“So sorry I was delayed. I’m Rex.” A short, portly man bustled into the room. Here was the dictator Tristan had been waiting for, complete with commanding voice and thinning black hair and…dragon slippers. Tristan glanced down a second time.

Yes, the man seriously was wearing plush fire-breathing dragons on his feet.

“Ooooh! What are you drawing?” Rex stepped around him to get a closer look at Ravi’s drawing. He picked up the manual, turning it one way then another. “Oh my God. This is fucking fabulous. Wait until Robert sees what you can do. And our fans are going to love your style. I can’t wait to get you on a podcast.”

Oh. My. God. Indeed.

Tristan had woke up an hour early to iron, studied the manual like there would be a final exam on it, and this guy who was nursing a hangover while defacing the handbook got all the attention? Stop being a whiny toddler. Not their fault you’re still shocked they even picked you.

“Can’t wait.” Ravi beamed at Rex. Damn. The guy really did have a million-dollar smile. But still, Tristan clenched his fists. There was no fairness in the world.

“In fact, I think he’s in today. I want to show him. He’ll get a kick out of this.” Rex motioned for Ravi to follow him, turning back to Tristan at the last moment. “We’ll be back soon.”

Crap. Mr. Cool Jeans got to meet Robert Christopher minutes after his arrival, because of course he did. No biggie. Wasn’t like the game founder was one of Tristan’s personal idols or like he had danced around his apartment when he got the job. Wasn’t Tristan’s pulse that was galloping at the thought of getting to work with the guy responsible for some of Tristan’s favorite games. And it wasn’t like Tristan was dying to gush about how the guy had practically saved Tristan’s life as a teen. That last bit was absolutely true—Robert Christopher’s games had been his salvation at a time he desperately needed it, and he’d never confess that fact.

Heck, there was so much he wasn’t sharing with his coworkers on this job that he’d had to make a list for himself, along with his list of how to conduct himself and be indispensable.

And now he could add a new item to the list: Avoid Ravi Tandel at all costs. He was simply too attractive, too confident, and too distracting.

His plan shouldn’t be too hard, right?

 


0516_9781459290648_BetaTest_WebBeta Test by Annabeth Albert
Series: #gaymers, Book Two
Release Date: May 30, 2016
Pages: 178 add-to-goodreads-button
Published By: Carina Press
Purchase Links:
Carina Amazon iTunes • Kobo • B&N • Google Play

Player vs. Player. Fight!

Brilliant graphic designer Ravi Tandel is ahead of the game—he’s just been asked to present a top secret project at a huge conference in Seattle. All systems are go…until he learns his buttoned-up office nemesis is coming along for the ride.

Tristan Jones isn’t really the gamer type, but he knows the back end of the video game business inside out. Together, he and Ravi will give an awesome presentation. If they survive the cross-country trip first.

Tossed together in close quarters, Ravi’s shocked to see Tristan’s sexy, softer side emerge from such a conservative shell. He’s less shocked to learn his handsome colleague’s prominent family would never support an out-and-proud son. But Ravi didn’t struggle through his own coming out to hide who he is now. To be together, Tristan will have to push past his fear and ultimately decide: Does he want a future with Ravi? Or is it game over before they’ve even begun?


The #gaymers Series

Gaymer Series Collage

 

 

 Giveaway! 
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Presented by…

Enchantress Design & Promo Tour Banner.jpg

About Annabeth Albert

Annabeth Albert grew up sneaking romance novels under the bed covers. Now, she devours all subgenres of romance out in the open—no flashlights required! When she’s not adding to her keeper shelf, she’s a multi-published Pacific Northwest romance writer.

Emotionally complex, sexy, and funny stories are her favorites both to read and to write. Annabeth loves finding happy endings for a variety of pairings and is a passionate gay rights supporter. In between searching out dark heroes to redeem, she works a rewarding day job and wrangles two children.