Resurrection (Redemption Harbor #1) by Katie Reus

Series:
Narrator: Sophie Eastlake
(Website, Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads)

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review.
This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Title: Resurrection by Katie Reus
Series: Redemption Harbor #1
Release Date: July 7th 2017
Pages: 6 hrs and 24 mins
Genre: Romantic Suspense
Published By: KR Press, LLC

Blurb: She faked her own death…

Skye Arévalo left the CIA and faked her death to protect Colt Stuart, the only man she ever loved. Months later, a brutal kidnapping draws her to quietly infiltrate a dangerous cartel. Just when she thinks she’s home free, things go horribly wrong and she escapes with bloodthirsty enemies on her heels…only to find herself face to face with a bewildered and angry Colt.

He’ll cross every line to save her…

When Colt, a former Marine, finds out the woman he loved betrayed him, he’s shocked and hurt, but it doesn’t stop him from breaking every law on the books to keep her alive. Unfortunately, it might not be enough to stop a powerful enemy who will do anything to see the world burn and Skye dead.

three-half-stars

I love Katie Reus because her writing style just evokes a range of emotion because her characters are so multi-faceted. The combination of good writing with one of my favorite narrators, Sophie Eastlake, was clearly a winning duo. The narrator shined at the task of bringing these characters to life and I finished this audiobook in one day.

In this series beginner, we have two couples intertwined as the two male leads are former marines, CIA operatives and friends for years. Off the bat, there was action, adventure and love on the table. Two men grieving for the loss of the lady loves. Colt Stuart is silently mourning the death of his partner and love Skye Arevalo who died in a warehouse explosion in the line of duty. Meanwhile one of his best friend Mercer was not handling the loss of his wife Mary Grace well at all. Even though he didn’t share his suspicious, Colt suspected that Mary Grace was still alive somewhere and he decide to mount a rescue off the books (unsanctioned by the CIA) before he said anything to Mercer.

During the course of mission, Colt found that Mary Grace was indeed alive and had been rescued by a rogue agent, his “dead” lover Skye. This revelation led to examination of two couples that loved each other desperately but operated very differently. I must admit that I gravitated more towards Mercer and Mary Grace than the actual lead Colt and Skye. They were more emotionally connected and sappy where Skye and Colt were more physically aggressive and passionate. They weren’t as verbal and open about their feelings, but it is clear their devotion was a strong as Mercer and Mary Grace’s.

The underlying story was a familiar theme and the villain was an obvious one, but I enjoyed the unfolding of the story nonetheless. This story was intriguing, suspenseful and romantic. Katie Reus is just one of best in this genre. I know that second book is going to be even better.

Ezi

About Katie Reus

Katie Reus is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of the Red Stone Security series, the Darkness series and the Deadly Ops series. She fell in love with romance at a young age thanks to books she pilfered from her mom’s stash. Years later she loves reading romance almost as much as she loves writing it.

However, she didn’t always know she wanted to be a writer. After changing majors many times, she finally graduated summa cum laude with a degree in psychology. Not long after that she discovered a new love. Writing. She now spends her days writing dark paranormal romance and sexy romantic suspense.

Tease Me, Baby (O’Connor Family #2) by Katie Reus

Series:
Narrator: Sophie Eastlake
(Website, Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads)

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review.
This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Title: Tease Me, Baby by Katie Reus
Series: O’Connor Family
Release Date: March 14, 2017
Format: Audiobook (2 hrs and 43 mins)
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Published By: KR Press LLC
Purchase Links: Audible Amazon US

She never wanted perfection, but that’s what she finds.

Pastry chef, Fallon O’Connor is torn between her dreams and her obligations. Right before she reluctantly sets off for a degree she doesn’t want, she’s reeling from a mind-blowing encounter with Mr. Perfect. But one sexy, toe-curling kiss isn’t nearly enough when a Boy Scout like Sheriff Fulton lights her fire.

After one delectable taste, he’s never letting her go.

Brad Fulton would do anything for more time with Fallon. After all, he’s wanted a chance with her ever since she moved back to town. And just when things start to heat up, Fallon starts packing her bags—for a future without him. Now, it’s up to Brad to show Fallon that everything she’s ever wanted is right in Holly, North Carolina. But can Fallon trust her heart enough to stay?

three-half-stars

This novella was short but enjoyable. The narrator, Sophie Eastlake, is one of my favorites so I knew I was in for a treat. The story was set up as a good boy – bad girl trope. I didn’t read book 1 so I felt like I was missing a little of Fallon and Brad’s history. It was clear though, that the attraction that developed between the two was reciprocal.

Brad is the kind of guy I would want my daughter to marry. He is the sheriff, he is respected and he is completely responsible. Fallon wasn’t as wishy-washy as she appeared. She just held her cards close to the vest and didn’t share her dreams because she was afraid of visible failure.
These two had great chemistry and they actually communicated about their expectations and wishes for the future. For a novella, it was developed nicely and felt complete.

Ezi

About Katie Reus

Katie Reus is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of the Red Stone Security series, the Darkness series and the Deadly Ops series. She fell in love with romance at a young age thanks to books she pilfered from her mom’s stash. Years later she loves reading romance almost as much as she loves writing it.

However, she didn’t always know she wanted to be a writer. After changing majors many times, she finally graduated summa cum laude with a degree in psychology. Not long after that she discovered a new love. Writing. She now spends her days writing dark paranormal romance and sexy romantic suspense.

Up in Flames (Rosemary Beach #13) by Abbi Glines

Series:
Narrator: Jeremy York, Sophie Eastlake
Up in Flames Book Cover Up in Flames
Rosemary Beach #13
Abbi Glines
Romance; New Adult
Atria Books
June 28th 2016
e-book
256

Spoiled. Selfish. Rich girl. Villain. Slut.

As the Prada-clad bad girl of Rosemary Beach, Nan Dillon has been called every vile name under the hot summer sun. Some of her reputation is deserved—she’s never had to worry about anything but maintaining her perfect figure and splitting Daddy’s private jet with her brother, Rush.

But Nan is far from happy. Rush has another kid on the way and doesn’t have time to catch up with his sister. Grant, the last guy she truly cared about, chose to be with her half-sister, Harlow, instead of her. And Harlow, who has never gotten over the way Nan treated her when she first moved to town, remains distant.

So when Major asks her out, she jumps at the chance to date the gorgeous charmer. Though she doesn’t know much about the sweet-talking Texan, and though it’s clear he doesn’t want to be exclusive, dating him beats hanging out with vapid socialites or watching Netflix alone at home.

For a while, Nan deals with Major’s playboy ways, but after he burns her one too many times, she takes off for an impromptu wild weekend in Vegas. There, she meets Gannon, a darkly seductive and oh-so-dangerous businessman who knows exactly how to handle her.

With Major asking for a second chance and Gannon haunting her dreams, Nan has to decide who to give her heart to. But what she doesn’t realize is that these players are involved in a much bigger game—and they’re already two moves ahead of her.

Finally, Nan Dillion gets her day in the sun and I have been waiting a long time for it. However, Nan herself summarized her character best by saying

“I wasn’t Blaire or Harlow. I didn’t inspire men to want to change for me.”

You’re damn right Nan. You lacked the goodness that those girls had and it was a disappointing series ending book. After reading this book, I still don’t like you one bit. We met Nan, Rush’s awful little sister in book 1 and I was ready for Abbi Glines to redeem this character and show the readers why Nan wasn’t the uber witch I had believed her to be for this entire series. I can say this author’s effort in showing Nan in a more favorable light didn’t work at all.

On top of this Nan’s unrepentant ways, the reader got a major dose of Major, who had an unsavory job as well as a large appetite for the ladies. *Eye roll*

I find the triangle with Nan, Major and Cope to be a red herring. The copious amounts of sex were intended to camouflage a shallow plot. I just didn’t feel genuine affection between Nan and these guys, not like the other couples. I think if Nan had that earth moving love, she would have been changed and truly understood the women she wronged along the way in this series.
I had to ask myself if the author even intended to redeem Nan because for the prior 12 books, Nan has been a conniving mean girl. Is it even possible to redeem such a villain after such long period of parading their schemes and plots? Unfortunately, the author for waiting for long for me.

Plus, there was nothing that Nan did take showed contrition. This one really lacked substance and frankly speaking I am shocked at how everyone seems to have forgiven Nan when I don’t recall her asking for forgiveness. I am glad she seemed to grow some and feel like she has some worth as a person. But I cannot point to anything I enjoyed about this story at all. It just was a huge disappointment for me.

*Special Thanks to Atria Books via Netgalley for the e-book given in exchange for an honest review.

Ezi

A Covert Affair (Deadly Ops #5) by Katie Reus

A Covert Affair (Deadly Ops #5) by Katie ReusSeries: Deadly Ops #5
on 2016-03-01
Pages: 336
AmazonB&NNarrator: Sophie Eastlake
(Website, Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads)
After being wounded in action, NSA agent Nathan Ortiz comes home to Miami, eager to return to duty. But he doesn't expect his newest mission to lead him straight to the one woman he loved, lost, and has never gotten over.   A beautiful, successful restaurateur, Amelia Rios enjoys giving back to her community, especially to struggling women. Then a woman she recently hired stops showing up for work, and, unfortunately, she isn’t the first to go missing.   Soon Amelia finds herself thrust into a shadowy, dark world, working side by side with Nathan, the only man she’s ever loved. They must confront old feelings as they battle a ruthless enemy preying on the poor and weak. The heat simmering between Nathan and Amelia could mean a second chance for them—but first they have to survive.
three-stars

This story is one of those you won’t remember that much after you read it because nothing really stands out. This is a book 5 in an established series by a really good writer yet it was wrought with cliché after cliché.

First of all, the whole trope of special ops going investigating a missing girls ring is so common. Second, the second chance love where the characters were separated over some lame reason is another overdone story-line. Third, the lovers from the opposite walks of life theme was just the icing on this predictable installment.

I have read Katie Reus in other series and find her work highly engaging and enjoying. This book fell below those standards for me. The actual writing was entertaining, the chemistry between the main character Nathan Ortiz and Amelia Rios felt authentic. I just had a hard time grasping is how such an agent of Nathan’s caliber never bothered looking Amelia up all this time. She is a business owner and has done well for herself but she never bothered checking on the man whom she claimed she never stopped loving. I always roll my eyes because it rings hollow.

I hope the next book brings more flavor to this genre.

*Special Thanks to Tantor Audio for the audiobook received in exchange for an honest review.

About Katie Reus

Katie Reus is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of the Red Stone Security series, the Darkness series and the Deadly Ops series. She fell in love with romance at a young age thanks to books she pilfered from her mom’s stash. Years later she loves reading romance almost as much as she loves writing it.

However, she didn’t always know she wanted to be a writer. After changing majors many times, she finally graduated summa cum laude with a degree in psychology. Not long after that she discovered a new love. Writing. She now spends her days writing dark paranormal romance and sexy romantic suspense.

Edge of Danger (Deadly Ops #4) by Katie Reus

Edge of Danger (Deadly Ops #4) by Katie ReusSeries: Deadly Ops #4
on 2015-11-03
Pages: 352
AmazonB&NNarrator: Sophie Eastlake
(Website, Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads)
When an assassin tries to kill undercover DEA agent Tucker Pankov the same week his boss is taken out, Tucker has good reason to be paranoid. And when other members of his elite team are not only targeted, but stripped of top-secret security clearance, Tucker has one shot at discovering who wants them dead—and why. So he kidnaps the only woman he thinks can save them.  

Brilliant NSA analyst Karen Stafford doesn’t like being forced into anything, especially by someone she doesn’t trust. Yet after a hijacked US-owned drone starts attacking government installations resulting in mass casualties, Karen has to take Tucker’s side.  Now, two unlikely allies must unite to prevent an escalating and unthinkable terrorist conspiracy. But as Tucker and Karen grow intimate, they realize the conspiracy runs deep, and their enemies are closer than anyone realized. *New York Times bestselling author Cynthia Eden
four-stars


Book 4 of the Deadly Ops series had the best character development in the series. This series has really impressed me with the high level storytelling, likeable characters, hot sex scenes and a suspenseful mystery.

Tucker Pankov and his team are being framed but they have no idea who is after them and why. So they decide they need the help of Wesley Burkhart, the director of the NSA, but he won’t give them the time of the day. In order to get his attention, Tucker and his team kidnap Karen Stafford, Burkhart’s right hand employee. Thus now, they have two separate Governmental agencies hunting them.

Tucker Pankov and Karen Stafford’s story was a fast paced story and it was just as enjoyable as the last book. This was an on-the-run romance that surprisingly didn’t feel like Stockholm syndrome. Instead the reader can’t help but really pull for Tucker to find out who is being the cover-up, get Karen to completely trust and still get Burkhart’s cooperation. The main characters are both strong and resilient in their own right. Even though their pull was almost immediate, the attraction to each other was believable.

Again, Sophie Eastlake kept me entertained with her narration. She is a great fit for this series because each story has felt unique as I listened to them. I am really surprised at how much I am liking this series.

*Special Thanks to Tantor Audio for the audiobook received in exchange for an honest review.

About Katie Reus

Katie Reus is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of the Red Stone Security series, the Darkness series and the Deadly Ops series. She fell in love with romance at a young age thanks to books she pilfered from her mom’s stash. Years later she loves reading romance almost as much as she loves writing it.

However, she didn’t always know she wanted to be a writer. After changing majors many times, she finally graduated summa cum laude with a degree in psychology. Not long after that she discovered a new love. Writing. She now spends her days writing dark paranormal romance and sexy romantic suspense.

Shattered Duty (Deadly Ops, #3) by Katie Reus

Shattered Duty (Deadly Ops, #3) by Katie ReusSeries: Deadly Ops #3
on 2015-06-02
Pages: 352
AmazonB&NNarrator: Sophie Eastlake
(Website, Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads)
When his wife was murdered two years ago, Special Agent Levi Lazaro turned his back on everything he cared about. Ever since, he has thought of nothing but vengeance. Now he's finally uncovered the identities of those who killed his wife—and he's ready to destroy them at any cost. He won’t let anything stand in his way—not even a beautiful NSA agent on a mission of her own.Special Agent Selene Wolfe prides herself on being the best. Her fearlessness and quick-thinking make her the perfect person to take down a deadly terrorist cell. But she needs Levi’s help, and the moment he shows up, Selene knows her objectivity—and her heart—are in trouble.As the two strike an uneasy alliance, Levi finds himself tormented by his desire for Selene—a feeling he thought long dead. But when their mission takes an unexpected turn, he finds himself at a crossroads. Can he put aside his need for revenge to save the woman who’s reawakened his soul?From the Paperback edition.
four-half-stars


I have been waiting for this particular hero’s story since book 1. I am delighted to say it didn’t disappoint me. Levi Lazaro has been straddling the line between the good guys and the bad guys for a while now and no one was confident as to where his loyalties lay. But it was clear that Levi’s motivation was his thirst for revenge against those who murdered his fiancé and unborn child. I loved it this rogue agent getting justice and coming back to the fold.

This third book in the series is the best one yet. Levi’s story was well conceived and Selene was a perfect counterbalance to his personality. The author made this relationship feel authentic because it was an instantaneous love match. There was an attraction but Levi still finished the grieving process before he fully committed to Selene. Selene also proved to be smart, resourceful and compassionate. Her skills as an agent made her shine as kick ass heroine in her own right.

The stability of this story lied in the very careful blend of crime solving with very sensual scenes.

About Katie Reus

Katie Reus is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of the Red Stone Security series, the Darkness series and the Deadly Ops series. She fell in love with romance at a young age thanks to books she pilfered from her mom’s stash. Years later she loves reading romance almost as much as she loves writing it.

However, she didn’t always know she wanted to be a writer. After changing majors many times, she finally graduated summa cum laude with a degree in psychology. Not long after that she discovered a new love. Writing. She now spends her days writing dark paranormal romance and sexy romantic suspense.

Bound to Danger (Deadly Ops, Book 2) by Katie Reus

Bound to Danger (Deadly Ops, Book 2) by Katie ReusSeries: Deadly Ops #2
on 2014-08-05
Pages: 352
AmazonNarrator: Sophie Eastlake
(Website, Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads)
At a benefit dinner, community activist Maria Cervantes overhears two men plotting a terrorist attack that could rock Miami to its core. But before she can alert authorities, she’s almost killed in a massive explosion—and wakes up in a hospital with no memory of what happened. As the sole survivor of the attack, she is now a person of interest to the NSA—and especially to Agent Cade O’Reilly. Because Maria is the one woman Cade has never been able to forget. Years ago, they were closer than either was willing to admit—until Cade disappeared when Maria needed him most. Now he’s sticking by her, whether she likes it or not. Because the memories locked inside her mind could hold vital clues to the next attack. Because terrorists want her dead—and because he never wants to let her go again.
three-stars

I enjoyed this book but I hope that every hero and heroine in this series won’t be second chance romances because I am already over the “lack of communication” or “misunderstanding” thing.

Similar to book 1, Agent Cade O’Riley was thrust back into Maria Cervantes life after she became the sole survivor of an explosion due to a terrorist attack. The actual plot was entertaining and was as much a focal point as the romance. I was just as invested in their reunion as I was in eliminating the bad guys.

Now I know this is going to sound weird, but I actually found the bad guys and their motivations just as fascinating in this story. While I never condone or enjoy acts of terrorism, the author wrote them in a way that they didn’t seem purely evil. One could empathize with their loss and their desire to cause pain to those they felt wounded them. While I completely hated their actions, I didn’t find myself hating the bad guys here.

I enjoyed Maria as a heroine because she wasn’t a pushover and Cade had to work to regain her trust.
This story was enhanced by the flashback via letters/emails that Maria and Cade shared in their younger years. So the author used the past to weave a love story that was passionate and sweet.  Maria came from a privileged life but she wasn’t defined by the money. She showed compassion and loyalty even when it seemed that Cade didn’t have her back.

If you enjoy stories where the plot doesn’t take a back seat to the romance, then this series is for you. I hope Levi and Allison’s journey takes a different path though.

About Katie Reus

Katie Reus is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of the Red Stone Security series, the Darkness series and the Deadly Ops series. She fell in love with romance at a young age thanks to books she pilfered from her mom’s stash. Years later she loves reading romance almost as much as she loves writing it.

However, she didn’t always know she wanted to be a writer. After changing majors many times, she finally graduated summa cum laude with a degree in psychology. Not long after that she discovered a new love. Writing. She now spends her days writing dark paranormal romance and sexy romantic suspense.

Shadow’s End (Elder Races #9) by Thea Harrison

Shadow’s End (Elder Races #9) by Thea HarrisonSeries: Elder Races #9
on 2015-12-01
Pages: 304
AmazonNarrator: Sophie Eastlake
For Beluviel, consort to the Elven High Lord, and Graydon, gryphon and First Sentinel of the Wyr, even the slightest desire for each other is forbidden. But two hundred years ago, after a desperate play to save Beluviel's stepson left them indebted to the cruel Djinn Malphas, they found their fates inexorably linked together--and the hunger between them growing too strong to ignore...  

Two centuries later, with their debt to Malphas coming due, Beluviel and Graydon realize that, if they are to stand any chance of saving their souls, they must once again work together--this time more closely than ever before. But every moment they spend with each other brings them nearer to losing something even more vital--their hearts...
five-stars

Graydon’s book was what I had hoped for. The sacrifice and enduring love theme worked for me. It was action packed, dramatic, sad, happy and most of all, it had the HEA Graydon had been denied for 200 years. Gryphon took over as Frist Sentinel as well as my favorite when Rune left to mate with Carling.
The narrator Sophie Eastlake just delivered the story with a flair that was completely riveting. I love her voice and how she tells this series. I read the first two, but the audio is so much more powerful because of the narration.

Graydon and Beluviel (Consort to the Elven High Lord) had one incredible moment together before a cruel Djinn Malphas blackmailed them into an agreement to separate. Bel’s son Ferion was indebted to Malphas for a huge gambling debt and the djinn took a lien on Ferion’s soul. Gray and Bel agreed to stay away from each other as long as Malphas didn’t kill Ferion and force him to do illegal activities. So for 200 years, Gray and Bel kept to their promise while gathering evidence that Malphas was violating their agreement.

Armed with their evidence, Gray and Bel come to their friends for aid to be free from this Djinn’s control and the friends didn’t disappoint.

There was such angst and anticipation due to the separation of the two, which made the story much more enjoyable for me. The pace was steady and exciting throughout. The chemistry between Gray and Bel was so palpable that my heart was beating fast. This book is definitely one of my favorites in the series. The author made sure to engage the prior couples in the story and the storytelling was engrossing. This series is definitely one of the best series in PNR.


Special thanks to Tantor Audio for the audiobook, which was given in exchange for an honest review

Targeted (Deadly Ops #1) by Katie Reus

Targeted (Deadly Ops #1) by Katie ReusSeries: Deadly Ops #1
on 2013-10-01
Pages: 352
AmazonNarrator: Sophie Eastlake
(Website, Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads)
Hidden in plain sight… Former Marine sniper and current NSA agent Jack Stone has a new face to go with his new identity. But he still has the same tortured memories—which include the woman he let get away years ago, when they were teenagers. Now his new assignment in Miami will put him so close to the woman he’s never been able to forget, he could reach out and touch her—if only she weren’t under suspicion. When Sophie Moreno uncovers evidence linking the medical supply company she works for with arms smuggling—and worse—she doesn’t know who to turn to. After a shocking betrayal, she realizes the only person she can trust is a mysterious new person in the company—a man with hauntingly familiar eyes. As Sophie questions her intense attraction to this man and Jack struggles not to blow his cover, the two of them must race against the clock to stop terrorists from killing scores of people—starting with them.FIRST IN A NEW SERIES!
four-stars

Action packed from the beginning. This is one of the better book 1 romantic suspense books I’ve read in a while. I enjoyed this one.

Former marine Jack Stone is the second in command in the NSA team that specializes in undercover work taking out crime rings. Now Jack has been tasked with discovering whose leaking information to the Miami drug lord and working with Keane Flights to smuggle drugs and arms. This new assignment forced Jack to work with Sophie Moreno, a former flame who believed him dead on assignment in Afghanistan.

Sophie came through the foster care system trusting very few people and still nursing the devastation of losing her love Sam when the new agent Jack comes on the scene. So many things about Jack remind Sophie of Sam but she knows that Sam is dead. Can she let go of Sam and move forward with Jack?

I liked this story and enjoyed the unraveling of the mystery. There was action, adventure, mystery, love and most of all, forgiveness. The author did a great job in keeping the pace steady. It was never boring or slow. I was rooting for the couple the whole time and enjoyed the angst filled ride. Sophie Eastlake is one of my favorite narrators because she does a great job differentiating voices. Her recitation kept me engaged to the story from beginning to the end. I can’t wait for book 2.

* Special thanks to Tantor Audio for the audiobook, which was given in exchange for an honest review

About Katie Reus

Katie Reus is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of the Red Stone Security series, the Darkness series and the Deadly Ops series. She fell in love with romance at a young age thanks to books she pilfered from her mom’s stash. Years later she loves reading romance almost as much as she loves writing it.

However, she didn’t always know she wanted to be a writer. After changing majors many times, she finally graduated summa cum laude with a degree in psychology. Not long after that she discovered a new love. Writing. She now spends her days writing dark paranormal romance and sexy romantic suspense.

Façade (Games #2) by Nyrae Dawn

Façade (Games #2) by Nyrae DawnSeries: Games #2
on 2013-07-02
Pages: 304
AmazonNarrator: Jesse Bernstein, Sophie Eastlake
Can love save them?

After her father commits a crime that shatters her family, eighteen-year-old Delaney Cross is tired of pretending everything is alright. Packing up her car, she sets out to find the people her father hurt. Her search leads her to places she's never been--and into the arms of Adrian Westfall.

To the outside world, Adrian is a sexy, charming ladies man. But his playboy persona is just an act. Secretly his soul is tortured by a memory too painful to share. Only Delaney seems to see through his façade to the real man underneath. And for the first time in his life, Adrian feels he can begin to open up about his past.

Together, Adrian and Delaney share a passionate, carefree love they never expected to find. Yet both still harbor their own secrets. When the dark truth is finally revealed, will it bring them closer together, or tear them apart forever?
three-half-stars

18 yr old Delaney Cross and her older brother Maddox are still trying to regain their equilibrium after their father’s car accident killed a 3 year old boy and their mother attempted suicide. They decided that redemption would begin by gaining the forgiveness of the family their father’s accident affected.

When Delaney meets Adrian Westfall, he isn’t what she expected. She decided to befriend him before revealing that she is daughter of the man who killed his nephew. The closer they got the harder the secret became and Delaney didnt know if Adrian would forgive her. Could she risk losing his love or could they move forward once she reveals her secret?

I have read 3 new adult books in a row where the MC blamed themselves for everything short of the sun rising every day. That whole martyr thing is starting to feel disingenuous and it overly dramatic.

The audiobook was good, the narrator kept me engaged and how the author told it kept me waiting for the other shoe to drop. It had some twists and certainly explained Adrian’s pain. I really felt bad for Adrian, but Delaney’s mother was a piece of work. I wonder why the kids never went to see their father in prison and ask him some questions regarding their mother. I hope that Maddox’s book explains more about her abusive behavior but that woman was self-centered and horrid.
I am glad Delaney found someone who cared about her other than her brother and I hope Maddox finds peace too.