Dark Skye (Immortals After Dark #14) by Kresley Cole

Dark Skye (Immortals After Dark #14) by Kresley ColeSeries: Immortals After Dark #14
on 2014-08-05
Pages: 432
AmazonB&NNarrator: Robert Petkoff
In this highly anticipated fifteenth novel in the Immortals After Dark series, #1 New York Times bestselling author Kresley Cole spins a sultry tale of a mighty warrior scarred inside and out and the beguiling sorceress with the power to heal him—or vanquish him forever.Eternal ObsessionAs a boy, Thronos, prince of Skye Hall, loved Lanthe, a mischievous Sorceri girl who made him question everything about his Vrekener clan. But when the two got caught in the middle of their families’ war, tragedy struck, leaving Thronos and Lanthe bitter enemies. Though centuries have passed, nothing can cool his seething need for the beautiful enchantress who scarred his body—and left an even deeper impression on his soul.Endless YearningLanthe, a once-formidable sorceress struggling to reclaim her gifts, searches for love and acceptance with all the wrong immortal suitors. But she’s never forgotten Thronos, the magnificent silver-eyed boy who protected her until she was ripped from the shelter of his arms. One harrowing night changed everything between them. Now he’s a notorious warlord with a blood vendetta against Lanthe, hunting her relentlessly.Can the heat of desire burn brighter than vengeance?With their families locked in conflict and battles raging all around them, will Thronos and Lanthe succumb to the brutal chaos that threatens everything they cherish? Or will the fragile bond they formed so long ago spark a passion strong enough to withstand even the darkest doubts?

This one is not among my top 5 in this series. It was good but I have had way better in this series.
Thronos and Melanthe were introduced in book 6, Kiss of a Demon King, I had wondered about this two.

Thronos and Lanthe were childhood best friends. The Vrekener prince and the sorceri were not supposed to hang out, but Thronos would sneak to Lanthe as often as he could. When the Vrekeners slaughtered the Sorceri, Lanthe couldn’t forgive Thronos, and so even though she knew he was her fated one, she ran from Thronos.

Of course when Nix started maneuvering everyone to that jail were Declan and the Order imprisoned the Lore creatures, Nix directed Thronos there so he could find Lanthe.

Then the next 8 hours of the book was full of bickering and it just got of my nerves after all. It wasn’t even good banter. It lasted way to long so by the time they got lovey dovey, it was anti-climatic for me. I didn’t like Lanthe as much as I liked Sabine. But I liked Thronos and I felt that he had genuine beef with Lanthe’s looseness. I supported his gripes and I felt him. If the author took off just a little of the animosity and mistrust, this reunion of childhood friends would have been sweeter.

MacRieve (Immortals After Dark #13) by Kresley Cole

MacRieve (Immortals After Dark #13) by Kresley ColeSeries: Immortals After Dark #13
on 2013-07-02
Pages: 358
AmazonB&NNarrator: Robert Petkoff
 A BEAST IN TORMENT: Uilleam MacRieve believed he’d laid to rest the ghosts of his boyhood. But when a brutal torture revives those ancient agonies and destroys his Lykae instinct, the proud Scot craves the oblivion of death. Until he finds her—a young human so full of spirit and courage that she pulls him back from the brink.

A BEAUTY IN CHAINS: Seized for the auction block, Chloe Todd is forced to enter a terrifying new world of monsters and lore as a bound slave. When offered up to creatures of the dark, she fears she won’t last the night. Until she’s claimed by him—a wicked immortal with heartbreaking eyes, whose touch sets her blood on fire.

A FULL MOON ON THE RISE: With enemies circling, MacRieve spirits Chloe away to the isolated Highland keep of his youth. But once he takes her to his bed, his sensual mate becomes something more than human, evoking his savage past and testing his sanity. On the cusp of the full moon, can he conquer his worst nightmare to save Chloe…from himself?

Ulieam “William” MacRieve had been trying to outrun painful events in his past that cost him his parents. Along with his twin Munro, Will had finally began muddling his way through until he scents his mate Chloe. Chloe Todd is the daughter of General Webb, the most hated enemy of the Lore, as the general leads THE ORDER. Webb had totrured William, and now fate has dealt him this rough hand.

It’s hard explaining further without giving away part of the plait. But I enjoy this series and how Nix continues to maneuver or manipulate everyone like pieces on her personal chess board. I also liked how both characters had to work to develop trust even though the attraction was definitely there in spades. I am amazed at how Kresley Cole continues to keep the story fresh even though the timeline coincidences with other HEAs in this series. I have found that lykae and demons are my favorite heroes in this series, with Lothaire being the exception as his book blew me away. I can’t wait for Dark Skye.

Lothaire (Immortals After Dark, 12) by Kresley Cole

Lothaire (Immortals After Dark, 12) by Kresley ColeSeries:
on 2012-01-10
Pages: 480
AmazonB&NNarrator: Robert Petkoff
ALL FEAR THE ENEMY OF OLD Driven by his insatiable need for revenge, Lothaire, the Lore’s most ruthless vampire, plots to seize the Horde’s crown by offering up the soul of his lovely new captive, Elizabeth Peirce. Yet the young human soon tempts him beyond reason.

A DEADLY FORCE DWELLS WITHIN HER Ellie Peirce’s life was a living hell—even before an evil immortal abducted her. Though he plans to sacrifice her, the vampire seems to ache for her touch, showering her with sexual pleasure. In a bid to save her soul, she surrenders her body, while vowing to protect her heart.

CENTURIES OF COLD INDIFFERENCE SHATTERED In one month, Lothaire must choose between a millennia-old blood vendetta and his irresistible prisoner. Will he succumb to the miseries of his past . . . or risk everything for a future with her?

This book had it all, drama, love, fighting, humor etc. I really loved the audio. I wonder if Robert Petkoff would marry me if I emailed him. What a ride. I never thought Robert Petkoff could do this to me, but I couldn’t even sleep because I had to keep listening. His deliver and humor was amazing. I had always hated Lothaire, but the author and narrator redeemed him.

I was laughing so much in this book. Thank you for giving Lothaire a strong willed a Heroine like Ellie. She gave him all he could handle. This book deserves 6 stars and is the best book I’ve listened to this year!

Lothaire Daciano has been a villian throughout this series. He is ruthless and sneaky and completely selfish. All he cares about is securing the Crown of the Horde as his mother and him were banished by his father King Stefanovich, thus denying him his birthright. Also, Lothaire holds a grudge against his mother’s people, the Dacians and so he plans on uniting both kingdoms under his rule.

In his book, we find Lothaire trying to save his “goddess queen” Saroya whose spirit was cursed to jump from host to host, and has been residing in Elizabeth “Ellie” Pierce since Ellie was 16 years old. Ellie is a strong host so Saroya is planning on keeping the body but banishing Ellie’s spirit. As Lothaire works to get the spell to quench Ellie’s spirit, he gets to know Ellie, the country girl from Applachian, and finds himself captivated by her red neck ways. Soon he has to decide between Ellie and Saroya, who will keep Ellie’s body.

This book was full of great retorts. I will only list a couple of my favorites. The narrators deliver was AMAZING!

Lothaire: “First of all, I’m not narcissistic…I know Narkissos of Thespiae—while we might share traits, I came first, so he’s Lothairistic, not the other way around”

Lothaire experiences dreams of the people he has drank from. After he drank Elizabeth’s blood:      Elizabeth: “will you dream mine?”…
Lothaire: ”Hmm, cannot wait for fond remembrances of squirrel stew around the trailer hearth”

This book is a must if you enjoy the IAD series, I can’t believe the author made me root for Lothaire, this fiend, and really feel his pain. What a great redemption and what a journey to regain what was denied him all these centuries. In case you didn’t get it before, I LOVE THIS BOOK.

Dreams of a Dark Warrior (Immortals After Dark #11) by Kresley Cole

Dreams of a Dark Warrior (Immortals After Dark #11)  by Kresley Coleon February 15th 2011)
Pages: 512 Pages
AmazonNarrator: Robert Petkoff

Murdered before he could wed Regin the Radiant, warlord Aidan the Fierce seeks his beloved through eternity, reborn again and again into new identities, yet with no memory of his past lives.


When Regin encounters Declan Chase, a brutal Celtic soldier, she recognizes her proud warlord reincarnated. But Declan takes her captive, intending retribution against all immortals—unaware that he belongs to their world.


Yet every reincarnation comes with a price, for Aidan is doomed to die when he remembers his past. To save herself from Declan’s torments, will Regin rekindle memories of the passion they once shared—even if it means once again losing the only man she could ever love?

This was Regin’s HEA and it is set during the same time with Lucia’s book and Carrow’s Book.

Regin was engaged to Aidan the Fierce before he was murdered. He kept coming back reborn again and dying when he remembered Regin and their love. Regin gets captured by Magistrate Declan Chase, the same guy who was working for the Order and she realizes Declan is Aidan’s new reincarnation.

While she falls for her lover, she is also aghast at the havoc he is wrecking on all those she loves. She has the power to destroy him, by helping him to remember her and their love. But she is so tired of losing Aidan time and time again.

This book was really a big emotional rollercoster and it was a lot of pain for the main characters. I really liked Declan but not like I liked Garreth and the men before. I didn’t enjoy this one as much because it lacked some of the funnier moments but it did have sweet ones too.

I am amazed at how Cole keeps simultaneous stories going on at the same time but they are all their own journeys to HEA. Bravo!

*sighing* Lothaire, that sneaky leech is up next. I am still mad at what he did to Carrow, and the lies he told young Thad. I hope he is redeemed in his book.

Demon from the Dark (Immortals After Dark, #10) by Kresley Cole

Demon from the Dark (Immortals After Dark, #10) by Kresley ColeSeries: Immortals After Dark, #10
on August 24th 2010
Pages: 430 pages
AmazonNarrator: Robert Petkoff
Malkom Slaine: tormented by his sordid past and racked by vampiric hungers, he's pushed to the brink by the green-eyed beauty under his guard.

Carrow Graie: hiding her own sorrows, she lives only for the next party or prank. Until she meets a tortured warrior worth saving.

In order for Malkom and Carrow to survive, he must unleash both the demon and vampire inside him. When Malkom becomes the nightmare his own people feared, will he lose the woman he craves body and soul?

This series has become a Top 5 series for me. WOW. I would have never believed it as i could barely finish the first couple of books in this series.

Thank you Robert Petkoff for nailing the narration and keeping me listening even when I have other things to do.

In this series, we meet demon Malkom Slaine who has been dealt a pretty crappy hand by life. He doesn’t know his father and his mother was whore who sold to to be a blood whore to vampires when he was a little boy. He has been used and abused all his life until he met his best friend Kallen, the King. Kallen gave Malkom a sense of belonging and a mission until they were betrayed and taken by vampires. Malkolm swore revenge on all those who held him captive and those betrayed him.

Carrow Graie, a witch, was sent to retrieve Malkolm by the human Order that kidnapped her, in exchange for his adoptee Ruby. Carrow has also had a crappy family life as she never really mattered to her parents. they treated her like she was invisible so now she has been living a life starved for love. When these two came in contact, Malkolm’s heart started beating–she was his mate. Carrow knew Malkolm would help her, but could she betray him and return him into captivity? Would Malkolm forgive her betrayal?

this was like a beauty and the beast story because Malkolm started off as a beast…a sweet, but angry and protective beast. I find the stories where Kresley Cole gives us lykae and demons are just the best. They are sweet, funny, sad, high in action and just weaved together well.

Malkolm has been added to my list of favorite Heroes and has Carrow. They made a really sweet pair. I can’t wait to read the next one in this series

Review: Pleasure of a Dark Prince (Immortals After Dark, #9) by Kresley Cole

Review: Pleasure of a Dark Prince (Immortals After Dark, #9) by Kresley ColeSeries: Immortals After Dark #10
on January 25th 2010
Pages: 452 pages
Narrator: Robert Petkoff
A Dangerous Beauty
Lucia the Huntress: as mysterious as she is exquisite, she harbors secrets that threaten to destroy her—and those she loves.

An Uncontrolled Need
Garreth MacRieve, Prince of the Lykae: the brutal Highland warrior who burns to finally claim this maddeningly sensual creature as his own.

That lead to a pleasure so wicked...
From the shadows, Garreth has long watched over Lucia. Now, the only way to keep the proud huntress safe from harm is to convince her to accept him as her guardian. To do this, Garreth will ruthlessly exploit Lucia's greatest weakness—her wanton desire for him

I LOVED IT. What an awesome audiobook! Robert Petkoff was on it again!

Sometimes the timeline with this series throw me off, but the events of this book coincided with A Hunger Like No Other. This one was a lykae lead, not demon nor vampire.
My two favorite books featured Lykae, Bowen & Garreth.

In this book Garreth was playing rugby with other supernatural creatures when he scented Lucia, his female. The one had been searching all over for. He quickly followed her scent until he was able to really behold her. She was an archer, the best archer in the lore, but she had taken a vow of chasity. There was a true dilemma because Lykae had to claim their mates and during the coupling, they had to bite and mark their mates. Lucia’s excellence in archery came with a price from a god–if she had sex, she would lose her ability. So Garreth set off to prove to Lucia being with him, was worth more than her skill as the #1 Archer.

What Garreth didn’t know was that Lucia had other secrets that she was hiding and they were just as big as her gift with the bow & arrow.

These two were hot, they were sweet, they just worked. Garreth was everything someone like Lucia needed or could want. He was unbelieveably patient with her, he was protective and he was sweet. He put her desires and needs above his own in all things. Wow. I loved how he labored to gain her trust and the fact that never took advantage of it. He was good to her and they made a great team.

I am surprised that I am 10 books into this series and I am enjoying each book more and more. Really great series

Review: Kiss of a Demon King (Immortals After Dark, Book 7) by Kresley Cole

Review: Kiss of a Demon King (Immortals After Dark, Book 7) by Kresley ColeSeries: Immortals After Dark #7
on January 20th, 2009
Pages: 432 pages
AmazonNarrator: Robert Petkoff
From New York Times bestselling author Kresley Cole comes this spellbinding story of a demon king trapped by an enchantress for her wanton purposes -- and the scorching aftermath that follows when he turns the tables and claims her as his captive.

Sabine, Sorceress of Illusions: the evil beauty who surrenders her body, but not her heart.

Rydstrom Woede: the ruthless warrior who vows to keep her at all costs.

With each smoldering encounter, their shared hunger only increases. If they can defeat the sinister enemy that stands between them, will Sabine make the ultimate sacrifice for her demon? Or will the proud king lay down his crown and arms to save his sorceress?

Occurring concurrently with Book 6, the fallen King Rydstrom Woede was on this way to meet his brother Cade, as they attempt to make a trade with Groot for a sword forged with the expressed purpose of defeating Rydstrom’s archenemy Omort the Deathless.

Omort, who got wind of the plot, sent his half-sister Sabine, queen of illusions to intercept Rydstrom before he got to Groot. Omort planned to have Sabine seduce Rydstrom, since she was his fated queen, so she could become pregnant his son and thus have one of their own continue to rule the Kingdom of Rothkalina. Sabine managed to capture Rydstrom and locked up in his own dungeon, and thus began a battle of wills. Sabine tried to seduce Rydstom, and Rydstrom fought to resist her nefarious plot. This dangerous dance brought both of them closer and closer their foretold fate, as king and queen.

This book was just as good as the previous book. Rydstrom was the serious and super principled brother, so he lacked that hilarious wit of Cadeon. But Rydstom was strong and respectable, so I enjoyed him in a different way. This story has a lot of sexual tension. Oh man, it was fun to see them fight each other with all they had to win. While Sabine would appear just evil and ruthless, her relationship with her sister Lanthe revealed a softer and more loving side, so I knew there was good there too. I loved her swagger and her arrogance, but soon due to Rydstrom, I began to see the vulnerability as well. I loved what the author did with these two characters and I am glad they worked out well. I am getting into the groove with this series, and I don’t know if I will wait a month to read the next book.

Review: Dark Desires After Dusk (Immortals After Dark, Book 6) by Kresley Cole

Review: Dark Desires After Dusk (Immortals After Dark, Book 6) by Kresley ColeSeries: Immortals After Dark #6
on May 20th 2008
Pages: 368 pages
Narrator: Robert Petkoff
A seductive beauty he can never have, yet can't resist...
Cadeon Woede will stop at nothing to atone for the one wrong that will haunt him forever. But once he secures the key to his redemption, the halfling Holly Ashwin, Cade finds that the woman he thought he could use for his own ends and then forget haunts him as much as his past.

A tormented warrior she should fear, but can't deny...
Raised as a human, Holly never knew that some frightening legends are real until she encounters a brutal demon who inexplicably guards her like a treasure. Thrust into a sensual new world of myth and power, with him as her protector, she begins to crave the demon's wicked touch.

Surrender to dark desires...
Yet just when he earns Holly's trust, will Cade be forced to betray the only woman who can sate his wildest needs -- and claim his heart?

My second favorite IAD book.
Cadeon Woede is on a quest to help recover a mystical sword which was crafted to kill a specific immortal, who stole Cadeon’s brother Rydstroms kingdom.
Everyone blames Cadeon’s for the loss and he has spent the last 900 years trying to atone.
Imagine Cadeon’s dilemma when he learns the price for the sword is his fated female Holly Ashwin. To get his Rydstrom’s kingdom back, he would have to trade his female for the sword. What’s a demon to do?

This was one of the most straightforward IAD books I’ve listened to in a while. I wasn’t confused by many various characters in the Lore, as this was mostly Demon and a Harpy, with special appearances by a few other sups, but not enough to need a diagram.
Cadeon was funny, sarcastic, rough around the edges and sweet at the same time. Holly’s OCD made for an interesting read, but I loved how everyone made allowances and worked with her quirks. I really loved how Holly said she finally found a place where she fit in, and she also discovered her inner strength. She took everything that Cadeon’s taught her and fought to save herself.
Very impressed with her…and Cadeon.

I look forward to finding out why Rydstrom has That Woman in chains