The Long and Winding Road by TJ Klune

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review.
This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

The Long and Winding Road: by T.J. Klune
Series: Bear, Otter and the Kid #4
Release Date: August 11th, 2017
Pages: 346 • Format: eARC
Published By: Dreamspinner
Purchase Links:
DreamspinnerAmazon

Family is not always defined by blood. It’s defined by those who make us whole—those who make us who we are.

And here, at the end, Bear and Otter will be tested like they’ve never been before.

There’s a knock at the door from a little girl who has nowhere else to go.

There’s a phone ringing, bringing news they do not expect.

There’s a brother returning home after learning how to stand on his own.

As these moments converge, all of their lives will change forever.

Beginning in Bear, Otter, and the Kid, and continuing in Who We Are and The Art of Breathing, TJ Klune has told a saga of family and brotherhood, of love and sacrifice. In this final chapter, the events of the past pave the long and winding road toward a future no one could have imagined.

five-stars

 

 

Its been 2 days since finishing this book, and I’m trying to figure out how to conjure Otter out of this alternate universe. With no luck, or help it isn’t happening. I’m a huge fan of Klune, and everyone knows I like his more serious books without the comedy. I enjoy the comedy don’t get me wrong, but the realistic fiction calls to my soul more. When I first laid eyes on this series, I stayed away! Yikes the cover was HIDEOUS for book one. I don’t even recall what I first thought about it. My very first read was Into This River I Drowned and it destroyed me. It broke me into a billions pieces, and I had to reconsider on what covers mean to me. At this point, 2 books in the series were out and three was a few months out. I decided to give it a chance, and its the best thing I’ve ever had to do. Falling in love with this family felt so right. Falling in love with Otter felt so normal Crying, and laughing felt like home. I just re-read the first 3 books leading up to me reading this. Its a series that I know I can’t re-read often for fear of losing that spark that I felt the very first time. I won’t go on and long with poetry about how amazing Klune is. After all he gave me Otter, Gus & Ox. His characters are real, flawed, amazing, and seep so deep down inside you, that you can’t help but to love them.

Reading this book was hard because as much as I loved it, seeing me get close to the 100% was way harder. It was emotional, it was funny, and it made me feel melancholy for a while. Unlike most, I’m happy with the end of this series. I love where they are at. I feel like Bear & Kid have finally found peace and I’m happy with everything they’ve had to go through to get where they are. No part of this journey has been easy. If I could have had any of the support in my life that these two have had, then I’d be happy and content.

The Long and Winding Road is broken up into 3 different parts. Each part literally tears me down. I might love the future part, but the past part definitely affected me more. Seeing the Kid’s situation was so devastating, but it was brilliantly done. It was honest, and truthful. No easy fix, no rainbows or sprinkles. Really gritty, and something that needed to be approached. Love that the overall message is about family. Whether it comes from blood relatives, or people you’ve woven together it only matters that you love one another and look out for the people who’ve always mattered.

Its bittersweet saying goodbye, but I thank T.J. for welcoming these people in my life for the betterment of it. I can peacefully say goodbye to Bear, Otter, Kid, Dominic, Mrs. Paquinn, Creed, Anna and the Rents! I can say goodbye to the future Thompson’s and Millers. I can say goodbye to the earthquakes, laughter, and that little patch of beach. It might not be really goodbye for me, but I’m happy with the ending. So thank you T.J. I totally loved this book and Otter ever more!

signature-fonts

About TJ Klune

When TJ Klune was eight, he picked up a pen and paper and began to write his first story (which turned out to be his own sweeping epic version of the video game Super Metroid—he didn’t think the game ended very well and wanted to offer his own take on it. He never heard back from the video game company, much to his chagrin). Now, two decades later, the cast of characters in his head have only gotten louder, wondering why he has to go to work as a claims examiner for an insurance company during the day when he could just stay home and write.

He lives with a neurotic cat in the middle of the Sonoran Desert. It’s hot there, but he doesn’t mind. He dreams about one day standing at Stonehenge, just so he can say he did.

A Destiny of Dragons by T.J. Klune

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review.
This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

A Destiny of Dragons: by T.J. Klune
Series: Tales from Verania #2
Release Date: June 30th, 2017
Pages: 400 • Format: eARC
Published By: Dreamspinner
Purchase Links:
DreamspinnerAmazon

Once upon a time, the wizard’s apprentice Sam of Wilds got his happily ever after in the arms of his cornerstone, Knight Commander Ryan Foxheart. A year has passed, and while Sam’s been captured five or six more times since then, things are pretty great. His parents are happy, Gary and Tiggy still eat sass for breakfast, Randall is somehow alive despite being older than the gods, the King rules with a gentle hand, Kevin the dragon is as gross as ever, Morgan sighs a lot, Ryan continues to be dashing and immaculate, and Sam is close to convincing Prince Justin they will be best friends forever.

Life is good.

Until it’s not.

Because Vadoma, the leader of the Gypsy clan and Sam’s grandmother, has come to the City of Lockes with a dire prophecy written in the stars: a man of shadows is rising and will consume the world unless Sam faces his destiny and gathers the five dragons of Verania at his side.

And she brings along her second-in-command, a man named Ruv.

Ruv, who Vadoma says is Sam’s true cornerstone.

(The first book in the DESTINY FUCK YEAH! Trilogy (because sometimes, having a destiny is the stupidest thing ever).

 

four-half-stars

 

Highly anticipated sequel to one of the funniest books ever! I swear I will see a page count for Klune at times and groan really loudly. He’s that best friend in my head who is extremely long winded and never knows how to get to the moral of the story quickly. Ha ha! Its Klune, I know with him that I’m going to be put through the ringer before any amount of happiness is warranted. This book was no exception. A lot more emotional then the first. A lot of details about the future of the series is brought up, and yeah that stupid word destiny is here. Sam totally should have been at Hogwarts. He would have killed it. Pay me no mind, its my wishful thinking. Here’s what I had to say!

Its almost a year later and Sam & Ryan are happy. Everyone is well, and the people of Verania are seemingly safe. Its all we can hope for with this crew of misfits. Sam realizes not everything is what it seems. He’s heartbroken by his mentor. Someone he worships, loves and trust. He’s devastated but Sam won’t allow anyone to tell him Ryan isn’t his cornerstone or use that stupid word Destiny against him. Of course, Gary, Tiggy, Ryan and Kevin won’t allow Sam to wallow. They decide that Sam is going to be just fine and surround him with love. I don’t know if I trust Vadoma or Ruv. I’m keeping my eyes open on those two. I like the gathering of the 5 dragons and determining if Sam is going to stay on the righteous path. Very Lord of the Rings and that’s a plus. With Kevin being, Kevin I didn’t know what to kind of dragon to expect.

ZERO!!! Oh my goodness. I loved him and wanted to cry at the same damn time. I must do emo people justice because he was such a breathe of fresh depressing air. I really enjoyed him as a character and those moments when it was just Sam and him were some of my absolute favorite. For all the joy, happiness, and laughter at times it does feel out of place. He created this wonderful character in Zero and I cannot wait for the next book to see more of him.

This journey is a lonely one for Sam. Sure he has his people with him, but so many secrets he is keeping and I’m wondering what is his boiling point going to be. He is sure to explode and most likely do some damage to the folks around him, but it wouldn’t be a me against the world trope if it was. Klune’s way with words gets better and better as I read them. Yes its humor, and jokes. Its more then that in this book. It is putting the joys of all before the love of one person. They can never say Sam isn’t about his country. Even if said country is lead by a bunch of idiots and that heifer Tina DeSilva!

If I’ve said it once, then I’ll say it again Klune is a wizard at his craft. He is able to gather all these emotions within his readers and I don’t think it has anything to do with the genre. Its his pen game as simple as that. I’m a fan for life. I cannot wait for more writing this year, and equally dreading the last BOatK book 4! Its not about that right now! Highly recommend, and go read the book people!

signature-fonts

About TJ Klune

When TJ Klune was eight, he picked up a pen and paper and began to write his first story (which turned out to be his own sweeping epic version of the video game Super Metroid—he didn’t think the game ended very well and wanted to offer his own take on it. He never heard back from the video game company, much to his chagrin). Now, two decades later, the cast of characters in his head have only gotten louder, wondering why he has to go to work as a claims examiner for an insurance company during the day when he could just stay home and write.

He lives with a neurotic cat in the middle of the Sonoran Desert. It’s hot there, but he doesn’t mind. He dreams about one day standing at Stonehenge, just so he can say he did.

Olive Juice by T.J. Klune

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review.
This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Olive Juice: by T.J. Klune
Release Date: April 26th, 2017
Pages: 121 • Format: eARC
Published By: Dreamspinner Press
Purchase Links:
Dreamspinner

It begins with a message that David cannot ignore:

I want to see you.

He agrees, and on a cold winter’s night, David and Phillip will come together to sift through the wreckage of the memory of a life no longer lived.

David is burdened, carrying with him the heavy guilt of the past six years upon his shoulders.

Phillip offers redemption.

 

four-stars

 

Olive Juice is as real as any story. It’s about love, forgiveness, and facing the odds with one another.

I don’t know how to categorize this story. Its to be noted that I would not classify this as a Romance. It’s not a romance in the general sense of word. At the ending I felt a little bereaved on their part, and a little aggravated. These are my feelings, and I expected for the content to leave me in a blubbering mess. I expected to be so overwhelmed with grief and agony that i couldn’t do anything but lay in a ball on the bed.

I did not cry. Not one iota of a tear escaped these ducts. I didn’t see the big reveal coming. I liked the twist. What I didn’t like was the one pov, and it felt a little repetitive at times. I’m a Klune fan, and I ride hard for him. With that being said sometimes his books don’t work well with I. In this case, with the punch that it packed it just didn’t move it. I don’t even know if I like it or not. I like the story line, and I liked the outcome, but don’t know if I like the characters that were here.

This is a book that you will have to read on your own. Form your own opinions, because I can see people loving this and crying, and I can also see people liking the writing, but not really the story. My rating is all about the writing, and the plot. Not really the characters or the overall feel of it.

 

signature-fonts

About TJ Klune

When TJ Klune was eight, he picked up a pen and paper and began to write his first story (which turned out to be his own sweeping epic version of the video game Super Metroid—he didn’t think the game ended very well and wanted to offer his own take on it. He never heard back from the video game company, much to his chagrin). Now, two decades later, the cast of characters in his head have only gotten louder, wondering why he has to go to work as a claims examiner for an insurance company during the day when he could just stay home and write.

He lives with a neurotic cat in the middle of the Sonoran Desert. It’s hot there, but he doesn’t mind. He dreams about one day standing at Stonehenge, just so he can say he did.

Until You by T.J. Klune

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review.
This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Until You: by T.J. Klune
Series:At First Sight #3
Release Date: February 27, 2017
Pages: 149 • Format: eARC
Published By: Dreamspinner Press
Purchase Links:
Dreamspinner • AmazonKobo

Sequel to The Queen & the Homo Jock King

Together with their families and friends

Paul Auster

and

Vincent Taylor

request the honor of your company at the celebration of their marriage.

 

four-stars

 

Well now, this is the end of an era. Not really. Atleast I don’t think so. LOL. What can I say? I first want to say thank you to T.J. Klune for writing these amazing stories with these amazing characters. Thanks for the tears, the laughter, the emotionally eating, and for the swoon that comes after. I really am a fan of your craft, and I sincerely thank you.

Sexy Paul is ah-mazing! I don’t think I laughed this hard in a very long time. He was hilarious, and I swear I could picture every bit of those shenanigans in my head. The time has come for Paul & Vince to get married, and well it would be this crew without OTT situations happening. Paul & Vince are more in love then ever. I loved the opening sequence of Paul pov. It was funny. I can’t say that enough.

Vince is Vince, until Vince blows you away. His vows were spectacular and I didn’t think he had them so eloquently in him. I was surprised, but I should not have doubted him. I loved his little speech to Paul’s family, and year it brought a few tears to my eyes. Loved seeing the growth of each character in this series. It has come full circle for most of them. I really hope a certain couple get a story, I mean I think that little nugget at the end wasn’t enough. I definitely need to see what happens next.

All in all, I think this was a really good story. I laughed and really enjoyed seeing them all again. I think they are at peace with themselves and have all the happiness that they could. T.J. did a really good job, and I can’t wait for more of his work. A definite recommend for fans of this series!

About TJ Klune

When TJ Klune was eight, he picked up a pen and paper and began to write his first story (which turned out to be his own sweeping epic version of the video game Super Metroid—he didn’t think the game ended very well and wanted to offer his own take on it. He never heard back from the video game company, much to his chagrin). Now, two decades later, the cast of characters in his head have only gotten louder, wondering why he has to go to work as a claims examiner for an insurance company during the day when he could just stay home and write.

He lives with a neurotic cat in the middle of the Sonoran Desert. It’s hot there, but he doesn’t mind. He dreams about one day standing at Stonehenge, just so he can say he did.

Murmuration by T.J. Klune

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review.
This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

tjkMurmuration: by T.J. Klune
Release Date: October 28, 2016
Pages: 324 • Format: eARC
Published By: Dreamspinner Press
Purchase Links:
DreamspinnerAmazonARe

In the small mountain town of Amorea, it’s stretching toward autumn of 1954. The memories of a world at war are fading in the face of a prosperous future. Doors are left unlocked at night, and neighbors are always there to give each other a helping hand.

The people here know certain things as fact:

Amorea is the best little town there is.

The only good Commie is a dead Commie.

The Women’s Club of Amorea runs the town with an immaculately gloved fist.

And bookstore owner Mike Frazier loves that boy down at the diner, Sean Mellgard. Why they haven’t gotten their acts together is anybody’s guess. It may be the world’s longest courtship, but no one can deny the way they look at each other.

Slow and steady wins the race, or so they say.

But something’s wrong with Mike. He hears voices in his house late at night. There are shadows crawling along the walls, and great clouds of birds overhead that only he can see.

Something’s happening in Amorea. And Mike will do whatever he can to keep the man he loves.

 

three-half-stars

**a bunch of rambling thoughts to proceed**

There’s not much you can say without spoiling the book for everyone. That’s not me, and even if I wanted to spoil it, I don’t know what to say. It’s been a 1 1/2 days since I’ve read it and I’m not certain how I feel. I feel a lot of things but I don’t can’t really get the words out. T.J. said this was his most romantic book. I can see that, and then I hate him for it. Kudos to myself for figuring it out.

 

I want to say for 98% of the story I felt unsure. It was something going on in the pit of my stomach the entire time. I couldn’t put my finger on it, but I was scared. I was scared for the MC’s and the unknown. I don’t know how I feel about the story. I enjoyed the writing as usual. It’s T.J., it’s why I like him so much. The story itself leaves me feeling blue. It’s depressing in a sense, it’s not happiness. I can’t say at any moment in the book did I feel joy. I’m left with a ton of questions, and maybe that’s good. I do like how T.J. left certain things open to interpretation in my opinion. I mean, I’d like to think a certain situation went one way but he wrote it another without the definitive of answering questions.

I’m at a complete lost of words and don’t want to continue rambling on. I can’t say anything without spoiling it. It’s a really well written book. I don’t know if I’d classify it as a romance. Romance does happen but I think it’s subjective by the end of the story. I do tell you one thing, TJ writes some spooky, intense reads. This makes me want to go read How To Be A Normal Person all over again so I can be happy!

About TJ Klune

When TJ Klune was eight, he picked up a pen and paper and began to write his first story (which turned out to be his own sweeping epic version of the video game Super Metroid—he didn’t think the game ended very well and wanted to offer his own take on it. He never heard back from the video game company, much to his chagrin). Now, two decades later, the cast of characters in his head have only gotten louder, wondering why he has to go to work as a claims examiner for an insurance company during the day when he could just stay home and write.

He lives with a neurotic cat in the middle of the Sonoran Desert. It’s hot there, but he doesn’t mind. He dreams about one day standing at Stonehenge, just so he can say he did.

Wolfsong by TJ Klune

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review.
This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

WolfsongLGWolfsong by TJ Klune
Release Date: June 20, 2016
Pages: 400 • Format: eARC
Published By: Dreamspinner Press
Purchase Links:
DreamspinnerAmazon ARe

Ox was twelve when his daddy taught him a very valuable lesson. He said that Ox wasn’t worth anything and people would never understand him. Then he left.

Ox was sixteen when he met the boy on the road, the boy who talked and talked and talked. Ox found out later the boy hadn’t spoken in almost two years before that day, and that the boy belonged to a family who had moved into the house at the end of the lane.

Ox was seventeen when he found out the boy’s secret, and it painted the world around him in colors of red and orange and violet, of Alpha and Beta and Omega.

Ox was twenty-three when murder came to town and tore a hole in his head and heart. The boy chased after the monster with revenge in his bloodred eyes, leaving Ox behind to pick up the pieces.

It’s been three years since that fateful day—and the boy is back. Except now he’s a man, and Ox can no longer ignore the song that howls between them.

four-half-stars

Crying in the first 10% is always a good sign. I love T.J. and he did a shifter story has made me so freaking ecstatic!!! I love his writing, and I always refer to him as two writing settings. It’s either humor, or serious. I love the serious side more. I would categorize this as serious. It had its funny moments, but overall between the tears, tears, tears and the AMOUNT of ANGST it was a ridiculously good shifter story. I don’t know much more to say then what everyone else is raving about.

“Rawr and grr and kaboom?”
“And the smells!” he cried.
“Can’t forget about those,” the man next to her said faintly. “Candy canes and pine cones and epic awesome.”

It’s a really good story, and by now if you are use to T.J. and his stories you know he’s long winded. Sometimes it is repetitive. I’d like to think he does it to invoke certain emotions in us during that scene. Or that is how I like to state to myself. His writing is great as usual, and I like the spurts of humor that’s involved in it. These are some really great characters. Ox and Joe have wiggled their way into my heart through love,anger and loyalty. I can say this has been one of the most physical books from T.J. He doesn’t do passion, and steamy sex. I’m fine with that, because I love his stories, but this was a different side to him. I really liked it.

I won’t go on and on about my utter disdain for the separation between the two. Some times people need to separate in order to make it last in the long run. But J.H.Christ, I literally felt like I was dying. It was such an emotional moment for me. The tale that T.J wove was so different from other shifter stories, but has some of the classic originals that I love. The entire mate trope is a favorite of mine, and seeing Joe & Ox at a young age until they got older was anguish on my part but so much love throughout the end. I really am stuck for words, so many people have loved this already and everything that I can say is most likely already done. I loved all the characters, I even liked the cheesy cartoon villain and his nerve for extended monologues. I’ve highlighted the crap out of this book. I think the quote above has stuck with me the most. It’s the most coolest way to describe someone you are destined to be. I will say bring tissues!!! Lot’s of Kleenex but you go through an emotional journey as usual reading his books. I love him for it.

About TJ Klune

When TJ Klune was eight, he picked up a pen and paper and began to write his first story (which turned out to be his own sweeping epic version of the video game Super Metroid—he didn’t think the game ended very well and wanted to offer his own take on it. He never heard back from the video game company, much to his chagrin). Now, two decades later, the cast of characters in his head have only gotten louder, wondering why he has to go to work as a claims examiner for an insurance company during the day when he could just stay home and write.

He lives with a neurotic cat in the middle of the Sonoran Desert. It’s hot there, but he doesn’t mind. He dreams about one day standing at Stonehenge, just so he can say he did.

Withered + Sere by TJ Klune

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review.
This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

o-withered-sere (1)Withered + Sere by TJ Klune
Series: Immemorial Year
Release Date: April 19, 2016
Pages: 280 • Format: eARC
Published By: DSP Publications
Purchase Links:
DSP • Amazon • ARe

Once upon a time, humanity could no longer contain the rage that swelled within, and the world ended in a wave of fire.

One hundred years later, in the wasteland formerly known as America, a broken man who goes only by the name of Cavalo survives. Purposefully cutting himself off from what remains of civilization, Cavalo resides in the crumbling ruins of the North Idaho Correctional Institution. A mutt called Bad Dog and a robot on the verge of insanity comprise his only companions. Cavalo himself is deteriorating, his memories rising like ghosts and haunting the prison cells.

It’s not until he makes the dangerous choice of crossing into the irradiated Deadlands that Cavalo comes into contact with a mute psychopath, one who belongs to the murderous group of people known as the Dead Rabbits. Taking the man prisoner, Cavalo is forced not only to face the horrors of his past, but the ramifications of the choices made for his stark present. And it is in the prisoner that he will find a possible future where redemption is but a glimmer that darkly shines.

The world has died.

This is the story of its remains.

three-stars

So here’s the thing, everyone knows I’m a TJ Klune fan. I love his work. How To Be A Normal Person has bumped itself up to my favorite book by him. I don’t even know how that happened. Otter is still one of my favorite people in the world. He exists and I won’t stop searching until I found him. When I saw the blurb and cover for this I was immediately hooked. The cover is so beautiful. I couldn’t quite guess what the title meant. I had to think could T.J. pull off a dark novel? I mean he’s known for taking us apart with his emotional reads, and he’s down right hilarious with the sputtering characters. I didn’t know if he could right my kind of Dark. TO me Dark is the end of despair and humanity. It’s when there’s nothing else to live for, and all you got is yourself and maybe a select person that you care enough about for them not to die. I enjoyed the premise of the story, and Bad Dog and S.I.R.S are good characters. I loved them. I loved the opposite of every Dystopian story I read about the Dead Rabbits.

TJ’s world that he build was destroyed almost hundreds of years ago. I loved the opening sequence on how the world ended. As usual he’s very spot on with his words. He’s able to bring you into the scene like you are there. Years later and the world is a gray land with little to no sun. Everyone is trying to survive. We have our Hero Cavalo. He’s the main focus in the book. Him along with Bad Dog (a dog which only he communicates with) are traipsing through the world at their own pace. So many things happened in the story that I enjoyed and other things that I felt didn’t fit into the world. I will say reading about Cavalo and trying to gauge his lunacy or the past and present was a headache.It made me feel like I was on a tidal wave and couldn’t get off. I never really adapted to him. I understand all his shortcomings and why he was the way he is, but he didn’t work for me. It should be warned that this is not a romance story. I knew it going in and I’m okay with it. I can see how it’s set up for book two. There is definitely a cliffhanger at the end. I liked this book, and it wasn’t what I was expecting but hopefully book two leads into the gory stuff for me.

About TJ Klune

When TJ Klune was eight, he picked up a pen and paper and began to write his first story (which turned out to be his own sweeping epic version of the video game Super Metroid—he didn’t think the game ended very well and wanted to offer his own take on it. He never heard back from the video game company, much to his chagrin). Now, two decades later, the cast of characters in his head have only gotten louder, wondering why he has to go to work as a claims examiner for an insurance company during the day when he could just stay home and write.

He lives with a neurotic cat in the middle of the Sonoran Desert. It’s hot there, but he doesn’t mind. He dreams about one day standing at Stonehenge, just so he can say he did.

The Queen & the Homo Jock King by TJ Klune

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review.
This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Queen&theHomeJockKing[The]LGThe Queen & the Homo Jock King by TJ Klune
Series: Tell Me It’s Real
Release Date: February 29, 2016
Pages: 350 • Format: eARC
Published By: Dreamspinner Press
Purchase Links:
DreamspinnerAmzaonARe

Do you believe in love at first sight?

Sanford Stewart sure doesn’t. In fact, he pretty much believes in the exact opposite, thanks to the Homo Jock King. It seems Darren Mayne lives for nothing more than to create chaos in Sandy’s perfectly ordered life, just for the hell of it. Sandy despises him, and nothing will ever change his mind.

Or so he tells himself.

It’s not until the owner of Jack It—the club where Sandy performs as drag queen Helena Handbasket—comes to him with a desperate proposition that Sandy realizes he might have to put his feelings about Darren aside. Because Jack It will close unless someone can convince Andrew Taylor, the mayor of Tucson, to keep it open.

Someone like Darren, the mayor’s illegitimate son.

The foolproof plan is this: seduce Darren and push him to convince his father to renew Jack It’s contract with the city.

Simple, right?

Wrong.

three-half-stars

Once again we are introduced to the crew from Tuscon, Arizona. We met Sandy/Helena & Darren in the first book Tell Me It’s Real. I thought book one was okay. I was interested in the history and the enemies to lovers trope these too have going on. Or I should say The Queen + The Homo Jock King. I really liked the title and cover. It was definitely a step up from book one cover-gadden. This one picks up shortly after book one. I really liked Sandy’s character. I get why he and Paul were friends. Lord have mercy can these boys tell a story. It’s long-winded and heavily dramatic. I think Sandy found the perfect guy to be with him though. Darren gives and tosses back out everything that Sandy does.

Right from the beginning I was laughing. That’s one thing T.J. guarantees for his audience. You will laugh, sure you might cry but you will always smile and laugh. The story starts with how Sandy become Helena Handbasket. I loved the journey Sandy showed us from his early days to the cause that he was fighting towards the end. Sandy is a very colorful person. Helena scenes stole the show darling. I loved her scenes. She was so fierce, powerful, protective and down right nasty. I loved it though. She reminded me of a man-eater. Darren & Helena epicness between the two. I kinda figured out the problems between the two in the past, so it makes sense that Sandy would have reservations about him.

The story was okay for me, but it lacked something that I couldn’t put my finger on. It was funny at times, and down right nasty, but the passion that T.J. writes with wasn’t there for me. I was happy to see some familiar characters and some new characters. I pride myself on not spoiling books, so I can’t give the plot away but seeing the enemies to lovers play out was my highlight of the story. Maybe that’s it, I didn’t feel like the main couple had enough screen time to me. It’s a pretty long book, but I wanted more of Sandy & Darren together. I love T.J. and will continue to read anything he writes.

About TJ Klune

When TJ Klune was eight, he picked up a pen and paper and began to write his first story (which turned out to be his own sweeping epic version of the video game Super Metroid—he didn’t think the game ended very well and wanted to offer his own take on it. He never heard back from the video game company, much to his chagrin). Now, two decades later, the cast of characters in his head have only gotten louder, wondering why he has to go to work as a claims examiner for an insurance company during the day when he could just stay home and write.

He lives with a neurotic cat in the middle of the Sonoran Desert. It’s hot there, but he doesn’t mind. He dreams about one day standing at Stonehenge, just so he can say he did.

How To Be A Normal Person by T.J. Klune

How To Be A Normal Person by T.J. Kluneon 2015-10-16
Pages: 290
(Website, Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads)
Gustavo Tiberius is not normal. He knows this. Everyone in his small town of Abby, Oregon, knows this. He reads encyclopedias every night before bed. He has a pet ferret called Harry S. Truman. He owns a video rental store that no one goes to. His closest friends are a lady named Lottie with drag queen hair and a trio of elderly Vespa riders known as the We Three Queens.  Gus is not normal. And he's fine with that. All he wants is to be left alone. Until Casey, an asexual stoner hipster and the newest employee at Lottie’s Lattes, enters his life. For some reason, Casey thinks Gus is the greatest thing ever. And maybe Gus is starting to think the same thing about Casey, even if Casey is obsessive about Instagramming his food. But Gus isn’t normal and Casey deserves someone who can be. Suddenly wanting to be that someone, Gus steps out of his comfort zone and plans to become the most normal person ever. After all, what could possibly go wrong?
five-stars

5 stars!!!!!

#dead
#epicromance
#iwantmyowngusandcasey
#inductmeintothewethreegang
#turningmyhubbyintoahipster
#grumpygus
#whencanivisit

If I could write my entire review in hash tags I would, but I can’t. I was very hesitant to read this book. I kept going back to look at it. I’m not a fan of funny T.J., this is what I thought. I’ve been known to be wrong before, and I’m so going back to read TMIR real soon. I hadn’t pre-ordered the book at all. In fact I won a free book from DSP, thanks Twitter and decided to use it on this. I thought it was going to be all humor and no feels something I want from him. I like the overwrought emotional reads. Hello I’m a masochist when it comes to Mr. Klune’s books. Well we had this amazing amount of humor and those moments of the feels were minuscule compared to everything else but Jeez they produced a few tears. It was those thought closing emotions that would pop at during those Pastor Tommy moments. Goodness I couldn’t handle it.

It no sex in this book, and I did not care at all. I mean, it’s all about the connection between gorgeous Casey and sputtering Gus. I shall learn how to sputter from here on out!!! The writing is classic him, and damn he just don’t know he has created a superfan out of him. I live out the days wondering what he is doing now.

The characters are effin great man. I had no idea what is a so called hipster. I mean I guess I know a few of these people but that damn man bun makes me want to shave Jace head why he is sleep and contact Comcast to start a war on the internet and the idiosyncrasies that’s there! I can’t even remember what else I wanted to write. I’m so going to ship them so hard.

P.S.
Casey is a fan of my favorite movie! I think I found the perfect Casey dude just needs tattoos!



#Gusey!!!!

About TJ Klune

When TJ Klune was eight, he picked up a pen and paper and began to write his first story (which turned out to be his own sweeping epic version of the video game Super Metroid—he didn’t think the game ended very well and wanted to offer his own take on it. He never heard back from the video game company, much to his chagrin). Now, two decades later, the cast of characters in his head have only gotten louder, wondering why he has to go to work as a claims examiner for an insurance company during the day when he could just stay home and write.

He lives with a neurotic cat in the middle of the Sonoran Desert. It’s hot there, but he doesn’t mind. He dreams about one day standing at Stonehenge, just so he can say he did.

Bear, Otter, and the Kid (Bear, Otter, and the Kid, Book 1) by T.J. Klune

Bear, Otter, and the Kid (Bear, Otter, and the Kid, Book 1) by T.J. KluneSeries: and the Kid, Bear, Otter
on August 11th, 2011
Pages: 350 pages
AmazonNarrator: Sean Crisden
(Website, Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads)
Three years ago, Bear McKenna’s mother took off for parts unknown with her new boyfriend, leaving Bear to raise his six-year-old brother Tyson, aka the Kid. Somehow they’ve muddled through, but since he’s totally devoted to the Kid, Bear isn’t actually doing much living—with a few exceptions, he’s retreated from the world, and he’s mostly okay with that. Until Otter comes home.

Otter is Bear’s best friend’s older brother, and as they’ve done for their whole lives, Bear and Otter crash and collide in ways neither expect. This time, though, there’s nowhere to run from the depth of emotion between them. Bear still believes his place is as the Kid’s guardian, but he can’t help thinking there could be something more for him in the world... something or someone.
three-stars

This audiobook was 200 pages too long. I came in really excited because of the kid angle and I got a book of 5 matyrs.

17 year old Derek “Bear” as his baby brother Tyson couldn’t pronounce Derek came home one day to find a note for his mother. She was leaving with her latest loser boyfriend for parts unknown. Since the loser didn’t want her kids, she was leaving Tyson “Ty” in Bear’s care. She had the presence of mind to print ouf a power of attorney form from the internet, and signed it (though it was incorrectly executed). Then she so graciously left him $137.50…but drained Bear’s bank account because she and loser needed start up money.

Luckily Bear was turning 18 in a couple of weeks, and had been planning to go away to college. Now he was stuck with an 8 year old boy and he was petrified. Thus began Bear’s journey as “Brother-parent” as well as finding himself as a man. Luckily, he had some friends who stood by him and pitched in where they could. Bear’s best friend Creed, Creed’s older brother Otter, Anna–Bear’s girlfriend, Mrs. Paquin, Bear’s neighbor all became an adopted family that rallied around Bear and Ty. In the process Otter became more than a best friend’s older brother too.

I don’t know if there was much that I really enjoyed except Otter’s longsuffering and patience. He was awesome. I actually liked the kid too. I mean seriously, how many 8 year olds religious watch Anderson Cooper and are vegetarians based solely on his own research into animal cruelty. He was wise beyond his age.

What I didn’t like: Everyone was a matyr..well except for his deadbeat mother. Also, there was a lot of flashback, going from first person narrative to third person and a lot of monologue. This story could have been told in 150-200 pages. It was way too long. It wasn’t angsty at all. It was just meh for me. I wouldn’t be reading book 2.

About TJ Klune

When TJ Klune was eight, he picked up a pen and paper and began to write his first story (which turned out to be his own sweeping epic version of the video game Super Metroid—he didn’t think the game ended very well and wanted to offer his own take on it. He never heard back from the video game company, much to his chagrin). Now, two decades later, the cast of characters in his head have only gotten louder, wondering why he has to go to work as a claims examiner for an insurance company during the day when he could just stay home and write.

He lives with a neurotic cat in the middle of the Sonoran Desert. It’s hot there, but he doesn’t mind. He dreams about one day standing at Stonehenge, just so he can say he did.