Audiobook Review: Let the Wrong Light In by Avon Gale

Audiobook Review: Let the Wrong Light In by Avon Gale(Website, Blog, Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads)

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review.
This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Title: Let The Wrong Light In by Avon Gale
Release Date: August 25, 2016
Pages: 210 • Format:  Audiobook (8hr 32 mins)
Published By: Dreamspinner Press Audio
Purchase Links: Dreamspinner Press Publishing Amazon US Barnes & Noble

Avery Hextall, a junior architect at a prestigious firm, is thrilled when his design is chosen for a new performing-arts center—even if it means working closely with his insufferably uptight project manager, Malin Lacroix. When a chance encounter in the boss’s office proves that Lacroix is anything but cold, Avery is determined to learn more about the real man beneath the aloof veneer.

Despite their growing attraction and their increasingly kinky encounters, the enigmatic Malin remains as emotionally distant as ever. Worse, Avery’s friends are convinced Malin thinks of Avery as a dirty secret and nothing more—a secret that might destroy both of their careers.

But the real secret is a single moment in time that haunts Malin and keeps him from committing to the life he wants with Avery. In order to move on, Avery must help Malin come to terms with the tragedy in his past before they can work on building a future together.

three-stars

The narrator of this audiobook had a pleasant voice to and the story was well written. I just didn’t connect with the main characters here so it was hard for me to feel invested with their love story.

Avery Hextall was a junior architect who seemed to have all his design proposals passed over by his project manager Malin Lacroix. What made Malin’s rejection of Avery’s ideas worse was that Avery found Malin so attractive but Malin seemed to barely notice Avery.

When a breakthrough at work leads Malin to choose Avery’s business proposal, it led to personal connection between the two men. Soon, Avery and Malin began having secret encounters. Honestly, I didn’t enjoy their hookups. Without being judgmental, their kinky sex life didn’t convey pleasure to me, but it obviously met a need for the both of them as they kept finding their way back to each other.

Avery was in his head way too much for me. He seemed like he had self confidence in the beginning, but he was a ball on insecurity. Of course, he had to fall for an emotionally aloof Malin. I liked Avery a little bit, but I never warmed up to Malin. Even there was an explanation for Malin’s attitude, Malin was just a closed off and robotic in action. I didn’t feel pulled into the story and I cringed during their sexual encounters. While I didn’t “feel the love”, the author was very descriptive and the pace was good. It didn’t resonate with me as I need more of an emotional connection in my love stories.

I am glad that I have read other works by this author so I know she is a great storyteller. The last 30% of the audiobook was much better but I never warmed to the characters.

Ezi

About Avon Gale

Avon Gale wrote her first story at the age of seven, about a “Space Hat” hanging on a rack and waiting for that special person to come along and purchase it — even if it was a bit weirder than the other, more normal hats. Like all of Avon’s characters, the space hat did get its happily ever after — though she’s pretty sure it was with a unicorn. She likes to think her vocabulary has improved since then, but the theme of quirky people waiting for their perfect match is still one of her favorites.

Avon grew up in the southern United States, and now lives with her very patient husband in a liberal midwestern college town. When she’s not writing, she’s either doing some kind of craft project that makes a huge mess, reading, watching horror movies, listening to music or yelling at her favorite hockey team to get it together, already. Avon is always up for a road trip, adores Kentucky bourbon, thinks nothing is as stress relieving as a good rock concert and will never say no to candy.

At one point, Avon was the mayor of both Jazzercise and Lollicup on Foursquare. This tells you basically all you need to know about her as a person.

Whiskey Business by Avon Gale

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review.
This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Whiskey Business: by Avon Gale
Series: States of Love
Release Date:
Pages: 104 • Format: eARC
Published By: Dreamspinner Press
Purchase Links:
DreamspinnerAReAmazon

Ryder Waites will do anything to keep the tiny town of Gallows Grove, Kentucky, from vanishing off the map—even sell his family’s whiskey recipe to Bluegrass Bourbon in Lexington. Hopeful that the larger company can provide necessary improvements to the distillery, Ryder’s ultimate goal is to get Gallows Grove on the Bourbon Trail… and bring in much-needed tourism revenue. But to keep producing Hanged Man Bourbon in Gallows Grove, he’ll have to convince company liaison, unbearably stuffy and seriously hot Adam Keller, that he’s worth the investment.

Adam comes from an old-money family, but he’s determined to make his own way in the world. When he’s sent to Gallows Grove, he questions the life choices that led him to a rented room in a funeral home, in a town full of macabre-themed businesses. And he doesn’t know what to make of Ryder, the descendant of bootleggers who’s on a mission to save his strange town from extinction. When Adam and Ryder put aside their initial mistrust, the results are as smooth as good whiskey. But after Adam’s assignment ends, he’ll have to decide if small-town life and a future with Ryder is to his tastes.

four-stars

Whiskey Business has plenty of laugh out loud scenes. Avon Gale scored another one. Ryder & Adam were perfect together! Bourbon, Kentucky-isms, Basketball and Bad Puns what more can you want?

I really enjoyed the town of Gallows Grove! I think the town made for a more interesting character seeing as it brought most of the excitement. Ryder Waites is born and bred Kentucky, it’s in his blood, essence, and in his family’s bourbon. Trying to do right by the family and town, Ryder agrees to sale his brand to a company that’s in state and can equally help his little town. In comes Adam Keller. Adam is from old money, and doesn’t need to work, but when you hate horses why work for them? He doesn’t. He goes to school to start his own future. He finds his niche in the world and everything is smooth sailing until he rides into Gallows Grove.

Things are a little tense after this. I found myself chuckling at each guy’s expense. Both had some hilarious internal monologue-ing going on. Adam is a bit uptight when we meet him, and it immediately raises Ryder hackles. From there it’s lust on both guys ends, and funny moments. Who knew Mr.Uptight had such a dirty mouth on him? Good Lord, Adam surprised me. He was super filthy but that’s how I like my guys. Of course when feelings get involved signals get crossed then things go to hell in a hand basket for these two. It eventually works itself out and their union is a blessed one at the end of the day. *wink*

To me this is one of the better novels in the States of Love Series. I really had a fun timing reading it, and Avon stories seem to flow so easily for me. I can always count on her to bring the steam, feels, and humor in each and every one of them. To this day Power Play is my favorite book by her. Not to say, the others aren’t good, but this one stuck with me big time. I’d highly recommend this novella to anyone who wants to laugh, and have some steamy moments while doing it!

About Avon Gale

Avon Gale wrote her first story at the age of seven, about a “Space Hat” hanging on a rack and waiting for that special person to come along and purchase it — even if it was a bit weirder than the other, more normal hats. Like all of Avon’s characters, the space hat did get its happily ever after — though she’s pretty sure it was with a unicorn. She likes to think her vocabulary has improved since then, but the theme of quirky people waiting for their perfect match is still one of her favorites.

Avon grew up in the southern United States, and now lives with her very patient husband in a liberal midwestern college town. When she’s not writing, she’s either doing some kind of craft project that makes a huge mess, reading, watching horror movies, listening to music or yelling at her favorite hockey team to get it together, already. Avon is always up for a road trip, adores Kentucky bourbon, thinks nothing is as stress relieving as a good rock concert and will never say no to candy.

At one point, Avon was the mayor of both Jazzercise and Lollicup on Foursquare. This tells you basically all you need to know about her as a person.

Audiobook Review: Save of the Game (Scoring Chances #2) by Avon Gale

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

(Website, Blog, Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads)
After last season’s heartbreaking loss to his hockey team’s arch-rival, Jacksonville Sea Storm goalie Riley Hunter is ready to let go of the past and focus on a winning season. His new roommate, Ethan Kennedy, is a loud New Yorker with a passion for social justice that matches his role as the team’s enforcer. The quieter Riley is attracted to Ethan and has no idea what to do about it.

Ethan has no hesitations. As fearless as his position demands, he rushes into things without much thought for the consequences. Though they eventually warm to their passionate new bond, it doesn’t come without complications. For their relationship to work, Ethan will need to learn when to keep the gloves on and let someone help him—and Riley will have to learn it’s okay to let someone past his defenses.
Save of the Game Book Cover Save of the Game
Scoring Chances #2
Avon Gale
Gay Romance; Contemporary Romance; Sports Romance
Dreamspinner Press
January 29th 2016
audiobook
200

After last season’s heartbreaking loss to his hockey team’s archrival, Jacksonville Sea Storm goalie Riley Hunter is ready to let go of the past and focus on a winning season. His new roommate, Ethan Kennedy, is a loud New Yorker with a passion for social justice that matches his role as the team’s enforcer. The quieter Riley is attracted to Ethan and has no idea what to do about it.

Ethan has no hesitations. As fearless as his position demands, he rushes into things without much thought for the consequences.Though they eventually warm to their passionate new bond, it doesn’t come without complications. While trying to financially help Ethan, Riley must hide his family’s wealth so as not to hurt Ethan’s immense pride. For their relationship to work, Ethan will need to learn when to keep the gloves on and let someone help him—and Riley will have to learn it’s okay to let someone past his defenses.

Scott B Smith’s narration of the is book (and series) is quite impressive. The delivery, vocal range and overall pace was spot on. I love the accents as well as the rhythm of his voice blended effortlessly with the story. He added enjoyment to an already well-rounded plot.

*See Mika’s e-book Review.

Riley Hunter was first introduced in book 1, Breakaway, as the Jacksonville Sea Storm goalie and teammate to Lane Courtnall. Riley was still coming to terms with his sudden attraction to men. After Lane moves out of their apartment, Riley gets a new teammate, Ethan Kennedy. Ethan doesn’t come from a financially secure background like Riley, so there were some economic adjustments between the roommates.
Riley and Ethan were so complimentary as a couple because of their different backgrounds. Ethan came from a tightknit family who supported him even though they were poor. Riley on the other hand, came from a rich family who was never around. Riley grew up alone with servants for companionship and figuring out his sexual preferences. Ethan was more inquisitive and active in pursuing the object of his attraction even if he was uncertain of how it would turn out. Each hero had what the other lacked so this was a case were opposites attract.

Avon Gale does a great job writing realistic, non-dramatic relationships. I appreciate the way the author just wove the story without silly miscommunications that last forever. Riley and Ethan were good friends and were good teammates, who happen to find themselves liking each other. They went about their sexual discovery in a healthy manner and they certainly had great sexual chemistry. The story was well written, had great flow and just made me feel good. I normally enjoy more angst in my stories, but this series is impressive. It is so nice to see relationships that people didn’t have to suffer the trials of Job before reaching their happy place.
If you want a good low drama friends to lover story, you have to try this series out.

*Special Thanks to Dreamspinner Press for the audiobook given in exchange for an honest review.
Ezi

About Avon Gale

Avon Gale wrote her first story at the age of seven, about a “Space Hat” hanging on a rack and waiting for that special person to come along and purchase it — even if it was a bit weirder than the other, more normal hats. Like all of Avon’s characters, the space hat did get its happily ever after — though she’s pretty sure it was with a unicorn. She likes to think her vocabulary has improved since then, but the theme of quirky people waiting for their perfect match is still one of her favorites.

Avon grew up in the southern United States, and now lives with her very patient husband in a liberal midwestern college town. When she’s not writing, she’s either doing some kind of craft project that makes a huge mess, reading, watching horror movies, listening to music or yelling at her favorite hockey team to get it together, already. Avon is always up for a road trip, adores Kentucky bourbon, thinks nothing is as stress relieving as a good rock concert and will never say no to candy.

At one point, Avon was the mayor of both Jazzercise and Lollicup on Foursquare. This tells you basically all you need to know about her as a person.

All in Fear: A Collection of Six Horror Tales

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review.
This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

allinfear-finalAll In Fear: A Collection of Six Horror Tales: by Steve Berman, K.J. Charles, Avon Gale, Roan Parrish, Kris Ripper, J.A. Rock
Release Date: December 1st, 2016
Pages: 245 • Format: eARC
Published By: Open Ink Press
Purchase Links:
Open Ink PressAReKoboAmazon

All in Fear: A Collection of Six Horror Tales

Horror wears many faces, and its masks can be tantalizing. Some of the top names in queer fiction come together to spin their own versions of horror. Worlds rife with dark beauty and mystery, the familiar becoming terrible, creatures ethereal and alluring—and all bearing the gleam of love. Does hope lie along these grim passages or only doom? It will become clear. All in time—and all in fear.

Company by Roan Parrish
Nick Levy’s family is falling apart and he has no friends, but at least he can escape into the world of his favorite comic book series, The Face of the Vampire. Naturally, when the vampire in question shows up one day, Nick is enthralled. After all, what could be better than his own personal fantasy made real? Except that Nick isn’t exactly sure whether Michel is real or not. And when the arrival of a new boy in school promises romance, Nick sees a side of Michel he never could have imagined. This Michel is cruel, jealous . . . and he’ll do anything to keep Nick for himself.

Love Me True by Kris Ripper
Palmer’s life is as good as it gets. Well, okay, so he hates his mind-numbing office job. But he’s found a hot, smart, incredibly kinky guy. The sex is explosive. The power play is off the hook. And if he gets his way, Jon will soon be his husband.

When Palmer asks, Jon says yes. For the first time ever, Palmer thinks things might be really good. Sure, bad things happen in the world—to other people. But this is all he needs: Jon at the end of the day, in their bed, arms around him.

How could he have possibly been so stupid?

The Price of Meat by KJ Charles
Johanna Oakley will do anything to save her beloved Arabella from the cruelty of Mr Fogg’s madhouse—but ‘anything’ turns out to be more than she bargained for when she finds herself working for a man suspected of worse than murder. As Johanna is plunged from the horror of Sawney Reynard’s barber shop into the foul, lawless labyrinth at the heart of London, can she or anyone get out alive?

His Mouth Will Taste of Chernobyl by Steve Berman
Joining Zeta Psi isn’t Steve’s dream, it’s his dad’s. Nevertheless his dad’s gift of the mysterious Bailey flask gets Steve an in to the frat house, and maybe his best shot at being accepted on campus. But the flask’s silver sheen may only be lighting his way into the darkness at the heart of the frat—and the darkness he’s learning is within himself. Steve wants to choose who he is, but choices are dropping like flies as he learns the true mystery of the Bailey flask. How does he give back a gift that’s also a curse?

Legion: A Love Story by Avon Gale
STAFF SERGEANT JASON ESSEX, YOU HAVE RECEIVED THE FOLLOWING ORDERS FROM THE UNITED STATES MARINE CORPS:

REPORT TO: CAIN INSTITUTE [ADDRESS REDACTED]

ACTIVE DUTY COMMITMENT: GUARD AN ENTITY CURRENTLY HELD IN AN ENCLOSURE AT THE CAIN INSTITUTE. RECORD DAILY MEASUREMENTS. KEEP ANY AND ALL PERSONS FROM ENTERING OR LEAVING THE FACILITY. ENSURE THE ENTITY REMAINS COMPLETELY INCARCERATED. OBSERVE THE ENTITY WITHOUT ENGAGING.

ADDITIONAL INSTRUCTIONS: THIS ASSIGNMENT WILL BE CARRIED OUT IN FULL ISOLATION. PLEASE BE ADVISED.

Beauties by J.A. Rock
When Dr. Lester Usole attends an event at AI developer Carnificiality, he’s introduced to Beauties: artificial beings designed to provide tailored sexual experiences for their human owners. Lester isn’t interested in sex—but he is fascinated by Ira, a Beauty too violent to be sold.

Lester convinces Carnificiality to give Ira to him. Lester has always wanted the chance to work with an adult AI, and around Lester, Ira isn’t violent. He’s strangely innocent, uncannily perceptive, and his company does much to ease Lester’s loneliness. Except something’s not quite right: Ira roams at night, even when Lester’s sure he’s locked Ira’s door.

Soon Lester is certain of only one thing: Ira has a secret. Something that will link their pasts and change the course of their future—if Lester is willing to face what’s on the inside.

three-half-stars

I’m not going to lie, this was a bit of a let-down for me. With all these brilliant writers I expected to be scared shitless afterwards. The 2nd, 4th, & 5th was the best of the bunch. That’s pushing it for me, because the first wasn’t scary but I enjoyed the theme and what it involved. Story 2 & 3 weren’t bad, but I was really waiting for them to be over. They weren’t something that I would pick up at tall. I’ve never read anything by Steve Berman & Kris Ripper before. I truly liked Kris Ripper story once everything came together! It was obvious but I definitely like the characters realistic reaction during the story. I guess my reaction is that I wasn’t scared at all. Yeah, certain areas were a tad frightening, but with the cover and blurb I expected it to be WOW’d, and I’m left bereft wanting the fear that I was promised. I guess, I’ll try to sum up each story without giving away the plots.

Company by Roan Parrish

Hmm, this was weird, and I kinda liked it. I loved the idea about being a loner like Nick and having a dream come true for it to diminish in the way that it did. Michael is someone Nick was absolutely in love with. I remember feeling like Nick could be delusional. I’m not sure if he was ever there, but being petty, jealous and mean towards the new guy was crazy. I’m stumbling here because it took me a total of 14 days to read this entire book. I’m trying to write this review without going back to re-read certain things. Love Roan’s writing, I’m not surprised there. She’s a really dope writer, and I’d always appreciate that from her. I didn’t really care for the story overall. It wasn’t my favorite, but it was entertaining. I wasn’t scared though.

Love Me True by Kris Ripper

Now this I was confused about the most, but liked the outcome. It wasn’t scary or horror for me, but I think being in Palmer’s shoes is probably the worst thing that I would want to go through. It was certain catchy things that his partner was doing that had me suspicious, but pretty obvious towards the ending. I mean these two lived pretty normal lives in my opinion. I’ve never read anything by this author, and I’m slapping myself internally on why haven’t I? I mean this is a story that people can relate to. The normalcy of everyday lives and then your world getting turned upside down. The one thing I really like is Palmer didn’t second guess himself. He wasn’t those clueless blondes on t.v. or movies who see the signs once evidence is stacked against a loved one, and constantly denies it could be them. I ended up enjoying it once I got more involved with the plot! I enjoyed the story enough to want to read more from this author!

The Price of Meat by K.J. Charles

Loved the setting of this story, but I wasn’t really intrigued with the plot. I guess being more disgusted is what the author was going for. It definitely had Charles niche all over it. You can definitely tell its one of her works. I like Jo’s gumption. She was a fighter, and never game up. True Story, I’ve never watched Sweeney Todd or read the book, but I did know the overall basis of the story. I would have preferred the Asylum as the background to the story personally, but I did enjoy the mini world she built surrounding the town. So much happened that we didn’t necessarily get to see Jo & Arabella’s relationship blossom. It wasn’t present and didn’t give me the romantic notion I wanted from it.

His Mouth Will Taste of Chernobyl by Steve Berman

My first read by this author. Oh my goodness, I loved the mystery behind the flask. I’m not sold on any of the characters. Steve to me, was a super flake. I liked him at times, and at other times he disappointed me. I don’t know what I would have done if I was in Steve’s shoes. That flask is definitely dangerous, but the story didn’t move me at all. It wasn’t an ounce of horror in it. I kinda wanted to group it in with the buddy fraternity movies.

Legion: A Love Story by Avon Gale

Leave it to Avon Gale to write my favorite story out of all of them. This was super scary. I had to put it down in the evening because I was scared something weird was going to happen. Jason is staffed at this unknown facility to watch and not engage with this entity. It seems easy, all he has to do is make daily recordings of what he sees. Well that all goes to shit when he decides to engage. From here on out, it’s bananas. The entity known as “Cain” is an I don’t know what he really is. He’s scary I can tell you that. Jason is slowing losing his mind. He reaches out to different forums and people on helping him figure it out. He thinks he’s taking part of a psychological research with the U.S. Government. I wouldn’t put it pass them to do something like this. From the very beginning I was intrigued with this story. It was good and that ending had me holding my breath. Really good horror story.

Beauties by J.A. Rock

I expect nothing less from J.A. Rock. This was my second favorite. I was not disappointed. #TeamIra for the win!!!! This amazing writer wrote a world where Artificial Beings existed. If I can sum it up in 4 words it’ll be My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy (Shout out to Kanye, love this album). That is literally what I kept thinking over and over. It was one of those stories that on the outside it seems perfect, but underneath it was brimming with treachery, and chaos. Lester!!! Poor Lester, tried to do something nice. This story confirms on why in the future SHE won’t be participating in ROBOTS of any kind. No ma’am, I’m not going to let something MAN created get the one up on me. I really enjoyed this story alot. I could definitely read more of this.

 

 

About Avon Gale

Avon Gale wrote her first story at the age of seven, about a “Space Hat” hanging on a rack and waiting for that special person to come along and purchase it — even if it was a bit weirder than the other, more normal hats. Like all of Avon’s characters, the space hat did get its happily ever after — though she’s pretty sure it was with a unicorn. She likes to think her vocabulary has improved since then, but the theme of quirky people waiting for their perfect match is still one of her favorites.

Avon grew up in the southern United States, and now lives with her very patient husband in a liberal midwestern college town. When she’s not writing, she’s either doing some kind of craft project that makes a huge mess, reading, watching horror movies, listening to music or yelling at her favorite hockey team to get it together, already. Avon is always up for a road trip, adores Kentucky bourbon, thinks nothing is as stress relieving as a good rock concert and will never say no to candy.

At one point, Avon was the mayor of both Jazzercise and Lollicup on Foursquare. This tells you basically all you need to know about her as a person.

About J.A. Rock

J.A. Rock is the author of queer romance and suspense novels, including BY HIS RULES, TAKE THE LONG WAY HOME, and, with Lisa Henry, THE GOOD BOY and WHEN ALL THE WORLD SLEEPS. She holds an MFA in creative writing from the University of Alabama and a BA in theater from Case Western Reserve University. J.A. also writes queer fiction and essays under the name Jill Smith. Raised in Ohio and West Virginia, she now lives in Chicago with her dog, Professor Anne Studebaker.

About K.J. Charles

KJ Charles is a writer and freelance editor. She lives in London with her husband, two kids, an out-of-control garden and an increasingly murderous cat.

KJ writes mostly romance, gay and straight, frequently historical, and usually with some fantasy or horror in there. She specialises in editing romance, especially historical and fantasy, and also edits children’s fiction.

Find her on Twitter @kj_charles or on Facebook, join her Facebook group, or email her at kjcharleswriter {at] gmail {dot} com. She is represented by Deidre Knight at The Knight Agency, and published by Samhain and Loveswept.

About Kris Ripper

Kris Ripper lives in the great state of California and hails from the San Francisco Bay Area. Kris shares a converted garage with a little kid, can do two pull-ups in a row, and can write backwards. (No, really.) Kris is genderqueer and prefers the z-based pronouns because they’re freaking sweet. Ze has been writing fiction since ze learned how to write, and boring zir stuffed animals with stories long before tha

About Roan Parrish

ROAN PARRISH is currently wandering between Philadelphia and New Orleans. When not writing, she can usually be found cutting her friends’ hair, meandering through whatever city she’s in while listening to torch songs and melodic death metal, or cooking overly elaborate meals. She loves bonfires, winter beaches, minor chord harmonies, and self-tattooing. One time she may or may not have baked a six-layer chocolate cake and then thrown it out the window in a fit of pique.

About Steve Berman

Steve Berman loves to tell stories that are both queer and weird. He was a Zeta Psi back in his college days at and remembers being hazed. He survived and graduated and even earned a Masters Degree in Liberal Studies. He has written and sold over a hundred articles, essays, and short stories. His YA novel, Vintage, was a finalist for the Andre Norton Award.

Empty Net (Scoring Chances #4) by Avon Gale

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review.
This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Title: Empty Net by Avon Gale
Series:  Scoring Chances #4
Release Date: September 2, 2016
Pages: 200 • Format: eARC
Published By: Dreamspinner
Purchase Links:
Dreamspinner

Spartanburg Spitfires’ goalie and captain Isaac Drake ended last season with an unexpected trip to the playoffs. He’s found a home and family with his coach and mentor, Misha Samarin, and he’s looking forward to making a serious run for the Kelly Cup. But things take an interesting turn when Isaac’s archnemesis, Laurent St. Savoy, is traded to the Spitfires. After Laurent’s despicable behavior in the playoffs last year, Isaac wants nothing to do with him – no matter how gorgeous he is. But that changes when Isaac discovers the reason for Laurent’s attitude.

Laurent St. Savoy grew up the only son of a legendary NHL goalie in a household rife with abuse, constantly treated like a disappointment on and off the ice. When a desperate attempt to escape his father’s tyranny sends him to the Spitfires, the last thing Laurent wants is to make friends. But there’s something about Isaac Drake that he can’t resist, and Laurent has an opportunity to explore his sexuality for the first time, but he’s cracking under end-of-the season pressures. When facing the playoffs and a rivalry turned personal vendetta, Isaac’s not sure he’s enough to hold Laurent—or their relationship—together.

Please be advised: This book does contain some non-graphic references to past childhood physical/emotional abuse as well as issues relating to ED (bulimia and restricted eating, disordered thoughts about eating)

three-half-stars

I’m annoyed. I guess I should get that out first. I’ve had nothing but hits with this series, and book 3 is my all time favorite. I’m annoyed for many reasons concerning this book. It took me 7 days to read this book. A big surprise for me, I was not able to put up with the antics of the first half. I went from rage, anger, annoyance, guilty and a slew of other emotions. It took a lot for me to not DNF this book. I knew it was a part of me in the first two days, but I did a normal thing by trying to read something else. I succeeded in that, and read a few other books. That lead me to believe that it wasn’t just me.

I did not connect to the book until the last half, and I enjoyed it. I’m so conflicted on the rating to actually give the book. I want to be as fair as possible, but it’s half because I didn’t care for the first half which is important. I needed to be drawn in by both guys, and for me this entire book seemed liked redemption for Laurent. In the mist of him gaining his confidence and learning about his sexuality, I feel like Issac was forgotten completely. I could be wrong here, and maybe his job the entire book was to be support for Laurent. He did a great job on that front, but where was Isaac in all of this? Do a few sexual experiences, and helping Laurent equals “Issac time”? I’m trying really hard to understand, but I’m not getting it at all.

I feel like Issac experiences were left out or on the back burner. No, I didn’t expect him to have some made up stuff happen for the book, I kinda just needed him to have a little independence in his book. I wanted to see a different side of him, and while he was a great support system, and eventual boyfriend I feel lost on his behalf. Again, these are all my perceptions and I’m definitely in the minority according to the ratings. Even after reading the ending, I felt nothing. No connection really, and I didn’t feel quite satisfied. I still look forward to more in the series. I might re-read this someday and my feelings could possibly change. Who knows?

About Avon Gale

Avon Gale wrote her first story at the age of seven, about a “Space Hat” hanging on a rack and waiting for that special person to come along and purchase it — even if it was a bit weirder than the other, more normal hats. Like all of Avon’s characters, the space hat did get its happily ever after — though she’s pretty sure it was with a unicorn. She likes to think her vocabulary has improved since then, but the theme of quirky people waiting for their perfect match is still one of her favorites.

Avon grew up in the southern United States, and now lives with her very patient husband in a liberal midwestern college town. When she’s not writing, she’s either doing some kind of craft project that makes a huge mess, reading, watching horror movies, listening to music or yelling at her favorite hockey team to get it together, already. Avon is always up for a road trip, adores Kentucky bourbon, thinks nothing is as stress relieving as a good rock concert and will never say no to candy.

At one point, Avon was the mayor of both Jazzercise and Lollicup on Foursquare. This tells you basically all you need to know about her as a person.

Guest Post + Giveaway with Avon Gale

empty net banner

Oh My Shelves welcomes author Avon Gale to the blog to share an exclusive excerpt from her new story, Empty net, Available from Dreamspinner Press September 2, 2016. She’s also giving away a copy of Power Play, the Third Book in the Scoring Chance Series!

* * * * * *

Blurb:

Spartanburg Spitfires’ goalie and captain Isaac Drake ended last season with an unexpected trip to the playoffs. He’s found a home and family with his coach and mentor, Misha Samarin, and he’s looking forward to making a serious run for the Kelly Cup. But things take an interesting turn when Isaac’s archnemesis, Laurent St. Savoy, is traded to the Spitfires. After Laurent’s despicable behavior in the playoffs last year, Isaac wants nothing to do with him – no matter how gorgeous he is. But that changes when Isaac discovers the reason for Laurent’s attitude.

Laurent St. Savoy grew up the only son of a legendary NHL goalie in a household rife with abuse, constantly treated like a disappointment on and off the ice. When a desperate attempt to escape his father’s tyranny sends him to the Spitfires, the last thing Laurent wants is to make friends. But there’s something about Isaac Drake that he can’t resist, and Laurent has an opportunity to explore his sexuality for the first time, but he’s cracking under end-of-the season pressures. When facing the playoffs and a rivalry turned personal vendetta, Isaac’s not sure he’s enough to hold Laurent—or their relationship—together.

Please be advised: This book does contain some non-graphic references to past childhood physical/emotional abuse as well as issues relating to ED (bulimia and restricted eating, disordered thoughts about eating)

∗∗∗∗Exclusive Excerpt∗∗∗∗

On the first day of camp, the room fell into a hostile silence the moment Laurent walked in. He could feel his new teammates’ icy stares as he made his way to his locker.
Someone had written St. Dickhead on his nameplate. Cute.
Hazing the new guy happened in every locker room, but Laurent knew it was more than that. It was a statement that said “we hate you” and “we liked watching you fail in the conference finals.” In addition to the new nameplate, someone had posted a picture of him from the end of the game in Asheville, when the Ravens were swept by the Storm. The words “spit on this” were inked in red over his face.
His first time on the ice with his new team went about as well as he expected. During goalie drills he found himself on the receiving end of more than a few snow showers, and when the coaches weren’t looking, a few of his new teammates pretended to spit on him. Laurent was good at not reacting, so he just kept his mouth shut and tried to do his job.
Matt Huxley, the team’s enforcer, took a shot that came close to hitting Laurent in the face—and earned himself a whistle and a stern talking-to from the coaches. Laurent saw him fist-bump Shawn Murphy when he didn’t think anyone would notice. Those two were Drake’s best friends, and Laurent supposed he couldn’t blame them for wanting to make him suffer for that incident last season.He thought about apologizing for it, but he didn’t. No one wanted to hear it anyway.
No one spoke a word to him when practice was over. Laurent could hear Drake, talking and laughing like Laurent wasn’t there. It made him angry, but he didn’t know why. He didn’t want anyone to like him. And at least when practice was over, he could go back to his apartment. That was the best thing about living in Spartanburg, and it was worth the intensity of his new teammates’ dislike.
Laurent’s apartment was one of two located on the top floor of a partially renovated Victorian-
style house. The owner, Mrs. Bowen, lived downstairs. She was old, hard of hearing, and couldn’t say any part of Laurent’s name. But she gave him a hot plate and let him move in a week before he had his housing allowance, which was the nicest thing anyone had done for Laurent—ever, probably. The apartment itself was a furnished studio with a surprisingly large bed, a bay window that let in way too much light in the morning, and creaky floors. It had a radiator for heat and a window-unit AC, a bathroom with a sink that dripped, and an honest-to- God claw-foot tub with a shower. It had clearly been a large bedroom with an en suite bath before it was converted into an apartment.
The kitchenette was definitely out of place, but it had a fridge, a microwave, and now the hot
plate. Mrs. Bowen had offered to let him use her oven, but Laurent doubted that would ever be necessary. It wasn’t his room at home with his king-size bed and soft plush carpeting, but it was his. And best of all, his father wasn’t lurking downstairs like a Leviathan, stewing in his usual discontent and anger until his son gave him a convenient outlet for whatever pissed him off that day. Laurent had never understood where his father’s seemingly endless anger came from. Denis St. Savoy was a famous, hugely successful goalie who’d had a long and celebrated career. What he had to be upset about was a mystery to Laurent.
Once he’d put his clothes away on the lavender-scented, padded purple hangers Mrs. Bowen had so thoughtfully provided in the closet, he showered, changed, and went to explore the neighborhood. That’s when he found Charlie’s Comic Shop.
Laurent loved comics, and he loved drawing, and hidden under a stack of sweaters he hoped he’d never need to wear was a sketchbook with some of his own artwork. His father had flown into a rage when he found Laurent drawing as a child, and Laurent had hidden his sketchbooks ever since. They were shoved in a bottom drawer in the rickety old dresser, even in his own apartment. He spent an hour or so in the comic shop, and he was looking forward to reading a few of his purchases when he got home. But instead he found himself sitting at the small kitchen table with his sketchbook, some freshly sharpened pencils, and his kneaded eraser. And for the next few hours, he lost himself in the quiet scratch of his pencil and the lines taking shape on the page.
They were sketches of his teammates—there were the defensemen, Matt Huxley and Shawn Murphy, who flanked Drake like bodyguards and shot Laurent nasty glares at every possible moment. He drew Coach Samarin, tall and imposing, who reminded Laurent of the Witch King from the Lord of the Rings movie, and Coach Ashford, all-American and everyone’s best friend, easy with a smile or a word of praise, or a correction when he thought it necessary—or, when he thought no one was looking—a smile of a different sort for Coach Samarin. He drew Isaac Drake, with his lean dancer’s body that looked nothing like a goalie’s. He had a loud voice and a habit of waving his goalie stick around and shouting at practice. Laurent thought he was kind of an asshole to his own teammates, but they seemed used to it and, more surprisingly, to expect and even respect it. Laurent drew his dumb, dyed-blue hair and his stupid Jeep, and that look on his face when Laurent had spat on him.

And finally Laurent drew himself, all alone in a Spitfire airplane, crashing into the sea. Then he rolled his eyes at himself, slammed the book closed, and shoved it back in the drawer. Time to read his favorite comic—about a cop with a hellhound for a partner—and concentrate on someone else’s demons for a change.

Giveaway

Win a copy of Power Play, the third book in the Scoring Chances series!
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Purchase Links: DreamspinnerAmazonGoogleKoboBarnes and NobleAll Romance Ebooks

About Avon Gale

Avon Gale wrote her first story at the age of seven, about a “Space Hat” hanging on a rack and waiting for that special person to come along and purchase it — even if it was a bit weirder than the other, more normal hats. Like all of Avon’s characters, the space hat did get its happily ever after — though she’s pretty sure it was with a unicorn. She likes to think her vocabulary has improved since then, but the theme of quirky people waiting for their perfect match is still one of her favorites.

Avon grew up in the southern United States, and now lives with her very patient husband in a liberal midwestern college town. When she’s not writing, she’s either doing some kind of craft project that makes a huge mess, reading, watching horror movies, listening to music or yelling at her favorite hockey team to get it together, already. Avon is always up for a road trip, adores Kentucky bourbon, thinks nothing is as stress relieving as a good rock concert and will never say no to candy.

At one point, Avon was the mayor of both Jazzercise and Lollicup on Foursquare. This tells you basically all you need to know about her as a person.

Blog Tour – Power Play by Avon Gale

 

960x350

Oh My Shelves welcomes author Avon Gale to the blog in celebration of her latest release in the Scoring Chances Series, Power Play – out today from Dreamspinner Press – and share a special recipe from Misha. 

(The basics of this recipe are found here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BuP6Ca5islU.)

The first time I made dinner for Max, I made him pirozhki. It is a recipe I have been making for a long time, but because I have lived in the States for almost twenty years and am a vegetarian, it is not the traditional recipe I remember my mother making. I have altered it a bit over the years that I have lived here.

First, you make the pirozhki dough, and set it aside to rise.

While it is rising, you make the filling. Traditionally this can include meat, but I make mine with mushrooms. Instead of potatoes, I make mine with wild rice. I cook the rice, sauté the mushrooms and the onions with salt and pepper, and then add the sautéed vegetables to the rice.

When the dough is risen, you flatten it on a floured surface. Do not forget this part or it will be very sticky. Max one time tried to make this for me for my birthday. It ended up with him covered in flour, a sticky mess of dough and Thai takeout. And other things, but that is not part of the recipe.

Roll the dough into balls, and then flatten them once more. In the center, place a tsp. of the rice/mushroom/onion filling and pinch around the sides to the top to close it. Grease your baking pan and put the pirozhki upside-down in the pan, then cover them with an egg wash. Bake them at 350F for 10-15 minutes or until golden brown, then cool for five minutes before you eat them.

~Excerpt~ 

“I’d never watched this, you know.”

“The YouTube video?” Misha had seen that too. It was filed with angry commenters yelling that he should be deported back to Russia.

“The hit.”

Misha blinked. “You’ve seen the commercial, though. Yes?”RC

“Yeah, I wish I could say I haven’t seen that. But I meant, I didn’t watch this until a few months ago. They played that game on the NHL channel, so I watched it.”

It never occurred to Misha that Max wouldn’t have seen it, but then he remembered that Max was the hero, not the villain of the story. Misha watched the hit play out on the screen. What must that feel like, to watch the moment it all ended? When Max hit the ice, did he know that game was his last? Did Misha know it was his? How had he felt? He couldn’t remember.

The scene switched to the replay. Misha watched dispassionately, retreated into the blinding pain of his migraine, and told himself that it was all right to suffer, that he should, that he deserved it.

Max paused the video. “Look. See what I have there?”

Misha blinked. He had not expected questions. “I—what?”

“The puck, Misha. The puck. Your hit wasn’t late.”

Oh. “Yes. I know.”

Max stared at him. On the television screen, their younger selves were suspended at the moment everything changed.

 

BannerTemplate


PowerPlayLGPower Play by Avon Gale
Series: Scoring Chances, Book Three
Release Date: May 9, 2016
Pages: 200 • Cover Artist: Aaron Anderson
Published By: Dreamspinner Press
Purchase Links:
DreamspinnerAmazonARe B&N • iBooks

A freak accident during the Stanley Cup Playoffs put an end to Max Ashford’s hockey career. Despite everything, Max gets back into the game he loves—only this time, behind the bench as an assistant coach of the Spartanburg Spitfires, the worst team in the entire league. But nothing prepares him for the shock when he learns the new head coach is Misha Samarin, the man who caused Max’s accident.

After spending years guilt-ridden for his part in Max’s accident, Russian native Misha Samarin has no idea what to do when he’s confronted with Max’s presence. Max’s optimism plays havoc with Misha’s equilibrium—as does the fierce attraction that springs up between them.

Not only must they navigate Misha’s remorse and a past he’s spent a lifetime trying to forget, but also a sleazy GM who is determined to use their history as a marketing hook. But when an unwelcome visitor targets a player, Misha revisits his darkest days, and that might cost him and Max the beginning they’ve worked so hard to build.


Tour Dates & Stops:

9-May:

My Fiction Nook, Open Skye Book Reviews, Inked Rainbow Reads, Elisa – My Reviews and Ramblings,

Oh My Shelves 

10-May:

Two Chicks Obsessed With Books and Eye Candy, Joyfully Jay, Jessie G. Books, Rednecks and Romance,

Anna Butler Fiction

11-May:

MM Good Book Reviews, Wicked Faerie’s Tales and Reviews, Posy Roberts, Fangirl Moments and My Two Cents

12-May:

BadgeLove Bytes, The Novel Approach, Unquietly Me, Happily Ever Chapter

13-May:

BFD Book Blog, The Hat Party, MM Book Escape

16-May:

Havan Fellows, Divine Magazine, Outrageous Heroes, Prism Book Alliance, Boys on the Brink Reviews

17-May:

3 Chicks After Dark, Full Moon Dreaming, Butterfly-O-Meter

18-May:

Foxylutely Book Reviews, Three Books Over The Rainbow, V’s Reads

19-May:

Book Lovers 4Ever, Charley Descoteaux, Mikky’s World of Books, Carly’s Book Reviews

20-May:

Making It Happen, Kirsty Loves Books, Bayou Book Junkie

21-May:

A.M. Leibowitz, Alpha Book Club, Molly Lolly, Man2ManTastic

 

Final

a Rafflecopter giveaway

About Avon Gale

Avon Gale wrote her first story at the age of seven, about a “Space Hat” hanging on a rack and waiting for that special person to come along and purchase it — even if it was a bit weirder than the other, more normal hats. Like all of Avon’s characters, the space hat did get its happily ever after — though she’s pretty sure it was with a unicorn. She likes to think her vocabulary has improved since then, but the theme of quirky people waiting for their perfect match is still one of her favorites.

Avon grew up in the southern United States, and now lives with her very patient husband in a liberal midwestern college town. When she’s not writing, she’s either doing some kind of craft project that makes a huge mess, reading, watching horror movies, listening to music or yelling at her favorite hockey team to get it together, already. Avon is always up for a road trip, adores Kentucky bourbon, thinks nothing is as stress relieving as a good rock concert and will never say no to candy.

At one point, Avon was the mayor of both Jazzercise and Lollicup on Foursquare. This tells you basically all you need to know about her as a person.

Power Play by Avon Gale

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review.
This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

PowerPlayLGPower Play by Avon Gale
Series: Scoring Chances, Book Three
Release Date: May 9, 2016
Pages: 200 • Format: eARC
Published By: Dreamspinner Press
Purchase Links:
DreamspinnerAmazonARe B&N • iBooks

A freak accident during the Stanley Cup Playoffs put an end to Max Ashford’s hockey career. Despite everything, Max gets back into the game he loves—only this time, behind the bench as an assistant coach of the Spartanburg Spitfires, the worst team in the entire league. But nothing prepares him for the shock when he learns the new head coach is Misha Samarin, the man who caused Max’s accident.

After spending years guilt-ridden for his part in Max’s accident, Russian native Misha Samarin has no idea what to do when he’s confronted with Max’s presence. Max’s optimism plays havoc with Misha’s equilibrium—as does the fierce attraction that springs up between them.

Not only must they navigate Misha’s remorse and a past he’s spent a lifetime trying to forget, but also a sleazy GM who is determined to use their history as a marketing hook. But when an unwelcome visitor targets a player, Misha revisits his darkest days, and that might cost him and Max the beginning they’ve worked so hard to build.

five-stars

So this might be my new favorite of the series. It might be a Hockey Series, but this one hockey is in the background to the wonderful relationship between Head Coach Misha and Assistant Coach Max. It seems hard to top each book as you go in the series, but for me the was the ultimate best. I did not want it to end at all. It was so good from beginning to end. I loved both characters equally well, and I might slightly adore Misha more because of his Russian heritage and background. Instead of playing both guys are retired and have a sort of history together. Max’s accident and career ending injury coincides with Misha winning the Stanley Cup. This one I understood clearly, hockey isn’t my thing so it was great seeing this from a different point of view. I love that we got both guys point of views and clearly we get to see the build up from sort of enemies to trying to be friends to admitting the love for one another. Which in hindsight wasn’t that hard for Max.

Let’s talk characters. I love the way each guy in this series is different from others. Max is awesome. In the beginning I couldn’t really get a good grasp on him, but once he started going he was amazing. I loved his openness about Bisexuality. He admitted certain things to himself and came to the conclusion of it’s what he likes. Misha is definitely my type of man, the silent and broody types. The guys with the thousand I stare. Misha was really quiet and he held most things close to his chest. After everything he went through in his teenage years and to come to America and being able to have some freedom kinda through him for a loop. He seemed so close off and stoic but I think first and foremost he needed a friend and that was definitely Max.

Misha still holds himself responsible for Max’s injury. I’m glad the conversations were had because I didn’t want it to linger over the entire book. The chemistry was off the charts hot. I loved them together. It was sweeet times and off the chart smoldering times between these two. I enjoyed the characters as well, Besley might be a skeevy perv but when it counts he comes through. I can’t wait to see a Drake book. I’m feeling him and his room-mate. Those two definitely have the potential. Great seeing Ethan!!!! All in all I really liked this book. It’s by far the best in the series and definitely re-read material. It’s going to be hard to outdo it in my opinion, but I have super faith in Avon!

About Avon Gale

Avon Gale wrote her first story at the age of seven, about a “Space Hat” hanging on a rack and waiting for that special person to come along and purchase it — even if it was a bit weirder than the other, more normal hats. Like all of Avon’s characters, the space hat did get its happily ever after — though she’s pretty sure it was with a unicorn. She likes to think her vocabulary has improved since then, but the theme of quirky people waiting for their perfect match is still one of her favorites.

Avon grew up in the southern United States, and now lives with her very patient husband in a liberal midwestern college town. When she’s not writing, she’s either doing some kind of craft project that makes a huge mess, reading, watching horror movies, listening to music or yelling at her favorite hockey team to get it together, already. Avon is always up for a road trip, adores Kentucky bourbon, thinks nothing is as stress relieving as a good rock concert and will never say no to candy.

At one point, Avon was the mayor of both Jazzercise and Lollicup on Foursquare. This tells you basically all you need to know about her as a person.

Conversation Hearts by Avon Gale

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review.
This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ConversationHeartsLGConversation Hearts by Avon Gale
Release Date: February 10, 2016
Pages: 31 • Published by: Dreamspinner Press • Format: eARC
Purchase Links: Dreamspinner • Amazon ARe

It’s Valentine’s Day, and grad student—and male escort—Levi Barron expects to spend his evening with a client who’s paying him for his services in bed… not an assassin who needs to borrow the view from his hotel room in the morning.

With nothing to do but endure the company of his unwanted guest, Levi and the assassin, Sinjin, spend some time bonding over HGTV, minibar beverages, Flannery O’Connor short stories, terrible Valentine’s candy, and the necessity of lying about their jobs.

Their evening takes an unexpected turn when they decide to indulge in their mutual attraction, and in the morning Levi doesn’t know if he’s spent the night with a hired killer or a hydraulic engineer with a very specific fantasy. Either way, the two have enough chemistry—in and out of bed—that Levi isn’t sure one night with Sinjin will be enough.

And a message left in candy suggests the feeling is mutual.

four-stars

Avon Gale with the expected. I love the bleeding heart cover, totally misconception with the story though. Oh my goodness I loved it. If I could describe it in two words, I’ll say “Dark Comedy”. I feel like this is a what not to do situation if someone knocks on your hotel door. I really like the dark satire of the story, and sure I’m a big enough person to admit I don’t who Flannery O’Connor is/was or even if she is real. Sue me. I didn’t even get the itch to google, and I still thought it was a solid story. Such a cute novella, with both intriguing characters.

I wonder if Levi second guesses his job after this Valentine’s Day weekend. Ha! I hope so or no. I really wanted more about these two characters. I loved the smart hitman who wasn’t broody or mean, or silent. Sinjin was epic fun. I loved the conversations between the two. You definitely see the connection, and if either guy was able to meet on “normal” situations we definitely could see easily being together. The bouts of crazy holiday sex, conversation over the hatred of Fresca soda, education and everything Wicked good was a really solid read for me. Avon’s style is really growing on me and I look forward to reading more from her.

About Avon Gale

Avon Gale wrote her first story at the age of seven, about a “Space Hat” hanging on a rack and waiting for that special person to come along and purchase it — even if it was a bit weirder than the other, more normal hats. Like all of Avon’s characters, the space hat did get its happily ever after — though she’s pretty sure it was with a unicorn. She likes to think her vocabulary has improved since then, but the theme of quirky people waiting for their perfect match is still one of her favorites.

Avon grew up in the southern United States, and now lives with her very patient husband in a liberal midwestern college town. When she’s not writing, she’s either doing some kind of craft project that makes a huge mess, reading, watching horror movies, listening to music or yelling at her favorite hockey team to get it together, already. Avon is always up for a road trip, adores Kentucky bourbon, thinks nothing is as stress relieving as a good rock concert and will never say no to candy.

At one point, Avon was the mayor of both Jazzercise and Lollicup on Foursquare. This tells you basically all you need to know about her as a person.

Save of the Game (Scoring Chances #2), by Avon Gale

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review.
This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

SaveoftheGameLGSave of the Game by Avon Gale Series: Scoring Chances
Release Date: January 29, 2016
Pages: 200 • Published by: Dreamspinner Press   Format: eARC
Purchase Links:  Dreamspinner  Amazon • ARe

A Scoring Chances Novel

After last season’s heartbreaking loss to his hockey team’s archrival, Jacksonville Sea Storm goalie Riley Hunter is ready to let go of the past and focus on a winning season. His new roommate, Ethan Kennedy, is a loud New Yorker with a passion for social justice that matches his role as the team’s enforcer. The quieter Riley is attracted to Ethan and has no idea what to do about it.

Ethan has no hesitations. As fearless as his position demands, he rushes into things without much thought for the consequences. Though they eventually warm to their passionate new bond, it doesn’t come without complications. For their relationship to work, Ethan will need to learn when to keep the gloves on and let someone help him—and Riley will have to learn it’s okay to let someone past his defenses.

four-half-stars

Yes!!!! Another winner by Avon Gale. She is rocking this series, and this was angst free. Her writing was spot on, and such a cohesive story line. I know next to nothing about Hockey, even live in a Hockey city, but I wasn’t as confused as I was in book one. I adored this one a lot. Hockey isn’t my thing, but guys are! Riley was everything. I really liked him as a character, and Ethan Kennedy wasn’t to bad himself. Why did it have to end? I wanted to totally see Ethan in his next stage of life.

I liked that the romance was front runner in this for the guys. I enjoyed Ethan’s determination to accept his bisexuality. He had these notions in his mind, and instead of ignoring them he got down to the bottom of it. Ethan’s strong will determination was definitely appreciated by me. I’m sure when others read this book, they will definitely fall in love with his characters. I enjoyed his family, and that conversation between him and his mom was so lovely. She’s such a strong and loving woman. It’s no wonder how Ethan turned out.

Goodness, Riley. Ugh, I just want him. He was amazing, and a tad kinky. Loved that side of him. I liked his personality. He was so calmed, his thinking is what makes Riley attractive. His passion was in everything he did. His meeting of the Kennedy’s as reserved as he was, I think he yearned for a family like. But I’m kinda glad he didn’t get it, because he wouldn’t be the person he is now. Loved seeing Lane & Jared, and some new faces.

Yowza!!! Two steamy gorgeous, strong, brilliantly hot guys. Lord these guys can definitely heat up a page. I mean from zero guy interest until eff it we are going big or go home. Man, seriously the mouth on these two left me feeling tingly in all the right places. I can’t wait for more of this series. I would like to see more of these two though, even a one-off would be good enough for me. 2nd favorite book of the year! I’m on a winning streak!

About Avon Gale

Avon Gale wrote her first story at the age of seven, about a “Space Hat” hanging on a rack and waiting for that special person to come along and purchase it — even if it was a bit weirder than the other, more normal hats. Like all of Avon’s characters, the space hat did get its happily ever after — though she’s pretty sure it was with a unicorn. She likes to think her vocabulary has improved since then, but the theme of quirky people waiting for their perfect match is still one of her favorites.

Avon grew up in the southern United States, and now lives with her very patient husband in a liberal midwestern college town. When she’s not writing, she’s either doing some kind of craft project that makes a huge mess, reading, watching horror movies, listening to music or yelling at her favorite hockey team to get it together, already. Avon is always up for a road trip, adores Kentucky bourbon, thinks nothing is as stress relieving as a good rock concert and will never say no to candy.

At one point, Avon was the mayor of both Jazzercise and Lollicup on Foursquare. This tells you basically all you need to know about her as a person.