Dim Sum Asylum by Rhys Ford

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review.
This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Dim Sum Asylum: by Rhys Ford
Release Date: June 9th, 2017
Pages: 240 • Format: eARC
Published By: Dreamspinner Press
Purchase Links:
DreamspinnerAmazon

Welcome to Dim Sum Asylum: a San Francisco where it’s a ho-hum kind of case when a cop has to chase down an enchanted two-foot-tall shrine god statue with an impressive Fu Manchu mustache that’s running around Chinatown, trolling sex magic and chaos in its wake.

Senior Inspector Roku MacCormick of the Chinatown Arcane Crimes Division faces a pile of challenges far beyond his human-faerie heritage, snarling dragons guarding C-Town’s multiple gates, and exploding noodle factories. After a case goes sideways, Roku is saddled with Trent Leonard, a new partner he can’t trust, to add to the crime syndicate family he doesn’t want and a spell-casting serial killer he desperately needs to find.

While Roku would rather stay home with Bob the Cat and whiskey himself to sleep, he puts on his badge and gun every day, determined to serve and protect the city he loves. When Chinatown’s dark mystical underworld makes his life hell and the case turns deadly, Trent guards Roku’s back and, if Trent can be believed, his heart… even if from what Roku can see, Trent is as dangerous as the monsters and criminals they’re sworn to bring down.

 

four-stars

 

In my entire history of reading its never taken me so long to read a Rhys Ford book. Its partially my fault, and partially the books fault. I was busy, and summer read has taken a backseat to much needed enjoyment time with the ball & chain. It took me 9 days to completely finish the book. Some days I didn’t get a chance to pick it up. While that seems bad, it was good for me because when I did get a chance to get back to it I had no problem with diving in. It was easy enough to follow far as plot wise goes. I gotta say this one was kinda insta-love something I didn’t expect at all. I mean it was 2 maybe 3 days into Roku & Trent to become Rent!! <—- Ha, Ha, Ha. See what I did there?

The world building was astounding. Such vivid descriptions, and thorough world embodiment.I do think some times it escapes Ford with how much she does focus on the world building. In turn I would have liked just a teeny tiny bit cut off to focus on the plot. I feel like this has the potential to be a series, but as of now its a novel. Don’t know how I feel about that.

I’ve said it once, and will say it again. I’m not really a Fae girl, but for some reason most of Rhys pnr/uf has focused on the fae. I always feel like its too much involving the fae. I constantly get lost on the good vs. bad fae, but nevertheless this book was easy enough to follow through. It doesn’t help that Roku was a really good character. He is just dealt a bad hand with certain situations. Trent, grew to my liking. I liked how he wanted foundation and after everything he’s been through that he feels like he’s found some commonality in Roku. It could definitely work, seeing as they both of them have similar background and need someone in their life.

As usual I liked the writing. It always flows beautifully. I thought it was a well developed story and was really happy with the outcome. I enjoyed the short in the anthology story, and glad that Ford decided to develop this into a well thought novel. A recommend from me as usual!

 

signature-fonts

About Rhys Ford

Rhys Ford was born and raised in Hawai’i then wandered off to see the world. After chewing through a pile of books, a lot of odd food, and a stray boyfriend or two, Rhys eventually landed in San Diego, which is a very nice place but seriously needs more rain.

Rhys admits to sharing the house with cats of varying degrees of black fur and a ginger cairn terrorist. Rhys is also enslaved to the upkeep a 1979 Pontiac Firebird, a Toshiba laptop, and an overworked red coffee maker.

There’s This Guy by Rhys Ford

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review.
This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Title:There’s This Guy by Rhys Ford
Release Date: March 17th, 2017
Pages: 220 • Format: eARC
Published By: Dreamspinner Press
Purchase Links:
DreamspinnerAmazon

How do you save a drowning man when that drowning man is you?

Jake Moore’s world fits too tightly around him. Every penny he makes as a welder goes to care for his dying father, an abusive, controlling man who’s the only family Jake has left. Because of a promise to his dead mother, Jake resists his desire for other men, but it leaves him consumed by darkness.

It takes all of Dallas Yates’s imagination to see the possibilities in the fatigued Art Deco building on the WeHo’s outskirts, but what seals the deal is a shy smile from the handsome metal worker across the street. Their friendship deepens while Dallas peels back the hardened layers strangling Jake’s soul. It’s easy to love the artistic, sweet man hidden behind Jake’s shattered exterior, but Dallas knows Jake needs to first learn to love himself.

When Jake’s world crumbles, he reaches for Dallas, the man he’s learned to lean on. It’s only a matter of time before he’s left to drift in a life he never wanted to lead and while he wants more, Jake’s past haunts him, making him doubt he’s worth the love Dallas is so desperate to give him.

three-stars

 

 

This was extremely difficult for me to read, get through and wait two months to review. Let’s review here: In my head I have a really close relationship with Rhys Ford, and this rating or review won’t seem like it. In fact, I’ve dreaded writing this review since I finish reading it. I haven’t felt this letdown in a long time. She’s one of my favorite authors, and I couldn’t understand why I didn’t like it.  I was finding it hard to get my words out without stabbing myself in the heart during the first place. If this was Rhys idea of a contemporary romance, then I prefer her murder mystery books. This was angsty, slow burn on the romance, and difficult to read for me.  The relationship was completely one – sided for me, and it never felt like a romance. Hell, the story felt like I was wading through quick mud while reading it. While I did like Jake & Dallas as characters, I still didn’t quite like the story as much as I would have liked.

Jake comes from a super abusive childhood. The abuse is so deeply twined into his soul, that he is not able to see the good in people. He’s so scarred from his childhood, and even worst that his tormentor is his father. A father is who sick, but still is able to keep his hooks into Jake. Dallas is the complete opposite, yeah he knows what love lost is, but he is more free spirited and able to open up at love. Their careers is what leads them to a chance meeting. Soon after it’s like fate stepped in and interceded.

This point on their was an excessive about of literary things happening that my brain wasn’t able to understand. Plenty of times, I had to step back and think why?? We all know how I feel about angst. A little is okay, I like people to work for it, but too much throws the story completely off. I really wanted the book to end at those points, I didn’t care if they did or did not get together. Dallas had these grand gestures for Jake about love, and friendship, but they were NEVER reciprocated. I literally hate with a passion, a one-sided relationship. I’m all for being someone’s backbone, but I was really waiting on Jake to open his eyes and realize what he wasn’t doing. How do we get this grandiose love story where I didn’t feel anything. At best a friendship is started and Jake can start healing, at worst nothing. I felt Nada, zip, zilch, NOTHING. In fact by the 75% I was waffling on calling it quite. Its something that I never felt while reading a Rhys Ford book. After reading it, I was straddling the fence on my rating.

The only thing that saved me was Celeste. She was a fun character, and the writing. Ford knows how to write, but the overall product was not something that I enjoyed personally. It had its moments, but they were very small and far in few in the story. I think fans of slow burn romance, angst, and heartbreaks will most likely like this.

 

signature-fonts

About Rhys Ford

Rhys Ford was born and raised in Hawai’i then wandered off to see the world. After chewing through a pile of books, a lot of odd food, and a stray boyfriend or two, Rhys eventually landed in San Diego, which is a very nice place but seriously needs more rain.

Rhys admits to sharing the house with cats of varying degrees of black fur and a ginger cairn terrorist. Rhys is also enslaved to the upkeep a 1979 Pontiac Firebird, a Toshiba laptop, and an overworked red coffee maker.

Hanging The Stars by Rhys Ford

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review.
This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

hanging-the-starsHanging The Stars: by Rhys Ford
Series:Half Moon Bay #2
Release Date: December 5th, 2016
Pages: 206 • Format: eARC
Published By: Dreamspinner Press
Purchase Links:
DreamspinnerAReAmazon

Angel Daniels grew up hard, one step ahead of the law and always looking over his shoulder. A grifter’s son, he’d learned every con and trick in the book but ached for a normal life. Once out on his own, Angel returns to Half Moon Bay where he once found…and then lost…love.

Now, Angel’s life is a frantic mess of schedules and chaos. Between running his bakery and raising his troubled eleven-year-old half-brother, Roman, Angel has a hectic but happy life. Then West Harris returns to Half Moon Bay and threatens to break Angel all over again by taking away the only home he and Rome ever had.

When they were young, Angel taught West how to love and laugh but when Angel moved on, West locked his heart up and threw away the key. Older and hardened, West returns to Half Moon and finds himself face-to-face with the man he’d lost. Now, West is torn between killing Angel or holding him tight.

But rekindling their passionate relationship is jeopardized as someone wants one or both of them dead, and as the terrifying danger mounts, neither man knows if the menace will bring them together or forever tear them apart.

four-stars

I might be a teeny tiny tad biased. I love Rhys Ford, so I’m always going to fangirl over her writing and books. Hanging the Stars is book 2 in the Half Moon Bay series. This book started off with a bang, and definitely ended with one. I sometimes tell myself that I wish Rhys could write a straight contemporary story with no mystery heavy plot. Well, I do believe she did that with Fish Stick Fridays which I love. But to me Hanging the Stars is so much more contemporary then anything she’s every written in my opinion. I mean, I feel all gooey inside with these two. It was like BAM with the love, romance, and feelings. I’m not complaining, because it’s what I want constantly from her, but I’m shocked. West and Daniels start a relationships after not seeing each other for 10 years. They are each in different places in their lives, but past grievances seems to put them right back where they left off.

“What makes you think I’m not already in love, Just?” Angel whispered. “Because I’ve been in love with him before I even knew his damned name.”

Do you see what I’m saying? That quote was so romantic to me. Angel surprised me the most. I swear, when I started reading this that I didn’t expect him to be so warm & loving. I expected plenty of angst from these two based on how it ended. I mean of course West was a hard ass and didn’t disappoint. My opinion of his has definitely changed from book 1. He’s had years now to form some sort of relationship with Lang, Deacon and Zig. He seems to be a less bitter man. Angel is taking care of his younger brother and trying to show Rome that nothing or no one can come between them or take him away from him either.

It wouldn’t be a Rhys book without an explosion, shooting, or action packed car crash. This one didn’t disappoint. I kinda guessed who the bad guy was after a while. It was a pretty easy process of elimination. I mean, they both went through blood, sweat, and tears in this book. I did have a minor issue with after not seeing, or hearing from one another for so long that as soon as they are in direct contact with one another the passion ignites. I’m not bad at it, but it didn’t seem real. If I didn’t see my first love after ten years, or talk to them but seen them again. I think anger, tears and frustration would be my first reaction. Everyone is different so I digress on this point.

Ford is still able to produce the best side characters as well. Frank, Marzo, and Justin were amazing. I truly loved them, and liked what they were able to do for their respected counterparts. Justin definitely needs a novella or a book soon. I was crushing on him by the end of the story.

West and Angel decide to give this a relationship a go. It’s not the best of times, but waiting seems dumb when someone is trying to kill them obviously. Sure some of these events were a tad bit over the top. But it didn’t stop Angel & West from being together. There relationship moved fast on the page to me, but I do like how Angel & Rome made West a better person. They actually gave him a heart, or something similar that he’s never got. Also liked Lang & West brotherhood progressing. These two are different as night and day, but the love is still there. All in all, I thought this was a pretty enjoyable book. I find myself having super grabby hands when it comes to a Rhys Ford novel. I can never say no, she’s a favorite author of mine for a reason. It can be read as a standalone, but why would you? Fish Stick Fridays is awesome, and everything is better in pairs!

“The truth is, Lang,” Angel whispered, ” your brother hangs the stars in my goddamn sky. It sounds stupid and maybe corny, but when he’s around me, it’s like the night’s full of light. So yeah, I love him. I love him pretty hard.”

About Rhys Ford

Rhys Ford was born and raised in Hawai’i then wandered off to see the world. After chewing through a pile of books, a lot of odd food, and a stray boyfriend or two, Rhys eventually landed in San Diego, which is a very nice place but seriously needs more rain.

Rhys admits to sharing the house with cats of varying degrees of black fur and a ginger cairn terrorist. Rhys is also enslaved to the upkeep a 1979 Pontiac Firebird, a Toshiba laptop, and an overworked red coffee maker.

Mad Lizard Mambo (Kai Gracen #2) by Rhys Ford

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review.
This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Mad Lizard Mambo: by Rhys Ford
Series: Kai Gracen 
Release Date: September 13, 2016
Pages: 220 • Format: eARC
Published By: DSP Publications
Purchase Links:
DSP Publications Amazon

Kai Gracen has no intention of being anyone’s pawn. A pity Fate and SoCalGov have a different opinion on the matter.

Licensed Stalkers make their living hunting down monsters and dangerous criminals… and their lives are usually brief, brutal, and thankless. Despite being elfin and cursed with a nearly immortal lifespan, Kai didn’t expect to be any different. Then Ryder, the High Lord of the Southern Rise Court, arrived in San Diego, Kai’s not-so-mundane life went from mild mayhem to full-throttle chaos.

Now an official liaison between the growing Sidhe Court and the human populace, Kai is at Ryder’s beck and call for anything a High Lord might need a Stalker to do. Unfortunately for Kai, this means chasing down a flimsy rumor about an ancient lost Court somewhere in the Nevada desert—a court with powerful magics that might save Ryder—and Kai’s—people from becoming a bloody memory in their Merged world’s violent history.

The race for the elfin people’s salvation opens unwelcome windows into Kai’s murky past, and it could also slam the door on any future he might have with his own kind and Ryder

four-stars

I think everyone knows, I’d read a pamphlet and gush about it if it was written by Rhys Ford. That’s how I feel about this story. It was good, I might have been semi-emotional at certain points, but Kai will make you do that. This book he had to deal with family big time! Whether it was the nutty bunch or the surrogate family that sculpted him into who he is today. We also got to see Kai’s feelings for Ryder progress. This was super packed with adventure. I mean from page 1 up until the very end. Loved seeing Kai in all his sassy glory, and the twisty turns that the story produced.

One reason why, I’m so enamored with Rhys writing is because she is always able to drawn that emotion out of her characters. Even in a story like this, I found myself misty eyed a time or two. We get to see Kai in all his protective glory this round. Yeah it’s nice to know that he’d go all out his way to protect Dempsey, Jonas, Dali, Sparky and now Ryder. Kai has such a vulnerability about himself, it’s my favorite attribute of his outside of his witty come backs of course.

I don’t miss the romance or the sexual aspect of the relationship. I definitely can see it heading that way, and boy when it hits Kai is going to be super snarky. It’s a slow burn on anything physical between the two. Ryder wants to own Kai. Not in the possession sense, more of showing him how great love can be. I do think Ryder has slowly but surely broke some of Kai’s defenses down, and book 3 is going to give me all the feels when this happens. I’m putting it out in the universe!

I’m not one for world building, but with this story it was all about the descriptions. I loved reading how things were to Kai. The sight, smell, the taste and all of the abstracts that goes into San Diego. I love how Kai fights for his humanity, even when humanity is a giant pile of sh** to him at times. The secondary characters were a great add-in to this adventure. I don’t feel let down at all. I wish Rhys could write a book every 3 months just so I can read her words. I liked this, but I’m not surprised. The woman is bloody talented!!! I definitely recommend this book to everyone, and get book 1 first.

About Rhys Ford

Rhys Ford was born and raised in Hawai’i then wandered off to see the world. After chewing through a pile of books, a lot of odd food, and a stray boyfriend or two, Rhys eventually landed in San Diego, which is a very nice place but seriously needs more rain.

Rhys admits to sharing the house with cats of varying degrees of black fur and a ginger cairn terrorist. Rhys is also enslaved to the upkeep a 1979 Pontiac Firebird, a Toshiba laptop, and an overworked red coffee maker.

Black Dog Blues (Kai Gracen #1) by Rhys Ford

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review.
This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Black Dog Blues: by Rhys Ford
Series: Kai Gracen, Book One 
Release Date: February 3, 2015
Pages: 246 • Format: eARC
Published By: DSP Publications
Purchase Links:
DSP PublicationsAmazon

Ever since being part of the pot in a high-stakes poker game, elfin outcast Kai Gracen figures he used up his good karma when Dempsey, a human Stalker, won the hand and took him in. Following the violent merge of Earth and Underhill, the human and elfin races are left with a messy, monster-ridden world, and Stalkers are the only cavalry willing to ride to someone’s rescue when something shadowy appears.

It’s a hard life but one Kai likes—filled with bounty, a few friends, and most importantly, no other elfin around to remind him of his past. And killing monsters is easy. Especially since he’s one himself.

But when a sidhe lord named Ryder arrives in San Diego, Kai is conscripted to do a job for Ryder’s fledgling Dawn Court. It’s supposed to be a simple run up the coast during dragon-mating season to retrieve a pregnant human woman seeking sanctuary. Easy, quick, and best of all, profitable. But Kai ends up in the middle of a deadly bloodline feud he has no hope of escaping.

No one ever got rich being a Stalker. But then few of them got old either and it doesn’t look like Kai will be the exception.

four-stars

So I originally read this in 2015 and gave it a 3 stars. Back then I was super hesitant to read any Urban Fantasy. I didn’t like all the world building and lack of romance in it. Well 2016, has been my year for Urban Fantasy, thanks to Ilona Andrews “Kate Daniels” series. I love it, and am so wrapped up in UF. I’ve read a few uf series to date. When I saw that Rhys was coming out with a book two in this series, I knew I needed it give it another shot.

I gave it another shot, and loved it the second time around. I love Kai’s sarcasm and super smart mouth. Even through all the hell that he’s been put through, he does right by what Kai standards are. Rhys always provides the guys in her story with some semblance of a role model. Dempsey might not be the best, and he for damn sure ain’t no Claudia but he’s the only father that Kai has. I loved their relationship. Their dynamic is a sure win.

I had the patience this time around to go slow with the world building. It’s not my favorite part of uf stories, but I actually thought the world was another character. I’m not a fan of the fae either. It’s my least favorite out of the cast of characters that can exist under this branch, but Rhys wrote it a way that I understood and appreciate it. I liked the characters alot. Of course I’m team Kai & Ryder. I mean, Kai is an equal opportunity person, so him and Dalia might be super hot together.

As far as the plot went, it was a tad okay for me. I get it, but something felt off. I did feel like the ending was rushed. The entire scene with them in the forest at the end pissed me off big time! They all went in together, and Kai is the only one who suffers. Where was Alexa & Ryder? That made me really mad. It was like a quick 3 day trip for plot wise. I mean the focal point was picking up Shannon and even then this didn’t feel right. Either way, I enjoyed this book the second time around and look forward to book two!

About Rhys Ford

Rhys Ford was born and raised in Hawai’i then wandered off to see the world. After chewing through a pile of books, a lot of odd food, and a stray boyfriend or two, Rhys eventually landed in San Diego, which is a very nice place but seriously needs more rain.

Rhys admits to sharing the house with cats of varying degrees of black fur and a ginger cairn terrorist. Rhys is also enslaved to the upkeep a 1979 Pontiac Firebird, a Toshiba laptop, and an overworked red coffee maker.

Absinthe of Malice by Rhys Ford

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review.
This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

AbsintheofMaliceLGAbsinthe of Malice by Rhys Ford
Series: Sinner’s, Book Five
Release Date: June 22, 2016
Pages: 200 • Format: eARC
Published By: Dreamspinner Press
Purchase Links:
DreamspinnerAmazonARe

We’re getting the band back together.

Those six words send a chill down Miki St. John’s spine, especially when they’re spoken with a nearly religious fervor by his brother-in-all-but-blood, Damien Mitchell. However, those words were nothing compared to what Damien says next.

And we’re going on tour.

When Crossroads Gin hits the road, Damien hopes it will draw them closer together. There’s something magical about being on tour, especially when traveling in a van with no roadies, managers, or lovers to act as a buffer. The band is already close, but Damien knows they can be more—brothers of sorts, bound not only by familial ties but by their intense love for music.

As they travel from gig to gig, the band is haunted by past mistakes and personal demons, but they forge on. For Miki, Damie, Forest, and Rafe, the stage is where they all truly come alive, and the music they play is as important to them as the air they breathe.

But those demons and troubles won’t leave them alone, and with every mile under their belts, the band faces its greatest challenge—overcoming their deepest flaws and not killing one another along the way.

four-stars

Goodness gracious, book 5 in the old sinners and new sinners on the road touring as Crossroad Gin. I really wish people would leave Miki St. John along. Seriously, do they not have private security or common decency. I am starting to get pissed on Miki’s behalf. This book is all about the guys coming together and bonding on the road. For Miki & Damie it’s about returning to their roots. For Rafe it’s his redemption. His Moby Dick if you can say that. And for Forest it’s his self expression and his joy to do. These guys are traveling all over the U.S without their better halves and bonding. They are learning what’s it like to be apart of a new band and learning how to adjust to each other. I did like all the time they have spent together. I like that Rhys was able to get Miki most out of his comfort zone. While the book is in all of their point of views, it’s Miki who is the majority. He is dealing with touring and the accident that caused this. He’s never seeked help, and I think all the walls are crashing in on him.

FFS, seeing him constantly attacked in this story about pissed me off. I usually get pissed when Kane gets all macho on him, but damn someone needs to. Miki hasn’t talked out his past, and everything is building up in him until he explodes. Him coming to the realization that touring isn’t maybe what he wanted right now.

I’d think that four couples sharing the space seemed a bit daunting to begin with. That’s four different couples getting screened time. Yeah I enjoyed Forest and Con the most. Only because Quinn & Rafe got gypped. Yeah, I said it. I loved their time together as small as it was. I’m super proud of Rafe, but prouder of Quinn. Damie & Sionn are right for each other. I do like the Sionn is not overbearing and every easy going.

It’s a mystery/suspense book. I mean, how could it not be. The book does end of with a cliffhanger, and I’m still not sure what is happening. I think it’s more to do with me trying to figure out the whodunit my damn self. I liked the book. It tells me that we have atleast 1 more book for these guys. Looking forward to it.

About Rhys Ford

Rhys Ford was born and raised in Hawai’i then wandered off to see the world. After chewing through a pile of books, a lot of odd food, and a stray boyfriend or two, Rhys eventually landed in San Diego, which is a very nice place but seriously needs more rain.

Rhys admits to sharing the house with cats of varying degrees of black fur and a ginger cairn terrorist. Rhys is also enslaved to the upkeep a 1979 Pontiac Firebird, a Toshiba laptop, and an overworked red coffee maker.

Sloe Ride by Rhys Ford

SloeRideLGSloe Ride by Rhys Ford
Series: Sinner’s, Book Four
Release Date: September 4, 2015
Pages: 246 • Format: eBook
Published By: Dreamspinner Press
Purchase Links:
DreamspinnerAmazonARe

It isn’t easy being a Morgan. Especially when dead bodies start piling up and there’s not a damned thing you can do about it.

Quinn Morgan never quite fit into the family mold. He dreamed of a life with books instead of badges and knowledge instead of law—and a life with Rafe Andrade, his older brothers’ bad boy friend and the man who broke his very young heart.

Rafe Andrade returned home to lick his wounds following his ejection from the band he helped form. A recovering drug addict, Rafe spends his time wallowing in guilt, until he finds himself faced with his original addiction, Quinn Morgan—the reason he fled the city in the first place.

When Rafe hears the Sinners are looking for a bassist, it’s a chance to redeem himself, but as a crazed murderer draws closer to Quinn, Rafe’s willing to sacrifice everything—including himself—to keep his quixotic Morgan safe and sound.

three-stars

Yeah, so that’s my annoyed face.

Just this once, and instance would have I liked the mystery aspect to be gone. I love Rhys. We all know it. I just felt like it needed to be repeated in case someone was doubting My Queen. With that being said; Why were alllll these extra folks in this story? Excuse the eff out of me, but can Quinn & Rafe get some time together. I mean, Damn. I am not happy. I’m not happy with the progression of the plot. Really??? Quinn out of all people. I didn’t find that funny or nice at all. What really is my issue is the “alluded” to story line. I don’t do well with it. You know why? Because I’m not in Rhys fabulous head so I don’t know the issues that we are referring to. I felt like because these are the only two in the series with a background that Quinn should have got prologue as well. It’s nice to see some of Rafe past indiscretions, but Quinn, and everyone else knew things I felt like the reader should have known as well.

No people of Zoolander, I can’t read minds so I’m right along with you with trying to figure out Quinn’s “problems”. Eventually I kinda figured it out and certain things were told. I still feel like the two main characters were cast B in their own story. And again, What the hell, Morgans? I know Quinn is the sensitive soul in the family, but cuddle him much? They didn’t give him space to breathe. I felt protective over him as well. Not one chance was he able to go to someone, instead they descended on him like a flock of birds!!!

**Sidenote** I love the magpie nick name, and the coffee store name!! Rhys is amazing,and her love for my two favorite historic romance mm authors is uber fantastic!!

I can put away all my disdain for the plot, the family, and the illusions, because at the end of the day Quinn & Rafe together were amazing. They fit perfectly. I’m telling you this as a straight contemporary with the mystery would have been freaking amazing.I can feel it. I just know it would be. I liked seeing Rafe get his redemption, and even when it was on the line his first thought was whatever Quinn needed he was first. Gah! They were adorable and that made me happy in the midst of this semi-ranty review. LOL. It wouldn’t be a Rhys book for me without the tears. That conversation Quinn had with his mother left me in tears. Looking forward to the next book. I liked this book, but felt like my guys were second in their own story.

Not cool.

About Rhys Ford

Rhys Ford was born and raised in Hawai’i then wandered off to see the world. After chewing through a pile of books, a lot of odd food, and a stray boyfriend or two, Rhys eventually landed in San Diego, which is a very nice place but seriously needs more rain.

Rhys admits to sharing the house with cats of varying degrees of black fur and a ginger cairn terrorist. Rhys is also enslaved to the upkeep a 1979 Pontiac Firebird, a Toshiba laptop, and an overworked red coffee maker.

Tequila Mockingbird by Rhys Ford

TequilaMockingbirdLGTequila Mockingbird by Rhys Ford
Series: Sinner’s, Book Three
Release Date: June 27, 2014
Pages: 250 • Format: eBook
Published By: Dreamspinner Press
Purchase Links:
DreamspinnerAmazonARe

Lieutenant Connor Morgan of SFPD’s SWAT division wasn’t looking for love. Especially not in a man. His life plan didn’t include one Forest Ackerman, a brown-eyed, blond drummer who’s as sexy as he is trouble. His family depends on him to be like his father, a solid pillar of strength who’ll one day lead the Morgan clan.

No, Connor has everything worked out—a career in law enforcement, a nice house, and a family. Instead, he finds a murdered man while on a drug raid and loses his heart comforting the man’s adopted son. It wasn’t like he’d never thought about men — it’s just loving one doesn’t fit into his plans.

Forest Ackerman certainly doesn’t need to be lusting after a straight cop, even if Connor Morgan is everywhere he looks, especially after Frank’s death. He’s just talked himself out of lusting for the brawny cop when his coffee shop becomes a war zone and Connor Morgan steps in to save him.

Whoever killed his father seems intent on Forest joining him in the afterlife. As the killer moves closer to achieving his goal, Forest tangles with Connor Morgan and is left wondering what he’ll lose first—his life or his heart.

four-stars

Okay so with all the over the top drama happening in this book it still managed to be my favorite of the series so far. Gosh, I wanted to gush all over the place. I love Connor. I mean, I can’t wait for Quinn’s book because he’s calling to me, but in between time I loved Connor. I loved Connor and Donal. Donal resonates with me so much because he reminds me of my Father in Law. The quiet storm of a man, who’s peaceful and comforting when you need him. He doesn’t say much, but when he does it hits you square in the chest. I just enjoyed his talks with his children, and I’m in for tears in Quinn’s book because I expect so much.

“He haunts me, Da. Worse than a sunburn I cannot wait to heal but at the same time tightens my skin so I can’t not feel him. I see him, and I want to touch him, to hold him, because I don’t think he’s been held enough or been told someone cares about him. He’s had a shite hippie who took him in off the streets and who probably loved him but didn’t give him any kind of self.”

Okay now for this book. Jeez Forest!! He’s been through alot, and after all of that he can still laugh. Sure this was very insta-love. The entire series has been insta-love for me. I’m okay with it, not use to it in Rhys books but I’m fine with it. In fact, I love how Connor went to his dad. That conversation about him emulating the man he wanted to become did me in. I was a crying fool. I am happy to see good representation of fathers who love their sons beyond their sexuality. I think Rhys does a good job for her characters who lack their birth parents, by giving them the world’s best surrogate family members. Forest is every type of guy I like to read. He’s broken but willing to get himself back together. He got hurt bad, and no one has been able to love him like Connor as. I felt for Forest because his entire short life is more than what most people go through. I think he was waiting on Connor finding him and loving him that’s all.

I mean he started hooking at a young age with his mother, who was suppose to care for him. In turn her lack of love, led him to Frank. A hippie man who decided he had enough love for Forest. Sure the mystery was alot to deal with. I mean, we never caught a break. Just once I would have liked to see the two spend some time together on page without the destruction in their lives. It worked out sure for everyone, but this moved faster then I expected. I guess I can’t complain much because I read it in one sitting and never looked back. Please book god let Quinn’s story be emotionally painful for me, and let his family gather him up and love him.

About Rhys Ford

Rhys Ford was born and raised in Hawai’i then wandered off to see the world. After chewing through a pile of books, a lot of odd food, and a stray boyfriend or two, Rhys eventually landed in San Diego, which is a very nice place but seriously needs more rain.

Rhys admits to sharing the house with cats of varying degrees of black fur and a ginger cairn terrorist. Rhys is also enslaved to the upkeep a 1979 Pontiac Firebird, a Toshiba laptop, and an overworked red coffee maker.

Whiskey and Wry by Rhys Ford

Whiskey&WryLGWhiskey and Wry by Rhys Ford
Series: Sinner’s, Book Two
Release Date: August 19, 2013
Pages: 254 • Format: eBook
Published By: Dreamspinner Press
Purchase Links:
DreamspinnerAmazonARe

He was dead. And it was murder most foul. If erasing a man’s existence could even be called murder.

When Damien Mitchell wakes, he finds himself without a life or a name. The Montana asylum’s doctors tell him he’s delusional and his memories are all lies: he’s really Stephen Thompson, and he’d gone over the edge, obsessing about a rock star who died in a fiery crash. His chance to escape back to his own life comes when his prison burns, but a gunman is waiting for him, determined that neither Stephen Thompson nor Damien Mitchell will escape.

With the assassin on his tail, Damien flees to the City by the Bay, but keeping a low profile is the only way he’ll survive as he searches San Francisco for his best friend, Miki St. John. Falling back on what kept him fed before he made it big, Damien sings for his supper outside Finnegan’s, an Irish pub on the pier, and he soon falls in with the owner, Sionn Murphy. Damien doesn’t need a complication like Sionn, and to make matters worse, the gunman—who doesn’t mind going through Sionn or anyone else if that’s what it takes kill Damien—shows up to finish what he started.

three-stars

It’s hard for me to wrap my head around me not liking this. I didn’t like the story, and I did not see Damien this way in my head. I can’t comprehend on why he seemed like someone else to me when I haven’t read it, but I never connected with him, the story, and the plot. I liked Sionn, he’s my favorite thing about the story. I did want to know more on him and hist backstory. I feel like I understood bits and pieces surrounding his pass job, but it was like talking in circles about it.

I’m going to be honest with ya’ll as soon as douche-face got a pov I got pissed. What???? Why??? I loathed everything about it, and I’m not certain I understand what happened. I’ve never been so mad at Rhys before then in this book. Trust me, I’m trying to be objective when it comes to reading anything outside of Cole by hers but this was b.s. IMO. I’m sorry, I feel like i’m completing blasphemy for her work, but if you can’t accept my personal feelings we don’t need to be book friends in my head. LOL

I also am not 1000% sure what happened after the accident. That’s still fuzzy and don’t make much sense. It could be I skipped all of douche-face parts and if it’s explained then I am totally lost. Well you say if you didn’t really connect with one of the mc, and didn’t like the story then why three stars? Umm because they writing is still almost flawless in my head, the first 38% might have been kinda boring, but it was entertaining to keep pushing. I will admit the second half was much better but it’s definitely on the bottom pile of books from this author.

About Rhys Ford

Rhys Ford was born and raised in Hawai’i then wandered off to see the world. After chewing through a pile of books, a lot of odd food, and a stray boyfriend or two, Rhys eventually landed in San Diego, which is a very nice place but seriously needs more rain.

Rhys admits to sharing the house with cats of varying degrees of black fur and a ginger cairn terrorist. Rhys is also enslaved to the upkeep a 1979 Pontiac Firebird, a Toshiba laptop, and an overworked red coffee maker.

Sinner’s Gin by Rhys Ford

SinnersGinLGSinner’s Gin by Rhys Ford
Series: Sinner’s, Book One
Release Date: December 24th 2012
Pages: 260 • Format: eBook
Published By: Dreamspinner Press
Purchase Links:
DreamspinnerAmazonARe

There’s a dead man in Miki St. John’s vintage Pontiac GTO, and he has no idea how it got there.

After Miki survives the tragic accident that killed his best friend and the other members of their band, Sinner’s Gin, all he wants is to hide from the world in the refurbished warehouse he bought before their last tour. But when the man who sexually abused him as a boy is killed and his remains are dumped in Miki’s car, Miki fears Death isn’t done with him yet.

Kane Morgan, the SFPD inspector renting space in the art co-op next door, initially suspects Miki had a hand in the man’s murder, but Kane soon realizes Miki is as much a victim as the man splattered inside the GTO. As the murderer’s body count rises, the attraction between Miki and Kane heats up. Neither man knows if they can make a relationship work, but despite Miki’s emotional damage, Kane is determined to teach him how to love and be loved — provided, of course, Kane can catch the killer before Miki becomes the murderer’s final victim.

four-stars

I’ve had this book since 2013, and I finally read it in 2014. Originally I gave it 3.5 stars, and I don’t think I was invested in it all the way because of my love for Cole. I never wanted to give all my love to another character of hers because Cole is special to me. Well fast forward to 2016 and Rhys Ford has me email address BITCHES!!! HA!!! She asked me if I wanted an arc of Absinthe of Malice, and I was playing it cool like sure I’d love a copy. LOL. Internally I was fangirling big time!! I hadn’t read the series so I decided I was going to read the series up until the arc is due. I started reading, and then tearing up for Miki, and then really enjoying this much more then the first go around. I paid attention to more things, and I really like the pacing of the story. I loved the growth of the relationship between Miki and Kane. It was totally special to see Miki open up and trust Kane. He has a history with people doing him wrong, and outside of the band and Edie no one seemed to care about him. My goodness my tears and feelings were all over the place at certain times in this book. Goodness, I didn’t expect my emotions to be like this, but who am I kidding? It’s Rhys Ford.

“Oh Miki love, I more than need you. You’re my temptation. My sin. I’ve got no intentions of being anywhere but next to you. We Irish? We like bathing in our sin.”

Loved the mystery aspect of the story. That’s actually my favorite parts because they mysteries are always well written. This is definitely heavy on the past abuse and features some trigger warnings. Goodness the Morgans are an awesome clan, loved Kel and Casey as well. I liked that Kane didn’t fight his feelings for Miki and even if it was a tad insta love which is a first for me by Rhys I enjoyed it. I liked that Miki couldn’t do anything but accept Kane, his words, those baby blues and that clan. Special place in my heart for Donal for sure!! That ending though, I’m so looking forward to book two now. I need to know what happened.

I kiss him. That’s not something I even thought of before, and now I can’t imagine my life without it.

About Rhys Ford

Rhys Ford was born and raised in Hawai’i then wandered off to see the world. After chewing through a pile of books, a lot of odd food, and a stray boyfriend or two, Rhys eventually landed in San Diego, which is a very nice place but seriously needs more rain.

Rhys admits to sharing the house with cats of varying degrees of black fur and a ginger cairn terrorist. Rhys is also enslaved to the upkeep a 1979 Pontiac Firebird, a Toshiba laptop, and an overworked red coffee maker.