Watching and Wanting by Jay Northcote

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review.
This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Watching and Wanting: by Jay Northcote
Series: Housemates #4
Release Date: January 20, 2017
Pages: 162 • Format: eARC
Published By: JayBird Press
Purchase Links:
Amazon

Watching Jude’s cam show stirs desires Shawn’s always denied…

Shawn is adrift. Recently graduated, he’s stuck in a dead-end job that barely pays the bills. His girlfriend dumped him, his friends have moved on, and he’s still in Plymouth—going nowhere.

Jude is a student living in the same shared house. Out and proud, he’s everything Shawn’s been running from since he hit puberty. When Shawn discovers Jude works as a cam boy, he can’t resist the urge to watch one of his shows. It makes Shawn want things that scare him, yet his fascination forces him to confront his attraction.

Keen to explore his bicurious side, Shawn suggests they do a show together. Jude agrees, and things get complicated—and kinky—fast. But Jude isn’t looking to get involved with someone so deep in the closet. If Shawn’s going to get what he wants, he needs to find the courage to stop hiding from himself and be honest about who he is.

five-stars

Good Lord. This book was so freaking steamy, sensual, exhilarating and a winner from beginning to end.

Jay Northcote has hit this book out of the park, baby. I mean from beginning to end I was enthralled, and damn turned on. Okay that was TMI, but yeah your loins get a working out on for sure. Really smutty goodness, and loved the chemistry between Shawn & Jude. It was almost electric, and I literally finished it at work, but needed a c:old water bottle on my forehead for a while. This was definitely my favorite out the series so far, and that’s hard for me seeing as I loved Dev & Ewan’s book. It was something so passionate about these two. When I say the chemistry was meant to be it was meant to be. I cannot think of any other way to explain it.

Shawn, Shawn, Shawn. I don’t know if I was waiting for your book, or wanting to destroy your homophobic arse. Well, not really homophobic, and more like in utter denial about his sexuality. Look how much lighter, and pleasant he is once he got the D. Haha. No that wasn’t it. I honestly think from the very beginning of the series Shawn was struggling with his sexuality, and his repressed emotions & feelings. He couldn’t fathom being attracted to a guy, but I think after screwing most of England and his latest breakup put things into perspective. He was left feeling like it was a hole inside him, and no matter what he did to try to feel it nothing worked. Well almost nothing, until walking in on Jude. 

Jude, Jude!!! Good Lord Man. You know how to leave a bish FLUSTERED!!!! That should have been my word of the day. I loved Jude. He was so amazingly hawt, and easy going. He was super understanding to everything Shawn was going through. I love how he kinda handled Shawn with kids gloves because he knew he was dealing with someone who could jump ship at any moment. I liked how he was able to set a boundary and even though it hurt for a while, it was much needed. Northcote really showed character growth in this one. Since when in love or the cusp of being in love means, you have to sacrifice your moral code for someone. I hate those books that force one character to forget about themselves for the greater good. Like do we forget that love is a two way street, and it’s okay to be a little selfish and have self preservation. 

I’m going to try to talk about these steamy scenes without prematurely combustion. **Wink Wink** The whole cam sex event is a brilliant idea. I’m telling you guys it leaves you flustered, and immediately turned the eff on. It took me a while to finish since I had to practice what I read. LOL. I’m having fun with this book, and I don’t know how to say it nicely that this book leaves you horny. There!!! It’s out there damnit. You made me say it. This is one of my favorite books by Jay. He did such a good job with these two. Loved the flow of the stories, and got to see some favorites of the series. I don’t know if we’ll get more, but I was positively happy with these two. I recommend this ish out of this book!

Mika Out.

About Jay Northcote

Jay lives just outside Bristol in the West of England, with his husband, two children, and two cats. He comes from a family of writers, but he always used to believe that the gene for fiction writing had passed her by. He spent years only ever writing emails, articles, or website content.

One day, he decided to try and write a short story—just to see if she could—and found it rather addictive. He hasn’t stopped writing since.

Jay writes contemporary gay romance about men who fall in love with other men, usually set in or near her home town of Bristol. He enjoys the challenge of bringing the men in his head to life through his words. Jay has five books published by Dreamspinner Press, and he also publishes his own titles under the imprint Jaybird Press. Some of his books are now available as audiobooks.

Jay is a transgender man and was formerly known as she/her.

A Family for Christmas by Jay Northcote

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review.
This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

afamilyforchristmasA Family for Christmas: by Jay Northcote
Release Date: November 16, 2016
Pages: 136 • Format: eARC
Published By: JayBird Press
Purchase Links:
Amazon

Zac never had a family of his own, but Rudy has enough to share.

Shy, inexperienced Rudy has a crush on Zac from the moment his new colleague walks through the door. On an office night out before Christmas, Rudy finds the courage to make a move, and they form a tentative bond. When he discovers Zac will be alone at Christmas, he invites Zac to come home with him.

Zac prefers to keep people at arm’s length. Yet when Rudy offers him a family Christmas it’s impossible to resist. With no parents of his own, Zac is pleasantly surprised to be welcomed by Rudy’s. The only drawback is that everyone assumes they’re a couple. Unwilling to disappoint Rudy’s mum and make Christmas awkward, they decide not to deny it.

It’s not a chore for Zac to pose as Rudy’s boyfriend, but the pretense makes him want things that scare him—things like a real relationship with Rudy. Zac’s suffered enough rejection in his life already and is afraid to risk his heart. If he can get over his past rejection and let Rudy inside his armour, he might get more for Christmas than he ever imagined.

four-stars

YAY, the perfect book to get me into the holiday mood!

This was a really solid Holiday read! Its really one of my favorite seasons to read. I love Holiday stories, and this had the perfect combination of sweet, heat, and yearning that I needed! Really enjoyed the characters in this book alot. Rudy & Zac were definitely opposites attract, but I think being able to communicate with each other is what won this book over for me. Rudy is this sweet, awkward, inexperienced guy who has the biggest crush ever on his co-worker Zac. Rudy is a hopeless romantic in his head, and he fantasizes about all the ways that Zac will treat him. I thought it was adorable of Rudy. He showed some vulnerability when all of his co-workers went out, and expressed his feelings to Zac.

Zac is jaded about relationships of any kind. I can see that, when he has no one who’s ever cared or loved him. He’s a loner by default and I think he liked being that way. Being lonely has forced him to not open up to anyone about his past or force him to want to fall for someone outside of the parameters that he has set. Thrown away as a a infant, and living in group homes and foster care has left him close-off from people. He prefers the solidarity life, but once he starts working at the same company as Rudy then he’s left with no chance but to interact with people.

Really loved Rudy’s family. I love how welcoming they were to Zac. The connection between two steadily progress as the book goes. I think Jay did a really good job with the authentic feelings that were in this book. Both guys were able to benefit from being together. Deciding to start things slowly and progress worked just fine with me. I’m so excited to get to the rest of my holiday reads, but this goes on the Holiday 2016 shelf. Recommendable for sure!

About Jay Northcote

Jay lives just outside Bristol in the West of England, with his husband, two children, and two cats. He comes from a family of writers, but he always used to believe that the gene for fiction writing had passed her by. He spent years only ever writing emails, articles, or website content.

One day, he decided to try and write a short story—just to see if she could—and found it rather addictive. He hasn’t stopped writing since.

Jay writes contemporary gay romance about men who fall in love with other men, usually set in or near her home town of Bristol. He enjoys the challenge of bringing the men in his head to life through his words. Jay has five books published by Dreamspinner Press, and he also publishes his own titles under the imprint Jaybird Press. Some of his books are now available as audiobooks.

Jay is a transgender man and was formerly known as she/her.

Release Day Blitz: A Family for Christmas by Jay Northcote

A Family For Christmas – Jay Northcote

Author: Jay Northcote
 
Cover Design: Garrett Leigh
 
Release: November 18, 2016
 
Length: 45,000 words
 
Buy Links: Amazon US | Amazon UK
 
Blurb

Zac never had a family of his own, but Rudy has enough to share.

Shy, inexperienced Rudy has a crush on Zac from the moment his new colleague walks through the door. On an office night out before Christmas, Rudy finds the courage to make a move, and they form a tentative bond. When he discovers Zac will be alone at Christmas, he invites Zac to come home with him.

Zac prefers to keep people at arm’s length. Yet when Rudy offers him a family Christmas it’s impossible to resist. With no parents of his own, Zac is pleasantly surprised to be welcomed by Rudy’s. The only drawback is that everyone assumes they’re a couple. Unwilling to disappoint Rudy’s mum and make Christmas awkward, they decide not to deny it.

It’s not a chore for Zac to pose as Rudy’s boyfriend, but the pretense makes him want things that scare him—things like a real relationship with Rudy. Zac’s suffered enough rejection in his life already and is afraid to risk his heart. If he can get over his past rejection and let Rudy inside his armour, he might get more for Christmas than he ever imagined.

tourgrahpic

 

 

Author Bio

 Jay lives just outside Bristol in the West of England. He comes from a family of writers, but always used to believe that the gene for fiction writing had passed him by. He spent years only ever writing emails, articles, or website content.

One day, Jay decided to try and write a short story—just to see if he could—and found it rather addictive. He hasn’t stopped writing since.

Jay writes contemporary romance about men who fall in love with other men. He has five books published by Dreamspinner Press, and also self-publishes under the imprint Jaybird Press. Many of his books are now available as audiobooks.

Jay is transgender and was formerly known as she/her.

About Jay Northcote

Jay lives just outside Bristol in the West of England, with his husband, two children, and two cats. He comes from a family of writers, but he always used to believe that the gene for fiction writing had passed her by. He spent years only ever writing emails, articles, or website content.

One day, he decided to try and write a short story—just to see if she could—and found it rather addictive. He hasn’t stopped writing since.

Jay writes contemporary gay romance about men who fall in love with other men, usually set in or near her home town of Bristol. He enjoys the challenge of bringing the men in his head to life through his words. Jay has five books published by Dreamspinner Press, and he also publishes his own titles under the imprint Jaybird Press. Some of his books are now available as audiobooks.

Jay is a transgender man and was formerly known as she/her.

Like a Lover (Housemates #2) by Jay Northcote

Series:
Narrator: Mark Steadman
(Website, Blog, Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads)
Like a Lover Book Cover Like a Lover
Housemates
Jay Northcote
Gay Romance
Jaybird Press
Sept. 4, 2015
audibook
202

Josh has a plan: get through uni with a good degree and no debt. Focused on his goals, he pays his way by working as an escort. He enjoys the no-strings sex because he doesn't have time for a relationship. Falling in love definitely isn't part of the deal-especially not with a client. When Rupert meets Josh in a bar, he's smitten on sight. He's never paid for sex, but when Josh propositions him, he can't resist. He should've known one night would never be enough. Luckily for him he has an inheritance to fund his addiction to Josh, because his job in IT support wouldn't cover the cost. With each encounter the lines get blurred, creating something that feels more like a relationship than a business transaction. But they come from different worlds, and to go from client-and-escort to lovers seems impossible. If they want a future together, Josh and Rupert have a lot to overcome.

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review.
This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

It was short and really cliche. Josh was a college student moonlighting as a sex worker to avoid college debt. When his “date” stood him up, he hooked up with another bloke Rupert.
Obviously the business relationship eventually gave way to feelings and Josh didn’t know how to deal with it. The rest of the book was Rupert and Josh hiding how they feel about each other, and trying to figure out how to bring up redefining their relationship.

This love story was cute and sweet albeit too much sex. I like how Rupert didn’t judge Josh’s choices and saw the guy underneath it all. The characters were so likable that I was rooting for them almost from the beginning. Jay Northcote’s writing was entertaining but narrator was just okay. I would have enjoyed a little more variation when changing characters. Thankfully, this book was written in third person, so it was easy on audio to know which character was speaking. I was able to follow the conversations with ease. This is a decent rent boy story and lacking in heaviness or angst.

three-half-stars

 

Purchase Links: Amazon Audible Barnes & Noble

About Jay Northcote

Jay lives just outside Bristol in the West of England, with his husband, two children, and two cats. He comes from a family of writers, but he always used to believe that the gene for fiction writing had passed her by. He spent years only ever writing emails, articles, or website content.

One day, he decided to try and write a short story—just to see if she could—and found it rather addictive. He hasn’t stopped writing since.

Jay writes contemporary gay romance about men who fall in love with other men, usually set in or near her home town of Bristol. He enjoys the challenge of bringing the men in his head to life through his words. Jay has five books published by Dreamspinner Press, and he also publishes his own titles under the imprint Jaybird Press. Some of his books are now available as audiobooks.

Jay is a transgender man and was formerly known as she/her.

Review Tour – Practice Makes Perfect by Jay Northcote

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review.
This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

30234682Practice Makes Perfect by Jay Northcote
Series: Housemates, Book Three
Release Date:June 22, 2016
Pages: 168 • Format: eARC
Published By: Jaybird Press
Purchase Link:
Amazon

Getting experience with the guy next door seems like a great idea—until the lines blur.

Dev, a geeky first year physics student, has zero sexual experience and he’s determined to change that ASAP. After a bad time in halls of residence, he’s starting the summer term with different housemates and a new plan of action.

Ewan lives in the house next door to Dev. He’s young, free and single, and isn’t looking to change that anytime soon. When awkward circumstances throw them together, Ewan offers to help Dev out in the bedroom in return for maths tutoring, and Dev jumps at the chance.

They work their way through Dev’s sex-to-do list, but what starts as a perfect no-strings arrangement gets more complicated as their feelings for each other begin to grow. If they’re going to turn their lessons in lovemaking into something more permanent, they need to work out how they feel about each other—before they get to the end of Dev’s list.

This book is a complete story and can be read as a stand-alone.

four-half-stars

Okay. I am going to attempt a short review and not ramble per my norm but I have to say that I want to give Jay Northcote the biggest hug possible right now and I am not a hugger. You see, I’ve been in this weird sort of a book slump, not really wanting to read and most of what I picked up didn’t capture my attention, until I met Dev and Ewan and stayed up to read and fall in love.

Goodness. First let me say that yes, this can be read as a stand alone because I read it as one and while the couples from books one and two are present, they don’t take away from the story nor overshadow it though I will tell you, I am going back to read both of them very soon.

It was so much easier when they let their bodies do the talking. There was no misunderstanding when it came to this simple, physical desire.

This book was adorable, and sexy as hell and that my friends is the perfect combination to sell me on a book. GAH! I loved that the meet cute between Dev and Ewan was so ridiculously awkward but so adorable as well. Ewan is such a stand-up guy – and a ginger with freckles *swoon* – that though he mistakenly opens a package delivered to the wrong address, when he sees what’s inside, he takes it to the rightful owner. I LOVED this moment and how real it was. That is something I love about Northcote’s writing, it’s real and you don’t have to suspend reality to get into the story. I’ve received numerous packages that weren’t mine and had to take them to the right house, though my adventures never turned out the way Ewan’s did but still, things like this happen and people meet in all sorts of ways.

So anyway. Ewan takes Dev his package (yes, I am giggling at package) and then after a session on Grindr and seeing Dev’s profile, Ewan makes a decision to help Dev out and to save him from creepy dudes. I cannot say how much I loved how the boys progressed through their studies. The first kiss is always a favorite of mine and the first kiss with Dev and Ewan was so emotional that the chemistry was never in question and I too waited for each Friday night so we could all check items to do off Dev’s list.

I have to quickly mention that the reason Dev moves into the house with Rupert’s help kicked me in the gut. It was tough to read and knowing that jerks exist like that in the world, hurt my heart but I am do glad that Dev has the help and support of awesome people in his life.

Ugh and double ugh.

Dev, a man after my own heart with his lists and his practicality at everything he does, even sex.  It was so sweet to see him be able to be himself completely with Ewan and watch Ewan fall for all that Dev is and really GET who Dev is. Ewan… I fell hard and fast for him, almost as fast as I fell for Dev but these two were amazing together. All the sexy and the sweet, it was the best balance and really worked for me.

“Jesus, you like the dirty talk, then? You’re pretty kinky for a virgin.”

“I wasn’t trying to talk dirty. I just want to know what you like.”

“Somehow, that makes it hotter.”

Yeah, have I mentioned that this book was hot, because it totally was. It was so sexy, and sensual and fun though it had me holding my breath while I waited for the boys to talk it out and tell each other how they felt. It was, well… the perfect book for me at the perfect time and I am grinning as I write this because I thought my reading ability was broken. It wasn’t and now I have a wonderful story about lists, maths, cooking, first times, new friends and the romance that a girl like me lives for.

Practice Makes Perfect was hot and it was sweet and it had just the right amount angst for story about a boy who wants assistance with completing his sex to do list with a boy who realizes he wants to be more… well more than a friend with benefits.

About Jay Northcote

Jay lives just outside Bristol in the West of England, with his husband, two children, and two cats. He comes from a family of writers, but he always used to believe that the gene for fiction writing had passed her by. He spent years only ever writing emails, articles, or website content.

One day, he decided to try and write a short story—just to see if she could—and found it rather addictive. He hasn’t stopped writing since.

Jay writes contemporary gay romance about men who fall in love with other men, usually set in or near her home town of Bristol. He enjoys the challenge of bringing the men in his head to life through his words. Jay has five books published by Dreamspinner Press, and he also publishes his own titles under the imprint Jaybird Press. Some of his books are now available as audiobooks.

Jay is a transgender man and was formerly known as she/her.

Release Blitz – Practice Makes Perfect by Jay Northcote

graphicTWO

 


30234682

Practice Makes Perfect by Jay Northcote
Series: Housemates, Book Three
Release Date: June 22, 2016
Pages: 168 • Cover Artist: Garrett Leigh
Published By:
Purchase Link:
Amazon

Getting experience with the guy next door seems like a great idea—until the lines blur.

Dev, a geeky first year physics student, has zero sexual experience and he’s determined to change that ASAP. After a bad time in halls of residence, he’s starting the summer term with different housemates and a new plan of action.

Ewan lives in the house next door to Dev. He’s young, free and single, and isn’t looking to change that anytime soon. When awkward circumstances throw them together, Ewan offers to help Dev out in the bedroom in return for maths tutoring, and Dev jumps at the chance.

They work their way through Dev’s sex-to-do list, but what starts as a perfect no-strings arrangement gets more complicated as their feelings for each other begin to grow. If they’re going to turn their lessons in lovemaking into something more permanent, they need to work out how they feel about each other—before they get to the end of Dev’s list.

Note: Although this book is part of a series, it is a complete story with different main characters and can be read as a standalone. 


~Excerpt~

Sitting on his bed, Dev yawned, his full stomach making him sleepy. He stared at his phone as he contemplated calling home but decided he couldn’t face it tonight. He loved his mum, but she did tend to bang on. Once she got him on the line, she’d end up talking for ages and asking him a million questions he was too tired to answer. Instead, he sent his mum a quick text.

All moved in, everything’s good. I’m shattered now so I’m going to have an early night. I’ll call you tomorrow.

She replied within seconds as though she’d been waiting for him to call.

Okay sweetie, glad you’re settled. Sleep well xxx

He picked up his notepad and crossed off phone home. Texting counted. He also crossed off everything else on his list for today.

That was Saturday done. Dev set his notepad aside, opened his laptop, and pulled up his lists app. He liked his notepad for day-to- day organisation; it gave him a certain satisfaction to cross out the things he’d done and to get to the end of the day with all the tasks completed. But for longer-term planning, he kept his lists on his Mac, synced to his phone.

For the first time in six months, Dev could breathe again. Finally he had a safe place where he could get back on track and look to the future. He began to type.

Things To Do This Term

Make some friends

Learn to cook

Research sex stuff

Join Grindr

Get some experience

Find a boyfriend

He stared at the words on the screen and sighed. That seemed like a lot of things to aim for. But it was good to have goals, right? Jez and Mac seemed really nice, so hopefully Dev was already on his way to achieving the first objective. And that bloke Ewan… Dev’s mind conjured up the image of the flame-haired hunk who lived next door. Ewan had been friendly.

Maybe there was potential there too.

 Housemates

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Hosted by…

Copy of signalboostborder

About Jay Northcote

Jay lives just outside Bristol in the West of England, with his husband, two children, and two cats. He comes from a family of writers, but he always used to believe that the gene for fiction writing had passed her by. He spent years only ever writing emails, articles, or website content.

One day, he decided to try and write a short story—just to see if she could—and found it rather addictive. He hasn’t stopped writing since.

Jay writes contemporary gay romance about men who fall in love with other men, usually set in or near her home town of Bristol. He enjoys the challenge of bringing the men in his head to life through his words. Jay has five books published by Dreamspinner Press, and he also publishes his own titles under the imprint Jaybird Press. Some of his books are now available as audiobooks.

Jay is a transgender man and was formerly known as she/her.

Book Blast: Imperfect Harmony by Jay Northcote

960x350

Excerpt:

Luckily there were still some parking spaces outside the church hall where Maggie’s choir met. John made sure they arrived a little early so Maggie wouldn’t have to walk too far. She was managing well on one crutch, but she still tired easily. After he parked, he got out and hurried around to help her out of the passenger door.

“Thanks, love,” she said, patting him on the arm. “I can manage now.”

A vicious gust of wind whipped a strand of hair into her face. It was dark, still sleeting, and probably slippery underfoot. There was no way John was going to leave until she was safely indoors. “I’ll just see you inside. Let me take your bag.”

Maggie let him have it without argument, and he popped it over his arm. He hovered close to Maggie as she made her way slowly to the double doors. He held one open for her and was hit by a blast of warm air. Then he accompanied her inside as she crutched along the corridor towards an open door. Yellow light flooded out, and the sound of a tenor voice singing “I Can See Clearly Now” raised the hairs on the back of John’s neck with its pure, clear beauty.

“I thought you said the emphasis was on fun rather than perfection?” he said quietly. “He’s got quite a voice.”RC

“That’ll be Rhys, our choir leader,” Maggie said with a smile. “Come and meet him, even if you’re not staying.”

Maggie paused when she reached the doorway and put a finger to her lips. They listened and waited for Rhys to finish singing. John peered over Maggie’s shoulder, hoping for a glimpse of the man the voice belonged to. Rhys, John presumed, was alone in the room. With his back to the door, he stood at a table pushed to the edge of the room, shuffling through some papers as he sang. All John could see of him was that he was small and slight, and quite young, based on the cut of his clothes. A hood covered his hair.

When he finished, Maggie started clapping.

Rhys wheeled around. “Oh my God! You made me jump.” He pushed his hood down and his face lit up as he beamed. “Maggie. How are you?”

John’s eyes widened as he took in Rhys’s front view as he approached Maggie and gave her a careful hug. His hair, which was shaved at the back and sides, was long on top and dyed peacock blue. His eyebrow was pierced, his arms were covered with tattoos, and the front of his T-shirt was emblazoned with a glittery equals sign in rainbow colours. All in all, he was at least twenty years younger than John had expected and completely unlike how John would have imagined a choir leader to look. In this dingy church hall in their small market town, Rhys looked like a bird of paradise that had accidentally ended up in a cage full of sparrows.


ImperfectHarmony_FINALImperfect Harmony by Jay Northcote
Release Date: 
April 15, 2016
Pages:
189 • Cover Artist: Garrett Leigh
Published By: 
Jaybird Press
Purchase Links:
AmazonAmazon UK Global 

Imperfect harmony can still be beautiful…

John Fletcher, a former musician, is stuck in limbo after losing his long-term partner two years ago. He’s shut himself off from everything that reminds him of what he’s lost. When his neighbour persuades him to join the local community choir, John rediscovers his love of music and finds a reason to start living again.

Rhys Callington, the talented and charismatic choir leader, captures John’s attention from the first moment they meet. He appears to be the polar opposite of John: young, vibrant, and full of life. But Rhys has darkness in his own past that is holding him back from following his dreams.

Despite the nineteen-year age gap, the two men grow close and a fragile relationship blossoms. Ghosts of the past and insecurities about the future threaten their newfound happiness. If they’re going to harmonise in life and love as they do in their music, they’ll need to start following the same score.


Tour Dates & Stops:

BadgeParker Williams, Divine Magazine, Happily Ever Chapter, BFD Book Blog, Bayou Book Junkie,

Oh My Shelves, Gay Book Reviews, Man2ManTastic, Andrew Q. Gordon, QUEERcentric Books,

The Hat Party, Scattered Thoughts & Rogue Words, Unquietly Me, Bookaholic Confessions,

Full Moon Dreaming, Molly Lolly, Alpha Book Club, My Fiction Nook, Dawn’s Reading Nook,

Velvet Panic, Attention Is Arbitrary, Open Skye Book Reviews, V’s Reads, Multitasking Mommas,

Louise Lyons, Kirsty Loves Books, MM Good Book Reviews, Foxylutely Book Reviews,

Two Chicks Obsessed With Books and Eye Candy, Inked Rainbow Reads, Outrageous Heroes,

Wicked Faerie’s Tales and Reviews, Three Books Over The Rainbow

Final

GIVEAWAY RULES:  Entries are allowed on each of the blog tour stops, but you can only win ONCE. If you win a backlist copy with Oh My Shelves, you cannot claim a winning prize at another blog.  Copies of Imperfect Harmony are NOT permitted for the giveaway. 

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

About Jay Northcote

Jay lives just outside Bristol in the West of England, with his husband, two children, and two cats. He comes from a family of writers, but he always used to believe that the gene for fiction writing had passed her by. He spent years only ever writing emails, articles, or website content.

One day, he decided to try and write a short story—just to see if she could—and found it rather addictive. He hasn’t stopped writing since.

Jay writes contemporary gay romance about men who fall in love with other men, usually set in or near her home town of Bristol. He enjoys the challenge of bringing the men in his head to life through his words. Jay has five books published by Dreamspinner Press, and he also publishes his own titles under the imprint Jaybird Press. Some of his books are now available as audiobooks.

Jay is a transgender man and was formerly known as she/her.

Imperfect Harmony by Jay Northcote

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review.
This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ImperfectHarmony_FINALImperfect Harmony by Jay Northcote
Release Date: April 15, 2016
Pages: 189 • Format: eARC
Published By: Jaybird Press
Purchase Links:
AmazonAmazon UKGlobal 

Imperfect harmony can still be beautiful…

John Fletcher, a former musician, is stuck in limbo after losing his long-term partner two years ago. He’s shut himself off from everything that reminds him of what he’s lost. When his neighbour persuades him to join the local community choir, John rediscovers his love of music and finds a reason to start living again.

Rhys Callington, the talented and charismatic choir leader, captures John’s attention from the first moment they meet. He appears to be the polar opposite of John: young, vibrant, and full of life. But Rhys has darkness in his own past that is holding him back from following his dreams.

Despite the nineteen-year age gap, the two men grow close and a fragile relationship blossoms. Ghosts of the past and insecurities about the future threaten their newfound happiness. If they’re going to harmonise in life and love as they do in their music, they’ll need to start following the same score.

four-stars

I hadn’t even read the blurb before I requested the book. This is by far one of my favorite covers this year. The blue really does work well against the black and white cover. I really enjoyed reading this story. It was the friends to lovers trope with a main dish of grief for dinner. I think having both characters dealing with the same grief of losing a partner made them better for each other. I think they learned how to move on, start over, and come to terms that their is happiness after everything feels so dark and bleak. I liked the age-gap as well. It definitely showed the difference on how each guy comes to terms with being with one another. My biggest qualm is that it is never enough. Why???? I could have done with 50 more pages atleast. I liked the epilogue and just wanted to see them happy.

This was a complete slow burn. At the introductions John is grieving the death of a parent and his partner of 20 years. He’s basically living day to day with no form of happiness. He’s working at a job that is only for money. His passion is in music, it’s something he use to have with David. He still thinks about David, and can’t seem to move on. He really doesn’t want to. His neighbor Maggie insists on him meeting Rhys the choir instructor for their town’s accapella group. It’s very begrudgingly that John agrees, and he sees Rhys for the very first time and it’s like something awakens in him. Rhys is not who he thought would be instructing the 60 and over crowd. No he’s the lithe, plate, tattooed kid with an amazing blue mohawk and the warmest smile ever.

In this dingy church hall in their small market town, Rhys looked like a bird of paradise that had accidentally ended up in a cage full of sparrows.

I liked Rhys alot on first glance. He’s the opposite of what everyone was expecting. I wanted to know his backstory and it’s just as bad as John’s. Rhys came back home after losing his lover at the age of 21. He’s dealing with his grief by instructing pupils of the different variety and living life peacefully and out of the public’s eye. John is such a shy person and with a little pushing and nudging from Rhys they both become friends. It’s light, and easy for both. It is the music drawing them in, and comforting them little by little. It’s the instruments, and war wounds that they compare. I can see the love happening right before my eyes. I can see Rhys opening up and realizing this is what he wants. I can see John with his doubts, and him trying to understand what Rhys could wants in a 42 year old. I loved Rhys basically telling John that we only get one life so we should make it work. The age-gap was big in this and both characters looked at it differently. I get why it was such a big deal, but I’m all about age ain’t nothing but a number. It’s rare to find something special with one person, but to lose it and find it again is something magical.

I really enjoy Jay’s writing. I love the proper British so much. From their mannerisms,words,to basic descriptions. This is low angst, good communication and a really good story. I love reading from this author and this one didn’t disappoint me. I can’t wait to see what’s in store with the next book, but before then I suggest we all read this one. It’s a love story.

About Jay Northcote

Jay lives just outside Bristol in the West of England, with his husband, two children, and two cats. He comes from a family of writers, but he always used to believe that the gene for fiction writing had passed her by. He spent years only ever writing emails, articles, or website content.

One day, he decided to try and write a short story—just to see if she could—and found it rather addictive. He hasn’t stopped writing since.

Jay writes contemporary gay romance about men who fall in love with other men, usually set in or near her home town of Bristol. He enjoys the challenge of bringing the men in his head to life through his words. Jay has five books published by Dreamspinner Press, and he also publishes his own titles under the imprint Jaybird Press. Some of his books are now available as audiobooks.

Jay is a transgender man and was formerly known as she/her.

The Little Things by Jay Northcote

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review.
This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

TheLittleThings_Mar2016The Little Things by Jay Northcote
Release Date: November 22, 2013
Pages: 214 • Format: eARC
Published By: Dreamspinner Press
Purchase Links:
Dreamspinner AmazonARe B&N

There are lots of things that brighten Joel’s life. His three-year-old daughter, Evie, is one. His close relationship with her mother, his best friend from university, is another. Joel’s boyfriend, Dan, adds spice to his child-free nights, and Joel is pretty happy with how things are.

Then one cold and rainy night, everything changes. Joel’s life is turned upside down when he becomes a full-time dad to Evie, and his previously carefree relationship with Dan cracks under the strain.

Meeting Liam, who acts as if getting hurt isn’t a foregone conclusion, shakes Joel to the core. Their attraction is mutual, and Liam makes no secret of how serious he is about Joel. But Joel is wary. He tells himself he’s keeping Liam at a distance for Evie’s sake, when really he’s protecting his own heart. Taking a chance on this new relationship with Liam may seem a small step—a little thing—but is it one Joel can take after losing so much already?

five-stars

Yes, I am giving this five stars. For me to read a tough subject matter, the author needs to be able to pull me through it with enough trust that it will all be okay. This wasn’t an easy read, there are a few very tough moments where I had to stop reading because I was not only crying but I was simply too emotional to read another word, and yet I continued. For that alone, for an author to pull me back into a story with such intense emotions deserves the five stars and then some.

The Little Things is different than what you would expect from Northcote, though it’s one of her earliest novels. Absent is the adorable fluff or lack of angst as this book hits pretty hard and deep.

We meet Joel as he is picking up his three year old daughter, Evie. We know immediately that Joel is head over heels for his daughter and as they walk home, we begin to learn how Joel, a out gay man, has a daughter.

I loved getting the short back story of Joel and Claire. How they were best friends in college, how they experimented and how the ultimately would up being co-parents to Evie. They are both so young when we meet them and yet they have taken on the challenge of parenting with respect and maturity for their ages. I liked that Joel has a boyfriend, Dan, though I never quite warmed up to Dan maybe because he is younger than Joel at only 19 yrs. so I guess I expected Joel to have someone more on his level of maturity and not someone who picked up other men when out clubbing though it seems their relationship was not exactly exclusive.  I mean he did what he could and he was decent and seemed to like Joel enough and though I did get emotional at their last goodbye… I don’t know. I guess I never got invested in Dan because I was waiting for Liam.

He realized he just didn’t care anymore, not in the way he’d cared about the guys that Dan had fooled around with before. Something had shifted for Joel, and he suddenly saw with stark clarity that he and Dan had no future together.

We know from the blurb that something happens to take Joel from a co-parent to a full time dad and while I was spoiled by a review about this and when it would happen, I am thankful it didn’t lessen the blow because that scene, as hard as it was to read and as much as I cried, needs to be felt. I felt it and I wept for all involved and dreaded the next step Joel would have to take.

I’ll spoiler tag the incident, though some may not feel it’s needed, I do.

View Spoiler »

 

I love the way Liam first meets Joel. Though we didn’t get his name I was holding out hope HE would turn into Liam and I was so happy when it happened. Joel is at a huge turning point in his life, even bigger than when he found out Evie was coming along and he needs the type of man he can lean on, who he can count on and who he can just be Joel – a man and a father – with.

But I guess that’s what I’d really like—to find a person I can have something serious with, something that could last.

The romance between Liam and Joel was beautiful. I loved that they took their time but that everything felt so right, felt as if they’d known one another for much longer that they let their feelings lead the way. That isn’t to say that Joel ever lost sight of his daughter. Being the non-bio mom to a son, myself, I know what it’s like to begin a relationship with someone who has a child about the same age as Evie. It’s not easy because you want that attention from the person you’re with but you also have to get that their child comes first. With Liam, he was simply the most patient man ever and sure, it could have to do with his job but he amazed me time and time again with… well, The Little Things he would do for both Joel and Evie.

The Little Things really is a character driven romance about a man who was just getting the hang of his life to have it all change with a clip of a curb. It’s a romance about needing to find the person you can be yourself with but still feel that desire to rip their clothes off and mount them like a bull… or at least a tall, dark and curly haired pediatric nurse.

Let me just add… this new cover is leaps and bounds above the original. This cover would have had me reading the book long before now and yeah, I admit I kinda judged a book BY the cover but I’m okay with that. I think all things need to be read at the right time and this was the right time for me. The cover though, that is SO Joel with his young maturity mixed with his vulnerability that cries out READ ME and really, I hope those of you who haven’t, will soon.

 

About Jay Northcote

Jay lives just outside Bristol in the West of England, with his husband, two children, and two cats. He comes from a family of writers, but he always used to believe that the gene for fiction writing had passed her by. He spent years only ever writing emails, articles, or website content.

One day, he decided to try and write a short story—just to see if she could—and found it rather addictive. He hasn’t stopped writing since.

Jay writes contemporary gay romance about men who fall in love with other men, usually set in or near her home town of Bristol. He enjoys the challenge of bringing the men in his head to life through his words. Jay has five books published by Dreamspinner Press, and he also publishes his own titles under the imprint Jaybird Press. Some of his books are now available as audiobooks.

Jay is a transgender man and was formerly known as she/her.

The Law of Attraction by Jay Northcote

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review.
This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

thelawofattraction_final_smallThe Law of Attraction by Jay Northcote
Release Date: February 5, 2016
Pages: • Published by: Jaybird Press  Format: eARC
Purchase Links: Amazon US  Amazon UK • Universal Amazon

When a professional relationship turns personal, it’s impossible to resist the law of attraction.

Alec Rowland is a high-flying lawyer in a London firm whose career is his life. He doesn’t have time for relationships and his sexuality is a closely guarded secret. After picking up a cute guy on a Friday night, Alec’s world is rocked to its foundations when his one night stand shows up in the office on Monday morning—as the new temp on his team.

Ed Piper is desperate to prove himself in his new job. The last thing he needs is to be distracted by a crush on his boss. It’s hard to ignore the attraction he feels, even though Alec’s a difficult bastard to work for.

Both men strive to maintain a professional relationship, but tempers fray, passions ignite, and soon they’re both falling hard and fast. If they’re ever going to find a way to be together, Alec needs to be honest about who he really is because Ed won’t go back in the closet for anyone.

three-half-stars

This reminded me of those arrogant billionaire guys with all those internal issues, and the lowly interns from good families coming together stories. It wasn’t like that per say, but I definitely didn’t role my eyes at Ed at all. He was my glory for me in this book. I really liked him. Alec had some issues as do we all, but while he did overcome them I still don’t like him really. I just don’t feel like he was relate-able at all. One thing I’ve noticed reading Jay Northcote books are they generally fall under the same formula. All her guys seem to be the same build and kinda surround same gist, but these are just my opinion based off the books I have read of hers. It isn’t necessarily a bad thing whatever works for you I’m happy about.

I liked the beginning of the story, the attraction between the two was high from the start. Then we fall into the one night stand meets the new employer trope. I like this trope because it’s never happened to me! Ha, I’m joking, I like the element of surprise as well reading about people’s first reaction to their dirty little secrets. Ed is a boss! Sure he was rattled, but he handled himself well. For me Alec was very one noted character. Between his internal problems, his broody nature(usually my attraction) and his dismissal of Ed this was all I could see him as. I wouldn’t say he changed, I would say he had a weight being lifted off of him that allowed him to open up more. I can’t really tell you if him opening us was a plus or minus, but I can say Ed’s character was good for me.

For me the disconnect came after 50%, I don’t know what it was, but it kinda lost it’s steam. It was just straight shooting from their. Nothing epic happened, but two scenes made me happy afterward. It was Ed family scene. I loved Ed’s family, and it was great seeing Ed and his happiness be there. The other scene was Alec doing what he needed to do himself.

All in all, I think it was an okay read. The writing was really good. I think if it was longer and maybe we saw Alec evolve into someone else then I would have probably liked it more.

About Jay Northcote

Jay lives just outside Bristol in the West of England, with his husband, two children, and two cats. He comes from a family of writers, but he always used to believe that the gene for fiction writing had passed her by. He spent years only ever writing emails, articles, or website content.

One day, he decided to try and write a short story—just to see if she could—and found it rather addictive. He hasn’t stopped writing since.

Jay writes contemporary gay romance about men who fall in love with other men, usually set in or near her home town of Bristol. He enjoys the challenge of bringing the men in his head to life through his words. Jay has five books published by Dreamspinner Press, and he also publishes his own titles under the imprint Jaybird Press. Some of his books are now available as audiobooks.

Jay is a transgender man and was formerly known as she/her.