The Black Sheep & the Rotten Apple by K.A. Merikan

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review.
This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

The Black Sheep and the Rotten Apple: by K.A. Merikan
Release Date: February 7, 2017
Pages: 471 • Format: eARC
Published By: Acerbi & Villani ltd
Purchase Links: Amazon

“How does one start a relationship with another man when it is forbidden?”
“One needs to decide that the other man is worth dying for.”

Cornwall, 1785

Sir Evan Penhart. Baronet. Highwayman. Scoundrel.

Julian Reece. Writer. Wastrel. Penniless.

No one forces Julian Reece to marry. Not his father, not his brother. No one.

When he is thrust into a carriage heading for London to meet his future bride, his way out comes in the form of an imposing highwayman, riding a horse as black as night. Julian makes a deal with the criminal, but what he doesn’t expect is that despite the title of baronet, the robber turns out to be no gentleman.

Sir Evan Penhart is pushed into crime out of desperation, but the pact with a pretty, young merchant’s son turns out to have disastrous consequences. Not only is Evan left broke, but worse yet, Julian opens up a Pandora’s box of passions that are dark, needy, and too wild to tame. With no way to lock them back in, rash decisions and greedy desire lead to a tide that wrecks everything in its way.

But Julian might actually like all the sinful, carnal passion unleashed on him. How can he admit this though, even to himself, when a taste of the forbidden fruit could have him end up with a noose around his neck? And with highway robbery being a hanging offense and the local constable on their back, Julian could lose Evan before he can decide anything about the nature of his desires.

four-stars

 

 

Whoa. This book was super freaking long. I mean it seemed like it was never going to end. It was a good story, but I think it could have been cut my at least 50 to 60 pages at least for me. In the middle of the story I feel like I stalled out a bit. It definitely changed the pacing of the story, and I got kinda bored an felt like the skimming bug was going to hit me. It didn’t, and I’m glad for that sake, but yeah that’s a warning to some folks that it does get slower in the middle of the story.

Now where to start? For a first time historical fiction from these two, I think they did very well. I really liked the authentic feeling to the time of the story. I really like when authors do their research and bring authenticity into the story. You can tell they did their research by the tone of the story, the elements, and the way the characters talk as well. This duo did a fantastic job on these two.

Sir Even Penhart and Julian Reece were good characters. Each bringing a difference of background into the story. Evan is the last surviving heir to his family’s home. While it is ruin, it’s something in his soul that won’t let him depart from it, out of a sense of duty more then loving memories I’d say. He has no money left due to his brother’s wastrel ways, and the only that he knows how to make some is by becoming a highwayman, a modern day robber. On one unforgettable night he approaches Julian’s carriage looking to make away with their money & trinkets. Julian is looking for a way out of an arranged marriage. He’s young, likes to drink & gamble, and fantasized about becoming a published author. His father is tired of supporting the young lad, so he waits until he’s incapacitated himself enough and ships him out, along with his older brother to his suspected bride. Long before Julian can understand the circumstances, a robber in all black and a pistol happens upon them.

The chemistry between the two were just right from the beginning. Both skeptical of one another, and not knowing where to go from there. They do come up with a plan to ransom Julian by hoping his father cares from him enough to send money. They both learn things from each other. They are different in a lot of ways. We see Julian loves words, poetry, writing, his wine, and he’s a easy going guy. Evan is more reserved, believes himself to live a life of destitute. Sparks fly in the most inopportune time it seems. While they seem to have a different of a opinion on the matter of the physical attraction, it’s not something you can deny. This duo does have a way with pulling on your heartstrings. There was plenty of times where I found myself really connecting with these guys. I like how expressive Julian was. I liked how he thought out so many things, and thought about his emotions as well. Evan is so used to not winning in life, that small things brighten his day. It’s been a long time since he was able to feel something for someone, so he was willing to go above and beyond for Julian.

I will say the plot got to be a long winded journey for me. I get we needed it, but because the book was so long when the plot settled into something at the end it left me frustrated. I had doubts on the end for these two. I hated Pascoe with a passion, but someone needed to be a villain.

All in all I think this was a good, solid historical romance. It felt authentic for the time period. I loved the development of the relationship. That didn’t feel rushed at all, and I appreciated the authors letting the characters find themselves together in their own way. A definite recommend from me.

About K.A. Merikan

K. A. Merikan is the pen name for Kat and Agnes Merikan, a team of writers, who are taken for sisters with surprising regularity. Kat’s the mean sergeant and survival specialist of the duo, never hesitating to kick Agnes’s ass when she’s slacking off. Her memory works like an easy-access catalogue, which allows her to keep up with both book details and social media. Also works as the emergency GPS. Agnes is the Merikan nitpicker, usually found busy with formatting and research. Her attention tends to be scattered, and despite pushing thirty, she needs to apply makeup to buy alcohol. Self-proclaimed queen of the roads.

They love the weird and wonderful, stepping out of the box, and bending stereotypes both in life and books. When you pick up a Merikan book, there’s one thing you can be sure of – it will be full of surprises.

Hipster Brothel by K.A. Merikan

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review.
This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Hipster Brothel: by K.A. Merikan
Release Date: January 24, 2017
Pages: 162 • Format: eARC
Published By: Acerbi & Villani ltd
Purchase Links:
AmazonAmazon UK

— The lumberjack of his dreams is now available for rent. —

Mr. B has always been a safe guy for Jo to crush on. He’s the cutest bearded lumber-god to salivate over. Add to that his friendly, outgoing personality, and Mr. B might just be the first guy Jo would be willing to kiss. Fortunately, Mr. B has been in a relationship for years, and Jo is no home-wrecker.

But when Mr. B breaks up with his partner and all of a sudden is single, available, and talks about his plans to be sexually adventurous, Jo isn’t so sure anymore if he has the guts to come out as bisexual.

After a sour breakup, Mr. B wants to show his ex that he’s independent, exciting, and can do very well without him. His best friend Jo is there to the rescue, and they come up with a great new business venture. One thing they lack to start their own line of artisanal boozy jams – money for the investment.

After a drunken brainstorming session, Mr. B finds a way to both gather the cash and show the middle finger to his ex. He will create a one of a kind Hipster Brothel – The Lumbersexual Experience – offering wood chopping lessons, pipe smoking, and a reclaimed wood bed where the magic happens. It’s bound to be a success… if only Mr. B can go through with it, because the mixed signals from Jo are making him wonder if his best friend is as straight as he always seemed.

four-stars

Am I the only one who got an chessy evil villain vibe from the names in this story? I literally was waiting on one of them to give a speech on how good will always prevail evil! LOL. It is a Merikan book after all. Nonetheless, I really did enjoy this story. It was a steamy hot friends to lovers story with some hipsters. I adore the hipsters and beards!

**Groans**, here goes with the names.

Mr. B is recently broken up with his partner of a subsequent amount of years. He moves to his brother’s land and resides in a train car, and now think of ways to reinvents himself. He is told that’s he to clingy in a relationship and mostly bored. I refuse to call them by initial any longer in this review. Bernard is broken-hearted, and calls his best friend Jo. Not knowing that Jo has been crushing on him for the last 2 years. Unbeknownst to Bernard, Jo is accepting his bi-curious and really wanting Bernard. He doesn’t want to over step his boundaries because it is his friend, and he is not in the right frame of mind. Well a night of artisanal food, and homemade moonshine opens up to new possibilities between the two.

From there on out feelings get put on blast, and steamy sex scenes ensue. The exes show up in the picture, and I did enjoy seeing each ex. I think that part of the story was able to bring more realism to the story. Its a friends to lover story, which I also found myself laughing. Really entertaining. I did find myself wanting to slap Arnold a bunch of times. He was kinda rude, but I think him breaking up with Bernard was the best thing for both of them.

I enjoyed that it was dual pov, and really liked seeing Jo not only come to terms with his sexuality, but figure out his ish and what he was going to do about it now. I liked Jo’s mom, and wish we could have gotten that Sunday brunch meeting. I think it would have been lovely. Whatever you say about the Merikan ladies, you can’t say they don’t know how to write a steamy sex scene. They know how to produce some heat in your loins for sure. LOL. I really liked it, and definitely one of the lighter books they’ve ever written. Really recommend this book, and look forward to more.

About K.A. Merikan

K. A. Merikan is the pen name for Kat and Agnes Merikan, a team of writers, who are taken for sisters with surprising regularity. Kat’s the mean sergeant and survival specialist of the duo, never hesitating to kick Agnes’s ass when she’s slacking off. Her memory works like an easy-access catalogue, which allows her to keep up with both book details and social media. Also works as the emergency GPS. Agnes is the Merikan nitpicker, usually found busy with formatting and research. Her attention tends to be scattered, and despite pushing thirty, she needs to apply makeup to buy alcohol. Self-proclaimed queen of the roads.

They love the weird and wonderful, stepping out of the box, and bending stereotypes both in life and books. When you pick up a Merikan book, there’s one thing you can be sure of – it will be full of surprises.

I Love You More Than Pierogi by K.A. Merikan

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review.
This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

I Love You More Than Pierogi: by K.A. Merikan
Series:World of Love 
Release Date: January 4, 2017
Pages: 101 • Format: eARC
Published By: Dreamspinner Press
Purchase Links:
Dreamspinner PressAmazon 

Marek and Adrian dated in high school, but a bitter breakup led them to choose different paths. Adrian is out and proud while Marek is in the closet. Adrian embraces his eccentricity while Marek clings to a conservative image. And while Marek worked hard to build a successful life and financial stability by climbing the corporate ladder, Adrian threw caution to the wind and has spent the last five years backpacking across the world.

Now Adrian is back in Warsaw, Poland, but while Marek thinks they will have a hookup and have a blast from the past, Adrian is just looking for a place to crash. Worse still, Adrian turns up at Marek’s advertising agency for help with his outrageous new business venture, and if Marek wants to get promoted, he might have to work with the guy who broke his heart.

World of Love: Stories of romance that span every corner of the globe.

two-half-stars

See, I know you are going to see this gif and rating and be confused. I went back and forth on an actual rating for this. While my heart was telling me no, my mind was saying be fair.

I had to think of everything outside of Marek. If it was based solely on him and his personality then I would have took my kindle outside and shot it. There was nothing about him I liked. Even at the end, nothing redeemable to me. I know some people are going to love this, I just wasn’t one of them.

To be fair, the writing was good and solid. Adrian was a really good character, and I loved his spirit. I just didn’t connect with either of them. I had issues with the way Marek treated Adrian, and how he acted in general. I had issues with Adrian just showing up unannounced after all these years and thinking that a conversation wasn’t needed. Umm both guys needed a personality check and to be holed up in a room together to discuss their feelings.

Another reason for the rating is because I do think the authors gave some really good background facts on the culture and people of Poland. It could be a reason for my disconnect seeings as the romantic aspect played second fiddle in my opinion to the significance of where they are.

I’m left feeling like I didn’t enjoy it but it would be unfair to rate it 1 star. It had good bones to the story. I just never connected with any part of it. I didn’t care for any of the story, and after a while I really just wanted it to be over. It didn’t work for me, and while I’m a little peeved by that, I know I’ll read something else by these two in the future.

About K.A. Merikan

K. A. Merikan is the pen name for Kat and Agnes Merikan, a team of writers, who are taken for sisters with surprising regularity. Kat’s the mean sergeant and survival specialist of the duo, never hesitating to kick Agnes’s ass when she’s slacking off. Her memory works like an easy-access catalogue, which allows her to keep up with both book details and social media. Also works as the emergency GPS. Agnes is the Merikan nitpicker, usually found busy with formatting and research. Her attention tends to be scattered, and despite pushing thirty, she needs to apply makeup to buy alcohol. Self-proclaimed queen of the roads.

They love the weird and wonderful, stepping out of the box, and bending stereotypes both in life and books. When you pick up a Merikan book, there’s one thing you can be sure of – it will be full of surprises.

Break My Shell by K.A. Merikan

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review.
This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

break-my-shellBreak My Shell: by K.A. Merikan
Release Date: December 7th, 2016
Pages: 183 • Format: eARC
Published By: Acerbi & Villani LTD
Purchase Links:
Amazon

— He was supposed to never leave prison. And then he was in my bedroom. —

Dayton is always on time to work, always organized, always ready to do overtime. The perfect receptionist-waiter-cleaner. Employee of the month. But Dayton has a secret side to him. A kinky, filthy side full of dark and dangerous fantasies that should never see the light of day.

He explores his taste for submission in one way only. For three years, he’s been writing letters about it to Max. Convicted to life in prison for the murder of three men and unlikely to ever be free, Max is the safest outlet for Dayton’s frustrated fantasies.

Only that he does leave prison. He finds Dayton. And he won’t settle for anything less than what he was promised in the letters. Too bad Dayton is nowhere near ready to indulge Max. Or himself for that matter.

three-stars

If it wasn’t for the completely filthiness of this book then this would have been a throw away for me. Unless it was the smexy times, then the other half of the book I was trying not to hulk rage my kindle. C’mon, Vanessa & Greg should have perished in a 18 wheeler wreck. They deserve everything that could have happened to them. I spent so much energy mad on Dayton’s behalf, and the instance where we see him stand up for himself and gets justice fades to black.

I was super angry. I’m still angry a day later. I’m not 100% sold on Dayton or Max at this point. Both annoyed me for different reasons, but Dayton probably more since he couldn’t figure out what he wanted. He seemed like a skittish dole who wouldn’t stand up for himself. His reasons came out in the book, but they just pissed me off more because he let his attackers get away with assault. His parents are good for nothing losers, and the only person who cares about him a little is Max. The ex-con, Dayton has been writing to for the pass 3 years. He’s written him all type of humiliating, kinky fantasies that he would want to play out. Dayton didn’t expect any of it to come true, but the world has a way of putting you on your butt when you least expect it.

Now, I will say the authors definitely delivered on the dirty talk and sexy times. It was freaking hawt, but I’m not sure Dayton’s kink is my kink. I won’t digress, these two definitely know how to write a damn sex scene. They were very compatible through these. I liked reading about it, and it wasn’t uncomfortable. I guess I wanted Dayton to be more comfortable in his own skin. I can understand now why he wouldn’t as I write this review. I understand Dayton’s struggles.

I do feel like the ending was really rushed. From one important scene into the next is the epilogue. I found myself flipping the page back and forth to make sure I didn’t miss it. But I didn’t and I wanted some resolution in Montana before they packed up their bags and left. All in all, I thought this was an okay book. If you are looking for something that’s going to burn up the page then this is your book!

About K.A. Merikan

K. A. Merikan is the pen name for Kat and Agnes Merikan, a team of writers, who are taken for sisters with surprising regularity. Kat’s the mean sergeant and survival specialist of the duo, never hesitating to kick Agnes’s ass when she’s slacking off. Her memory works like an easy-access catalogue, which allows her to keep up with both book details and social media. Also works as the emergency GPS. Agnes is the Merikan nitpicker, usually found busy with formatting and research. Her attention tends to be scattered, and despite pushing thirty, she needs to apply makeup to buy alcohol. Self-proclaimed queen of the roads.

They love the weird and wonderful, stepping out of the box, and bending stereotypes both in life and books. When you pick up a Merikan book, there’s one thing you can be sure of – it will be full of surprises.

Release Blitz & Giveaway: The Copper Horse:Love/Box Set by K.A. Merikan

The Copper Horse: Love & The Copper Horse Box Set – KA Merikan

Author: KA Merikan
 
Cover Design: Natasha Snow 
 
Buy Links:Amazon US| Amazon UK
 
Blurb

London

1907, twenty years into the zombie plague

Just as Reuben finally settles into the role of Copper, his master’s proud stallion, his life gets turned upside down by a revolution that has been long brewing in London. But the men who come for Erik at his home bring much more than havoc. They uncover lies that Erik has fed Reuben, and the truth creates a rift between them that might be impossible to cross.

Even if Reuben still wanted to be Erik’s pony, is it possible for them to be together if his master loses all power and property? With no harness to hold him, no bit to stop him from speaking, can Reuben still be what Erik wants? Does he have anything to offer as a man?

The relationship they have established gets shaken to its core, and on the run from Erik’s enemies, they will both have to find out if the bond they share will survive, or if it will break.

 
The Copper Horse Ponyplay Box Set
 
Buy Links: Amazon US | Amazon UK
 
Comprising of The Copper Horse: Fear, The Copper Horse: Pride, The Copper Horse: Love, Jack’s Punishment (Side Story) and The Stable Girl (an m/f story set in The Copper Horse world)
 
Author Bio
 K. A. Merikan is the pen name for Kat and Agnes Merikan, a team of writers, who are taken for sisters with surprising regularity. Kat’s the mean sergeant and survival specialist of the duo, never hesitating to kick Agnes’s ass when she’s slacking off. Her memory works like an easy-access catalogue, which allows her to keep up with both book details and social media. Also works as the emergency GPS. Agnes is the Merikan nitpicker, usually found busy with formatting and research. Her attention tends to be scattered, and despite pushing thirty, she needs to apply makeup to buy alcohol. Self-proclaimed queen of the roads.

They love the weird and wonderful, stepping out of the box, and bending stereotypes both in life and books. When you pick up a Merikan book, there’s one thing you can be sure of – it will be full of surprises.

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/KAMerikan
Twitter: https://twitter.com/KA_Merikan
Twitter: https://twitter.com/AgnesMerikan
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6150530.K_A_Merikan
Pinterest: https://uk.pinterest.com/KAMerikan/

 

Giveaway

 Don’t forget to enter the giveaway below for a chance to win an e-book copy of Fear from the Copper Horse!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

About K.A. Merikan

K. A. Merikan is the pen name for Kat and Agnes Merikan, a team of writers, who are taken for sisters with surprising regularity. Kat’s the mean sergeant and survival specialist of the duo, never hesitating to kick Agnes’s ass when she’s slacking off. Her memory works like an easy-access catalogue, which allows her to keep up with both book details and social media. Also works as the emergency GPS. Agnes is the Merikan nitpicker, usually found busy with formatting and research. Her attention tends to be scattered, and despite pushing thirty, she needs to apply makeup to buy alcohol. Self-proclaimed queen of the roads.

They love the weird and wonderful, stepping out of the box, and bending stereotypes both in life and books. When you pick up a Merikan book, there’s one thing you can be sure of – it will be full of surprises.

Release Blitz – Heart Ripper: Coffin Nails MC by K.A. Merikan

 

HeartRipper-Banner

Oh My Shelves giddily welcomes authors K.A. Merikan to the blog with the release of the latest book in their Sex & Mayhem series, Heart Ripper – available now – and love that they share what led them to writing Raja *swoon* and David’s romance. Be Sure to check out the Pinterest Board … it is A MUST because it’s all Le Sigh and Le UNF!

* * * * * *

We knew we’d write Heart Ripper as soon as David appeared on the pages of Split as the MCs younger brother. There was just something about this tertiary character that spoke to us, and in no time, we were hard at work. David comes from a very devout Catholic background, and the overbearing nature of his mother doesn’t do him any favors in discovering his sexual interests. But then comes Raja, a friend of David’s brother, and he sweeps David off his feet without knowing who he’s dealing with.

This story is much sweeter than many of the other Sex & Mayhem books in the sense that one of the characters is not in any way connected to the criminal world, and  that is one of the reasons Raja, the newly appointed club president of one of  the Coffin Nails MC chapters, likes him so much. David is a sweet ray of sunshine and normalcy, the kind of boyfriend Raja never had, and he can’t deny himself the attraction, even if he knows he should not pursue this particular guy.

I guess most of us like a story of a forbidden love, one that needs to face many obstacles. It isn’t easy for Raja to openly date a guy, and it is even harder for David to put everything on the line, but their connection is explosive, and neither of them can make himself give up on it.

If you want to see our inspiration photos for this book, check out the ‘Heart Ripper’ Pinterest board: https://uk.pinterest.com/KAMerikan/heart-ripper-by-ka-merikan-sexmayhem-9/

* * * * * *

~Excerpt~

The bearded guy from downstairs slid inside, locking the door of the bathroom with a loud, final-sounding clang, and then his dark gaze was on David, rendering him mute and unableHeartRipper-Promo-6 to defend himself from that strong presence.

The man was taller than David, and the white T-shirt he was wearing clung to his athletic body as he glided through the bathroom. For a moment, the world slowed down, and David could swear he saw the pitch-black hair float in the air, the curved-up moustache twitch as the man smiled beneath the thick, well-kept beard. Bold black tattoos covered the man’s arms, all the way to his wrists, and some even peeked out from under the round collar of the shirt, beckoning David to have a closer look at the dark, warm-hued skin, which had immediately set the man apart from everyone else present at the party.

“I… I mean, okay, I guess you need it more,” David uttered and attempted to pass the guy, fleeing for the door. He was hot, cold, sweaty all over, and nervous as hell. Life had been so much easier years ago, before puberty hit him in the face like a red hot poker drenched in sin.

The man stood in his way, and before David could utter a word of protest, a palm as hot as molten lava burned the skin of his throat, squeezing gently as the man pushed David back. David stepped back in a daze, letting the stranger direct him toward the wall, until his knees hit something hard and cool. The man pushed him down, and David obeyed yet again, taking a seat on the closed toilet.

He could barely breathe from the stress of being alone with this guy in a locked room. “I’m sorry if I stared,” he wanted to say, but only managed a hoarse whisper. His body was still processing being touched by this man. Older, bigger, with eyes that could scorch David alive.

HeartRipper-Promo-5“I enjoyed you staring,” said the stranger with a small smirk to his lips as he traced his thumb over David’s lips. It was the sulphur to the match of David’s arousal, and he quickly clenched his thighs in panic. Even his accent immediately set him apart from most people David met. Rich and thick as sugar syrup, it was definitely Southern.

Even fumbly kisses with a girl at church camp weren’t as igniting as one touch from this man. David would burn in hell for the images crawling out of the back of his mind. His heart was beating so hard it made him light-headed.

The man liked him looking.

So he wasn’t about to scold David for it. But what could a man like this possibly want with him then? A man with all that dark hair on his thick arms, a face as handsome as if it were a gift from the devil himself, and touch that made every hair on David’s body bristle.

“This… this is a misunderstanding,” David mumbled.

The man smirked and pulled down the zipper of his jeans, slowly letting go of David’s neck. “Nice to meet you, pretty boy.”

 


HeartRipper-fin_600Heart Ripper: Coffin Nails MC by K.A. Merikan
Series: Sex & Mayhem, Book Nine
Release Date: June 15, 2016
Pages: 319 • Cover Artist: Natasha Snow
Published By: Acerbi & Villani ltd
Purchase Link:
Amazon

— You always want what you can’t have. —

David. Catholic. Gay. Set on keeping his purity ring.
Raja. Biker. Manwhore. Never refuses a bet.

David has always tried to be the best son his parents could dream of.
Always at church on Sunday.
Always eager to help with the garden.
Always trying his best at school.
Prim, proper, innocent, and kind.
But deep inside of him, there is a yearning planted by the devil himself, and when a cocky, foul-mouthed biker pulls him a step too far, David doesn’t fall into the abyss. He leaps.
Raja is all he’s ever dreamed of, yet didn’t dare voice. Older, dangerous, a wall of muscle with a grip so strong David can’t resist him no matter how hard he tries.

As a freshly appointed president of a motorcycle club on the verge of ruin, Raja has a lot to live up to. Being gay doesn’t do him any favors in terms of commanding the respect of his men. He has his way of compensating though.
Always first in a fight.
Always bragging about his sexual conquests.
Always up for a bet.
Daring, tattooed, sexy, and unapologetic.
After he boasts he can have any man he wants, he gets challenged to hook up with the preppy guy wallflowering at a party. Raja can’t wait to pop the innocent cutie’s cherry. But when he finds out the guy is his friend’s younger brother, life gets a whole lot messier.

Why is the one guy who should be off-limits always the most tempting?

Why is the one guy who should be off-limits always the most tempting?


heartrippergraphicone

~Giveaway~

a Rafflecopter giveaway

About K.A. Merikan

K. A. Merikan is the pen name for Kat and Agnes Merikan, a team of writers, who are taken for sisters with surprising regularity. Kat’s the mean sergeant and survival specialist of the duo, never hesitating to kick Agnes’s ass when she’s slacking off. Her memory works like an easy-access catalogue, which allows her to keep up with both book details and social media. Also works as the emergency GPS. Agnes is the Merikan nitpicker, usually found busy with formatting and research. Her attention tends to be scattered, and despite pushing thirty, she needs to apply makeup to buy alcohol. Self-proclaimed queen of the roads.

They love the weird and wonderful, stepping out of the box, and bending stereotypes both in life and books. When you pick up a Merikan book, there’s one thing you can be sure of – it will be full of surprises.

Heart Ripper: Coffin Nails MC by K.A. Merikan

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review.
This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

HeartRipper-fin_600Heart Ripper: Coffin Nails MC by K.A. Merikan
Series: Sex & Mayhem, Book Nine
Release Date: June 15, 2016
Pages: 319 • Format: eARC
Published By: Acerbi & Villani ltd
Purchase Link:
Amazon

— You always want what you can’t have. —

David. Catholic. Gay. Set on keeping his purity ring.
Raja. Biker. Manwhore. Never refuses a bet.

David has always tried to be the best son his parents could dream of.
Always at church on Sunday.
Always eager to help with the garden.
Always trying his best at school.
Prim, proper, innocent, and kind.
But deep inside of him, there is a yearning planted by the devil himself, and when a cocky, foul-mouthed biker pulls him a step too far, David doesn’t fall into the abyss. He leaps.
Raja is all he’s ever dreamed of, yet didn’t dare voice. Older, dangerous, a wall of muscle with a grip so strong David can’t resist him no matter how hard he tries.

As a freshly appointed president of a motorcycle club on the verge of ruin, Raja has a lot to live up to. Being gay doesn’t do him any favors in terms of commanding the respect of his men. He has his way of compensating though.
Always first in a fight.
Always bragging about his sexual conquests.
Always up for a bet.
Daring, tattooed, sexy, and unapologetic.
After he boasts he can have any man he wants, he gets challenged to hook up with the preppy guy wallflowering at a party. Raja can’t wait to pop the innocent cutie’s cherry. But when he finds out the guy is his friend’s younger brother, life gets a whole lot messier.

Why is the one guy who should be off-limits always the most tempting?

Why is the one guy who should be off-limits always the most tempting?

five-stars

This is not something I normally do, read a book in a numbered series out of order. My OCD doesn’t mesh well with things like that, I usually make myself read all the books before I get to the one I want to read. BUT, I took the authors word on good faith that this could be read as a stand alone and dove in because come on; a manwhore and a Catholic virgin? I’d be stupid not to take the opportunity.

From the first page I was hooked. I was hooked in Raja’s POV and all that he was as the new president of the Coffin Nails MC chapter in Toledo. I really liked Lucky and made notes to find out what his story was and from which book but when Raja sees a sweet thing across the room… a wallflower of a boy with eyes that promise pleasure…yeah, I was all in. BUT…then we get that boys POV and let me tell you, I bonded with David immediately and good lord. That first scene? I read that at my desk while at work and I am not innocent but that scene made me blush. It was hot AF and surprisingly emotional and tender.

What? Yeah, I know what you are thinking? Hey Ginger, are you sure you read a book in the Sex & Mayhem series with the boys from the Coffin Nails MC?? Yup, sure did and while this may be my first in the series, I am so not done with it. I think, for once, reading out of order has served me well.

But, back to the review at hand.

So, Raja is at his friend Hunter’s house to welcome his new baby boy into the world. Blade, one of the dudes in Raja’s MC is chatting up Raja about the sex and the gays and what not. To prove a point and to shut Blade up, Raja takes on a bet that he can get a blow job for anyone, including the wallflower across the room. UGH and OMG! Talk about a decision that will change your life. I am a huge sucker for the alpha male and Raja fits that role as perfect as his ass fits into his jeans. It’s natural for him to take control and sweet David is so repressed and confused that when Raja invades his space and starts directing their encounter, it was stupidly hot. I can’t even explain how hot it was.

This book was a ride of emotions that were so strong there were times I thought I was on a long run with a bunch of dudes on motorcycles. I was honestly amazed and overwhelmed by range of emotions I got, I mean – this book made me cry during sex and only a handful of authors have done that to me. The sex was dirty but it was sensual and yeah, pretty fother mucking sweet with these two.

Ooh Boy. The ginger is on a ramble. So anyway.  Raja and David have a sexy moment. Raja then learns exactly who David is and his relation to Hunter and all that MC/Chapter mess but these boys, they can’t stay away from one another and I loved how they kept coming back for more.

I have a think with books and music. I had the Yeah, Yeah, Yeah’s “It’s Blitz!” on repeat reading this and each time “Hysteric” came on with Karen O’s beautiful voice singing the lyrics, “Flow Sweetly, Hang Heavy. You suddenly complete me…” I was a mess and fully connected to the music and the story I was lost in.

Goodness. How do I even begin to explain this book and have it make sense? When religion and self-hate is involved I can’t help but find a common thread. Growing up Catholic I know the guilt that can be forced on you and while I am currently without religion, the imposed Catholic guilt resides in my subconscious and likes to rear its ugly head from time to time. I can’t imagine being David and trying to find his way through wanting to be his true self while coming to terms with his sexuality and wants/needs. It was adorable that Raja decided to be the one to teach David all he needs to know about being gay but in turn, David teaches Raja so much about himself and what he is capable of.

I loved that David was able to be himself with Raja, that he let go and while he may have questioned if what he was doing was right by the church, he knew in his heart and soul that anything with Raja could never be wrong. Oh and David, you are such a good and dirty boy. Such. A. Good. And. Dirty. Boy. Mmm hmm…

The sex in this book was amazing. I mentioned it was hella dirty but along with the dirty was this outstanding level of respect. The moment when Raja explains to David that dirty talk is just that and to never let someone call you names and mean it was amazing. These two were stunning as they found their way to a common ground one wouldn’t expect from the surface and yet the layers they pull back on one another to reveal the deeper connection left me breathless.

Am I even saying anything? I have no idea. I stayed up way passed my bedtime reading this last night because I couldn’t put it down. I had to know how the MC would react, how Hunter would react, how David’s parents and the evil freaking priest would react and how it all would come together with Raja and David falling for one another.

Gah. Raja and who he is. Can I just mention that I loved his heritage and David’s passion for Bollywood movies? When we get Raja’s name I may have let out a sound that made my dogs bark in the dead of night because it was all too much for me, in a good way of course. This book was everything I could have hoped for and even more. It surpassed all expectations I had and gave me the most wonderful story. And that epilogue… shut up with the song played. I may have a crush on the authors for that because it was just so out of the blue and so damn perfect.

Heart Ripper did just that to me, it ripped my heart out in the best way while softly placing it back in my chest with respect. The romance of David and Raja was amazing and has fueled my need to go back and read the other books in this series and while I have been warned, the other books get darker I am sure the Merikan’s will pull me through with reverence.

About K.A. Merikan

K. A. Merikan is the pen name for Kat and Agnes Merikan, a team of writers, who are taken for sisters with surprising regularity. Kat’s the mean sergeant and survival specialist of the duo, never hesitating to kick Agnes’s ass when she’s slacking off. Her memory works like an easy-access catalogue, which allows her to keep up with both book details and social media. Also works as the emergency GPS. Agnes is the Merikan nitpicker, usually found busy with formatting and research. Her attention tends to be scattered, and despite pushing thirty, she needs to apply makeup to buy alcohol. Self-proclaimed queen of the roads.

They love the weird and wonderful, stepping out of the box, and bending stereotypes both in life and books. When you pick up a Merikan book, there’s one thing you can be sure of – it will be full of surprises.

Werewolves of Chernobyl by K.A. Merikan and L.A. Witt

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review.
This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

WerewolvesofChernobyl-f-400Werewolves of Chernobyl by K.A. Merikan and L.A. Witt
Release Date: May 5, 2016
Pages: 214 • Format: eARC
Published By: Wing & Fang Press
Purchase Link:
Amazon 

Being kidnapped by two werewolves is an adventure after all, right? Right?! —

Quinn

If Quinn wants to get the best photos for his travel blog, no gate is too tall, and no ‘do not enter’ sign actually means he won’t go in. What he finds in a hidden exclusion zone by Chernobyl blows his mind. Mutants? Monsters? He doesn’t know, but he is bound to find out when not one but two of them break into his hotel.
Too bad the rules and attitudes they have toward sex don’t match Quinn’s at all.

Dima

Born with a disabled hand, smaller than the other werewolves, Dima is the lowest of the low in his pack, but when he meets the loveliest human he’s ever seen, he knows his luck has changed.
The last thing he expects though is his beloved friend Nazar turning on him once Dima’s affection for Quinn deepens, and he refuses to be mounted by Nazar anymore.

Nazar

Nazar is a high ranking soldier in his pack, but in his powerful body hides a gentle soul, and all he wants is to escape the pack with Dima. But once Dima claims Quinn as his, secrets Nazar has so far kept hidden rear their ugly head.

The werewolf language doesn’t have words to describe what they crave, so Quinn might be the only one to help them solve the puzzle of the desires that go against the rules of their pack.

four-half-stars

I don’t know where to start with this or how to even say what I want to about this book. I mean, when I saw the book it looked good but then I saw the Pinterest board for it and I won’t lie, I drooled. I mean, the image inspiration for Quinn was enough to get me going – I’m a sucker for hipsters – and then you have Nazar and Dima? Yeah, sign me up for this ASAP.

But then… I started reading and I had to stop reading to google a few things and I learned about a new form of werewolf called a bodark and then I had to stop again and consider what I pretty much knew was going to happen. Well, I can tell you I decided to keep reading and holy mother effing cow, what I thought would happen, did happen and oh boy, was it hot. Like ridiculously hot to the point I should probably be ashamed that I found it so hot but screw it, I own all my kinks and this is just a new one I’ve found. Oh and yeah, there is KNOTTING in this book and be prepared, it’s pretty hot. Have I mentioned this was hot yet? Just making sure.

Now I have always said that any subject can be read as long as you have a good writer and I didn’t just have one in this story, I had three and I had three different POV’s that I adored.

We meet Quinn while on a tour of Chernobyl, the horrible nuclear power plant in Pripyat (then in Russia which is now Ukrainian Soviet Socialist Republic of the Soviet Union) that housed on of the worst nuclear accidents in history. The tour guides strongly insist that no one go to black zones on the map but Quinn, he is all about the anarchy and arrogance with being told what to do so… yup, he goes to that area. While there, he comes upon a creature, something he has never seen before as it appears to be a wolf, yet it’s also a biped though strangely, hunched over. But this creature is curious also so Quinn and it, well they have a moment. I am going to say how I really wanted the creature to shift when Quinn shared a treat with him but that’s just because I have seen too many commercials and my brain is a wacked place to be.

Anyway.

We get to meet the creature, aka Dima, and from the first line of his POV I fell hard for him. There is so much in Dima right away that draws you to him, makes you want to champion him, cuddle him and later on, yeah you want to beg him to do things to you. But Dima, he is this soft-hearted bodark who was born with a lame arm that makes him think he is inferior. He is at the bottom of the pack and would be treated worse than he is if not for his friend and protector, Nazar.

Good lord, Nazar. How is it that we get these bodarks, these werewolves who walk on two legs and have tall the characteristics and mannerisms of wolves and yet I fell in love with them? We know from early on that Nazar, he feels more than friendship for Dima, he wants him in every way he can… except the one way he truly wants him but I won’t give that bit away. Nazar is head over heels for Dima and has always wanted to take him out of the hierarchy of wolves and be free. Free to be whom they want to one another without shame and it’s just so heartbreaking to me.

But when Dima tells Nazar he found a human, a human who was nice to him, who wanted him and who Dima now wants of course Nazar will do anything for his friend and off they go to get themselves a hipster to play with.

Goodness. I just adored the hell out of this. It was much sweeter than I had anticipated with the longing between Dima and Nazar and the complications that come into their relationship once they add Quinn to the mix. It was also witty and funny and downright sexy AF but it was also and engaging read that had me doing many searches on wolves of Chernobyl and yeah, imaging that some of the pictures were possible on Quinn’s blog. Don’t look at me like that! I suspended belief that a hipster would take a chance and leave everything he knows to be real when two freaking werewolves – one who talks – come into his room and want to hang out. So yeah, I will imagine it but really, watching the Radioactive Wolves Of Chernobyl, documentary had a different meaning after reading this.

Once again, I have said nothing with a whole lot of words but I thoroughly enjoyed this book. I love how we learn the dynamics of the bodarks in this seemed forgotten place and how they teach and learn from Quinn. How the three males learn to be with one another, learn to respect one another in a new way and learn to um… get it on with each other.  I loved how this book made me take a moment out of a poly romance story to look up an actual horrific event and even after finishing the book, take time to watch and learn more about the effects of the Chernobyl accident. But what I love most, is this book took me out of my comfort zone and wrapped me in warm furred arms and told me to just relax, because it’d be worth it.

Werewolves of Chernobyl was a great read about two bodark wolves who don’t know how to move from being parallel in their emotions until a third shows them a triad is the way to go. It’s a romantic story with bits of realism and slight engagement of humanities and injustices that are carried out without regard. It’s a story about being free, being authentic to your wants and it’s about love.

About K.A. Merikan

K. A. Merikan is the pen name for Kat and Agnes Merikan, a team of writers, who are taken for sisters with surprising regularity. Kat’s the mean sergeant and survival specialist of the duo, never hesitating to kick Agnes’s ass when she’s slacking off. Her memory works like an easy-access catalogue, which allows her to keep up with both book details and social media. Also works as the emergency GPS. Agnes is the Merikan nitpicker, usually found busy with formatting and research. Her attention tends to be scattered, and despite pushing thirty, she needs to apply makeup to buy alcohol. Self-proclaimed queen of the roads.

They love the weird and wonderful, stepping out of the box, and bending stereotypes both in life and books. When you pick up a Merikan book, there’s one thing you can be sure of – it will be full of surprises.

About L.A. Witt

L.A. Witt is an abnormal M/M romance writer who has finally been released from the purgatorial corn maze of Omaha, Nebraska, and now spends her time on the southwestern coast of Spain. In between wondering how she didn’t lose her mind in Omaha, she explores the country with her husband, several clairvoyant hamsters, and an ever-growing herd of rabid plot bunnies.

She also has substantially more time on her hands these days, as she has recruited a small army of mercenaries to search South America for her nemesis, romance author Lauren Gallagher, but don’t tell Lauren. And definitely don’t tell Lori A. Witt or Ann Gallagher. Neither of those twits can keep their mouths shut…

The Cattery by K.A. Merikan

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review.
This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

TheCattery-f_900The Cattery by K.A. Merikan
Release Date: April 8, 2016
Pages: • Format: eARC
Published By: Acerbi & Villani LTD
Purchase Links:
Amazon • Smashwords •

— Role-playing a cat for six months? You said you’re paying how much? —

Goran’s mouth has no filter, and it’s losing him job after job. Desperate and a week away from being homeless, he finds an offer online that sounds too good to be true. Spending six months in a mansion by the beach in return for a hundred thousand dollars as long as he sticks to the house rules.

This might be the one job where his unruly mouth doesn’t get in the way. After all, saying the wrong thing is impossible… when you’re role-playing a cat.

Meeting all the other guys at the cattery seems to be the icing on the cake, but the inconvenient truth he dishes out turns out to be too much. Goran makes everyone his enemy, but worst of all, Ollie, the prettiest cat of the bunch, the one who’s been in the cattery the longest, and the one who makes Goran’s heart skip a beat.

Ollie’s big blue eyes hold secrets Goran is intent on cracking, but to do so, he will need to learn to bite his tongue and listen. Too bad the pretty blond ice prince is set on getting Goran kicked out of the cattery for good.

 

three-half-stars

I’m on the fence about my feelings for this book. On one hand, I loved the entire pet play project in this story and Luis. On the other hand, I didn’t enjoy Goran & Ollie one bit. Ugh, I’m kinda disappointed in myself by that. Goran confused me alot, and I do understand all his reasons for doing this, but the one thing I didn’t like is his “need” for Ollie. I know it’s not far, trust me I’m working it out with myself. Goran is easy person to get. He puts it out from about him being rude at times, and being to blunt about things. He describes his self in a way that you would want to stay away from in my opinion. At times though, I understand Goran better then everyone in the book. He’s not ever trying to get over on people, he’s only trying to fix a problem that he created. He comes to the US for job opportunities, and therein lies his first problem, the job that was promised isn’t there. I liked that he didn’t give up and did what he had to do. Meeting Luis for this sketchy opportunity was hilarious to me. Being in Goran’s head was funny. I would have been thinking the same exact thing.

I’ve recently read a pet play book, and was intrigued. I loved the entire subject of The Cattery. It was something I was picturing in my mind. I really liked Luis as a character, and there we meet the other Cats. Oh my goodness. I love Clove & Bounce. We met Cin, and Ollie. Besides the romance that blossoms inside the Cattery, the relationships these guys have are all different. They all come from different backgrounds and are there for different reasons. Ollie is a difficult character for me to enjoy. He is completely stuck in his head most of the story. I couldn’t understand his actions at all. I don’t actually think I warmed up to him at all. I’m happy he was able to put himself first, and I’m super happy that Goran was able to look pass his actions.

By the end I was able to see growth between both guys. I’m glad that they are each living for themselves and taking care of one another. I really enjoyed the lighter side of the Merikans, and glad to see the versatility from this duo. I hope we can see Luis, or Clove in the future. Those two definitely stood out to me. The Cattery is definitely a different kind of romance, but it was good enough for me.

About K.A. Merikan

K. A. Merikan is the pen name for Kat and Agnes Merikan, a team of writers, who are taken for sisters with surprising regularity. Kat’s the mean sergeant and survival specialist of the duo, never hesitating to kick Agnes’s ass when she’s slacking off. Her memory works like an easy-access catalogue, which allows her to keep up with both book details and social media. Also works as the emergency GPS. Agnes is the Merikan nitpicker, usually found busy with formatting and research. Her attention tends to be scattered, and despite pushing thirty, she needs to apply makeup to buy alcohol. Self-proclaimed queen of the roads.

They love the weird and wonderful, stepping out of the box, and bending stereotypes both in life and books. When you pick up a Merikan book, there’s one thing you can be sure of – it will be full of surprises.