The Bisti Business by Don Travis

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review.
This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

The Bisti Business: by Don Travis
Series: A BJ Vinson Mystery #2
Release Date: March 21st, 2017
Pages: 310 • Format: eARC
Published By: DSP Publications
Purchase Links:
DSP PublicationsAmazonBarnes & Noble

Although repulsed by his client, an overbearing, homophobic California wine mogul, confidential investigator B. J. Vinson agrees to search for Anthony Alfano’s missing son, Lando, and his traveling companion—strictly for the benefit of the young men. As BJ chases an orange Porsche Boxster all over New Mexico, he soon becomes aware he is not the only one looking for the distinctive car. Every time BJ finds a clue, someone has been there before him. He arrives in Taos just in time to see the car plunge into the 650-foot-deep Rio Grande Gorge. Has he failed in his mission?

Lando’s brother, Aggie, arrives to help with BJ’s investigation, but BJ isn’t sure he trusts Aggie’s motives. He seems to hold power in his father’s business and has a personal stake in his brother’s fate that goes beyond familial bonds. Together they follow the clues scattered across the Bisti/De-Na-Zin Wilderness area and learn the bloodshed didn’t end with the car crash. As they get closer to solving the mystery, BJ must decide whether finding Lando will rescue the young man or place him directly in the path of those who want to harm him.

four-stars

 

We all know how picky I am with my mystery thrillers. When the DSP Publications Promo came out I was immediately drawn out to the title of A BJ Vinson Mystery. Yes!!! We don’t have enough gay romance mystery thriller series in the genre for me. I was a little hesitant because I hadn’t heard or read anything by the author before. I didn’t even realize that this was a #2 in the series before I started reading it. No worries because you can read it as a standalone even though they allude to things from book one. You won’t be lost at all. I think they was very good solid writing, and I liked the main character a lot. What I missed was some sort of romance. I wouldn’t classify this as any kind of romance. Anything relating to romance was off page, and very much low steam.

Now that I got that done lets talk BJ. Ha! I like his snarkiness, and his professionalism. He took this case extremely serious as people should. I mean, this case took him away from home, his business and his partner for quite some time. He didn’t let it really get to him. He put his all in finding Lando & Dana. I was sucked into the mystery immediately. I love stories like this. I had some iffiness about who participated in the mystery. I was a little but right, but was shocked by all the outcomes.

I did feel at times that I was in a history museum though. It was a lot of details to remember and read about. For me it took away from the story. Sometimes too many details detract people from the actual plot. I got overwhelmed with so many details about the setting, and place. It was interesting, but a bit much for me.

I loved the characters and diversity that Travis intertwined in this story. I actually went back to get book one, because I did enjoy the writing, plot, and characters. I think this was a good mystery for book 2. I am looking forward to much more from Don Travis. Now only for us to get him to show a little steam, and he’ll have an excellent mystery/thriller series!

 

signature-fonts

About Don Travis

Don Travis is a man totally captivated by his adopted state of New Mexico. Each of his mystery novels features some region of the state as prominently as it does his protagonist, a gay ex-Marine, ex-cop turned confidential investigator. Don never made it to the Marines (three years in the Army was all he managed) and certainly didn’t join the Albuquerque Police Department. He thought he was a paint artist for a while, but ditched that for writing a few years back. A loner, he fulfills his social needs by attending SouthwestWriters meetings and teaching a weekly writing class at an Albuquerque community center.

The Mystery of Curiosities by C.S. Poe

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review.
This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

The Mystery of Curiosities: by C.S. Poe
Series: Snow & Winter #2
Release Date: March 7th, 2017
Pages: 200 • Format: eARC
Published By: DSP Publications
Purchase Links:
DSP PublicationsAmazon

Life has been pretty great for Sebastian Snow. The Emporium is thriving and his relationship with NYPD homicide detective, Calvin Winter, is everything he’s ever wanted. With Valentine’s Day around the corner, Sebastian’s only cause for concern is whether Calvin should be taken on a romantic date. It’s only when an unknown assailant smashes the Emporium’s window and leaves a peculiar note behind, that all plans get pushed aside in favor of another mystery.

Sebastian is quickly swept up in a series of grisly yet seemingly unrelated murders. The only connection tying the deaths together are curiosities from the lost museum of P.T. Barnum. Despite Calvin’s attempts to keep Sebastian out of the investigation, someone is forcing his hand, and it becomes apparent that the entire charade exists for Sebastian to solve. With each clue that’ll bring him closer to the killer, he’s led deeper into Calvin’s official cases.

It’s more than just Sebastian’s livelihood and relationship on the line—it’s his very life.

four-stars

Yay, I enjoyed it!!!

So I have a little backtracking to do. The first book in the series sent me into a ragefest. I was very admanant about this author ripping off Josh Lanyone’s Adrien English series. My review is all snarky gifs, and reasons why Calvin can’t say the word Baby, because its Jake word. No one says Baby like Jake does. Throughout my entire review I went into how the autor completely sucked the life essence out of Adrien & Jake and made Sebastian & Calvin. I mean its eerie how paraelle their universe is. Well after all of that, and a week later I find out that the author thanked Josh Lanyon for being her inspiration, and this was her ode to the series. Yep left me looking like this:

My Bad.

Got over my feelings and decided while I hated it for copying one style, I loved it for its angst free, cheesy over the top goodness and so much fluff that it was. Ha!!! My thoughts are so judgy. Straight into book two Sebastian and Calvin are officially together. They are good, and seems to be in love with one another. We get to see another facet of Calvin. He’s struggling bit time with his actions and things that he’s seen from being in the military. He’s reluctant to deal with his issues and doesn’t want to talk about them. I get it, but I think Sebastian being a sounding board and able to talk to his father helps out alot. I loved the snarky humor between Seb & Max. I thought their parts were hilarious. It’s nice being back in Sebastian’s head. The plot was pretty intersting. I do like the history elements in part with the case. Of course Sebastian can’t help himself to some good ole sluething. He doesn’t have anything better to do, and he figures he can get all the answers to any of the questions. Sure he isn’t a cop, but not even the shooting and craziness from a few months ago can stop him. I did find out easily who the person/s behind this was. Pretty easy, but I thought everything overall was good.

I think I will continue to enjoy this series. Its easy, care free, sugary sweet and could be considered a comfort read to some. The complete opposite of the two mentioned above. Poe did a good job with the case, and can’t wait to see what shenanighans these two get up into book 3. A recommend from me!

signature-fonts

About C.S. Poe

Is an author of gay mystery and contemporary romance. She believes that happily ever after is an attainable goal for any character, given enough elbow grease and legwork is provided.

C.S. lives in New York City, but has called a host of different locations home in the past, most recently being Ibaraki, Japan. She regrets no longer having easy access to limited edition candy, capsule toy machines, and clean trains, but over ten years in New York has proved to her there is no place quite like it.

She has an affinity for all things cute and colorful. C.S. is an avid fan of coffee, reading, and cats, in no particular order. She’s rescued three cats, including one found in a drain pipe in Japan who flew back to the States with her. Zak, Milo, and Kasper do their best on a daily basis to sidetrack her from work.

C.S. Poe’s first publication was Love Has No Expiration, by Dreamspinner Press in 2015. Her debut novel, Snow & Winter: The Mystery of Nevermore is scheduled for release in summer 2016 by DSP Publications.

Infected: Undertow by Andrea Speed

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review.
This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

o-infected-undertowInfected: Undertow by Andrea Speed
Series: Infected, Book Seven
Release Date: November 11, 2014
Pages: 350 • Format: eARC
Published By: DSP Publications
Purchase Links:
DSPAmazon Kobo

2nd Edition

In a world where a werecat virus has changed society, Roan McKichan, a born infected and ex-cop, works as a private detective trying to solve crimes involving other infecteds

Now Roan is locked in a coma as the struggle between his human and werecat sides reaches a new extreme. All Dylan can do is sit, wait, and think.

Meanwhile, Roan’s assistant, Holden, wants to shed his old street life and his relationship with Scott, but he can’t seem to do either. Holden doesn’t want a relationship with Scott but finds himself drawn to him all the same, even if he can never fully reveal his past.

With Roan out of commission, Holden looks into the murder of an old friend. At the same time, Fiona takes on a case about underground death matches between infecteds—one with connections to the Church of the Divine Transformation.

Finally Roan wakes only to discover that his shifts have new consequences. His lion’s strength is growing, and he can’t hide from it any longer….

1st Edition published by Dreamspinner Press, June 2013.

four-stars

This book put me through the emotional ringer for sure. After all of the emotional pain of book 6, I was expecting to feel melancholy. It’s not quite how I felt at the end. I think I felt resolve for myself mostly. I felt all of Roan’s pain, and it was several times while reading this that I had to stop because I was crying uncontrollably. I get it, and I feel so bad and super protective over Roan. The two mysteries were good for different reasons but my review is based on the characters that’s all at this point. Roan is tired. That’s basis of this story. I think he’s been tired for a while, maybe even before Paris. All the events and everything he had to do was the icing on the cake to me. I’m tired for Roan. I cannot imagine what he was going through, and in the book my heart went out for Dylan. I 100% believe if Dylan left Roan then Roan would commit suicide. No one can change my mind on that one. So I have book 8 left, and a few novellas but I’m not sure how I feel this close to the series ending.

I don’t know how I feel about Holden at this point. My thoughts are all over the place, because unlike many characters Holden likes being himself. I don’t know if it’s selfish or a sociopath. He has the tools to be someone better, but I don’t know if he thinks he’s worth it, and that’s what I’m getting from him. On the other hand maybe normalcy is starting out with a relationship. It seems to be the path that Scott and Holden are on. Either brings baggage to the table, and both of them seem so damn stubborn that it shouldn’t work. Maybe expectations are super low that they are willing to deal with whatever when it comes to being together.

Roan’s vigilantism seems to catch up with him. I feel like I like/dislike the justice that he doles out. He is the only of his kind that is able to help people, but in helping people Roan losing his self, not just the lion surfacing and taking over, but Roan moral compass seems to decline. I don’t necessary like who he becomes, but it’s so unfair that its an necessary evil. I honestly don’t know how much more Dylan can take. It’s a lot mentally & emotionally to be with Roan. I could never take Dylans’ love away from him, but I feel like Dylan should re-evaluate his life. Is this what he wanted? How many more hospital visits, comas, and tears can you take. How much more personal attacks, and brutalization is enough for his sanity to still be in check.

I’m going to wrap this up because this down feeling I get with writing this review further proves my point of me loving and rooting for fictional characters. I would love to see Roan walk about from MK Investigations with Dylan and move away to open space off the coast of the Pacific Ocean. I pray book 8 gives Roan his peace that he so deserves.

About Andrea Speed

Andrea Speed was born looking for trouble in some hot month without an R in it. While succeeding in finding Trouble, she has also been found by its twin brother, Clean Up, and is now on the run, wanted for the murder of a mop and a really cute, innocent bucket that was only one day away from retirement. (I was framed, I tell you – framed!)
In her spare time, she arms lemurs in preparation for the upcoming war against the Mole Men. Viva la revolution!

Infected:Lesser Evils by Andrea Speed

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review.
This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

2nd Edition

In a world where a werecat virus has changed society, Roan McKichan, a born infected and ex-cop, works as a private detective trying to solve crimes involving other infecteds.

Until recently, Roan was ahead of the curve when it came to reining in the lion that lives inside him. Now his control is slipping at the worst possible times. A new drug has hit the streets—one that triggers unscheduled changes in infected users. Street hustler Holden Krause gets attacked by one of his clients, then is surprised to find himself involved in an unwanted, unexpected relationship. And a serial killer begins targeting infecteds in their cat form—something that’s 100 percent legal.

To stop the murders, Roan has to work outside the law. But his newfound thirst for violence makes him worry he might be more like the killer than he thought, and his reluctance to talk about it with his husband, Dylan, puts an extra strain on their relationship. So Roan isn’t just fighting the killer and struggling with his mutating virus… he’s trying to save himself.

1st Edition published by Dreamspinner Press, October 2012.

four-half-stars

 

I wanted to Sam & Dean this book by the end of it. I wanted someone to care enough to tell Roan to stop. Jeez, no one asked him to stop and evaluate. Sure he’s going to look at you crazy but so what!  I wanted to grab Roan, and drive up to Vancouver to get away from all the madness. But I can’t because I’m guessing he’s meant to go through this situation for the end of the series.

I’m going to need serious counseling after this series. I finished the book feeling melancholy. I’m so debating if reading the last two books are worth it at this point. I am at a lost of words after reading this. I mean Roan has been dealing with the virus for so long, and for it turn it’s back on him at this point was heartbreaking. Let’s be real Roan’s being self-destructing self book 2. This is book 6, and shit got real. I feel bad for Dylan at this point, he is giving all his love to this man and doesn’t know what will set Roan off. I don’t know if I could live with someone who could take the decision to off themselves with no regards to you. I’m not even angry at Roan. I’m just sad for him. It was hard for me to read this especially with all the things he had going on. He’s basically killing his own, and no one cares, and the virus is making him the biggest target ever. I will say this though, I didn’t like Holden for Roan in this book. It pissed me off. I was angry on Dylan’s behalf and my own. I wanted Roan to relax and think. He doesn’t seem to get the impact his death would have on people. Holden is another story. We see bits and pieces of the real him, but he is sociopath and I wanted to kick his butt and make him stay clear away from Roan.

He’s been different all his life. He wants to be less different, not more, but every time he turns around he’s getting more different. I think he feels he’s getting farther and farther away from human, and yes, while that sounds like a marvelous idea, it isn’t to Roan.

This story showed once again how Humanity pisses me off. Roan is dealing with himself, and having to kill his own. On top of that someone else decides to hunt his own and the police does nothing about it. I kept waiting for someone higher to say that it was wrong. What the hell is wrong with people? Infecteds didn’t ask to be here. They are here and human, and getting hunted down like the Serengeti. This book was long, and the one thing that I can say is I don’t know if I trust Holden anymore. Yeah, he’s been great and at times he’s amazing, but I’m too damn stubborn to forgive him for his actions in this book. Every bit of the story was emotional for me. It was darker and more vicious from anything we’ve seen so far. I’m actually scared because this ended in a cliffhanger and if I think this was bad then 7 is probably going to cause me to go for fluff for a week.

About Andrea Speed

Andrea Speed was born looking for trouble in some hot month without an R in it. While succeeding in finding Trouble, she has also been found by its twin brother, Clean Up, and is now on the run, wanted for the murder of a mop and a really cute, innocent bucket that was only one day away from retirement. (I was framed, I tell you – framed!)
In her spare time, she arms lemurs in preparation for the upcoming war against the Mole Men. Viva la revolution!

Mad Lizard Mambo (Kai Gracen #2) by Rhys Ford

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review.
This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Mad Lizard Mambo: by Rhys Ford
Series: Kai Gracen 
Release Date: September 13, 2016
Pages: 220 • Format: eARC
Published By: DSP Publications
Purchase Links:
DSP Publications Amazon

Kai Gracen has no intention of being anyone’s pawn. A pity Fate and SoCalGov have a different opinion on the matter.

Licensed Stalkers make their living hunting down monsters and dangerous criminals… and their lives are usually brief, brutal, and thankless. Despite being elfin and cursed with a nearly immortal lifespan, Kai didn’t expect to be any different. Then Ryder, the High Lord of the Southern Rise Court, arrived in San Diego, Kai’s not-so-mundane life went from mild mayhem to full-throttle chaos.

Now an official liaison between the growing Sidhe Court and the human populace, Kai is at Ryder’s beck and call for anything a High Lord might need a Stalker to do. Unfortunately for Kai, this means chasing down a flimsy rumor about an ancient lost Court somewhere in the Nevada desert—a court with powerful magics that might save Ryder—and Kai’s—people from becoming a bloody memory in their Merged world’s violent history.

The race for the elfin people’s salvation opens unwelcome windows into Kai’s murky past, and it could also slam the door on any future he might have with his own kind and Ryder

four-stars

I think everyone knows, I’d read a pamphlet and gush about it if it was written by Rhys Ford. That’s how I feel about this story. It was good, I might have been semi-emotional at certain points, but Kai will make you do that. This book he had to deal with family big time! Whether it was the nutty bunch or the surrogate family that sculpted him into who he is today. We also got to see Kai’s feelings for Ryder progress. This was super packed with adventure. I mean from page 1 up until the very end. Loved seeing Kai in all his sassy glory, and the twisty turns that the story produced.

One reason why, I’m so enamored with Rhys writing is because she is always able to drawn that emotion out of her characters. Even in a story like this, I found myself misty eyed a time or two. We get to see Kai in all his protective glory this round. Yeah it’s nice to know that he’d go all out his way to protect Dempsey, Jonas, Dali, Sparky and now Ryder. Kai has such a vulnerability about himself, it’s my favorite attribute of his outside of his witty come backs of course.

I don’t miss the romance or the sexual aspect of the relationship. I definitely can see it heading that way, and boy when it hits Kai is going to be super snarky. It’s a slow burn on anything physical between the two. Ryder wants to own Kai. Not in the possession sense, more of showing him how great love can be. I do think Ryder has slowly but surely broke some of Kai’s defenses down, and book 3 is going to give me all the feels when this happens. I’m putting it out in the universe!

I’m not one for world building, but with this story it was all about the descriptions. I loved reading how things were to Kai. The sight, smell, the taste and all of the abstracts that goes into San Diego. I love how Kai fights for his humanity, even when humanity is a giant pile of sh** to him at times. The secondary characters were a great add-in to this adventure. I don’t feel let down at all. I wish Rhys could write a book every 3 months just so I can read her words. I liked this, but I’m not surprised. The woman is bloody talented!!! I definitely recommend this book to everyone, and get book 1 first.

About Rhys Ford

Rhys Ford was born and raised in Hawai’i then wandered off to see the world. After chewing through a pile of books, a lot of odd food, and a stray boyfriend or two, Rhys eventually landed in San Diego, which is a very nice place but seriously needs more rain.

Rhys admits to sharing the house with cats of varying degrees of black fur and a ginger cairn terrorist. Rhys is also enslaved to the upkeep a 1979 Pontiac Firebird, a Toshiba laptop, and an overworked red coffee maker.

Infected: Bloodlines by Andrea Speed

o-infected-bloodlinesInfected: Bloodlines by Andrea Speed
Series: Infected, Book Two
Release Date: October 14, 2014
Pages: 224 • Format: eBook
Published By: DSP Publications
Purchase Links:
DSPAmazonKobo

2nd Edition

In a world where a werecat virus has changed society, Roan McKichan, a born infected and ex-cop, works as a private detective trying to solve crimes involving other infecteds.

The newly married Roan is struggling to balance his work with his home life as he grows increasingly distracted by his husband Paris’s declining health. One case with strong emotions attached takes up most of his time: finding the murderer of a missing little rich girl.

It’s a family with secrets so toxic they’d rather no one investigate, and there’s no shortage of suspects. But despite the dangers and obstructions involved, Roan won’t stop… until he loses something infinitely precious as well.

1st Edition published by Dreamspinner Press, December 2010.

five-stars

Oh my goodness. I haven’t cried this hard in a while. I will be walking into work with puffy eyes and a heavy heart. I mean, I knew what was going to happen because certain tossers can’t put a spoiler tag on their review. But knowing and reading it in that moment was two completely different things. It was so heartbreaking. From the beginning to the end just reading about it left a dull ache in my chest. I mean Roan and Paris get married and instead of spending their time in married bliss, it’s a ticking time bomb on the end that they know it as. I cried early on in the beginning, because Paris was amazing this entire book. I loved the crime and even going into this was better then book one for me. I love seeing Roan grow as a person and a lion. I mean he’s steadily growing stronger and the love of his life is getting sicker.

I like the way the author was able to intertwined the plot and the actions of Roan & Paris. I find Roan’s actions amendable for even trying to work through all the things he’s dealing with. I felt his grief from the page 1. It’s like a slow ticking cancer killing you from page to page. Roan sets out to take the missing person case of a wealthy girl. I really liked the case and the drama surrounding this case. We got to see Kevin who I’m enamored with and some familiar faces among the way. I’m scared to know what the future of MK Investigations hold and the future of Roan. I want Roan to be able to live after this, but I understand and it’s a week later that I’m extending this review and my grief is still palpable. Here’s my favorite quote.

“I’m always going to be with you, you know. As long as you remember me, I will exist. Memory is a form of existence, life after death.”

About Andrea Speed

Andrea Speed was born looking for trouble in some hot month without an R in it. While succeeding in finding Trouble, she has also been found by its twin brother, Clean Up, and is now on the run, wanted for the murder of a mop and a really cute, innocent bucket that was only one day away from retirement. (I was framed, I tell you – framed!)
In her spare time, she arms lemurs in preparation for the upcoming war against the Mole Men. Viva la revolution!

Infected: Prey by Andrea Speed

o-infected-preyInfected: Prey by Andrea Speed
Series: Infected, Book One
Release Date: October 14, 2014
Pages: 384 • Format: eBook
Published By: DSP Publications
Purchase Links:
DSPAmazonKobo

2nd Edition

In a world where a werecat virus has changed society, Roan McKichan, a born infected and ex-cop, works as a private detective trying to solve crimes involving other infecteds.

The murder of a former cop draws Roan into an odd case where an unidentifiable species of cat appears to be showing an unusual level of intelligence. He juggles that with trying to find a missing teenage boy, who, unbeknownst to his parents, was “cat” obsessed. And when someone is brutally murdering infecteds, Eli Winters, leader of the Church of the Divine Transformation, hires Roan to find the killer before he closes in on Eli.

Working the crimes will lead Roan through a maze of hate, personal grudges, and mortal danger. With help from his tiger-strain infected partner, Paris Lehane, he does his best to survive in a world that hates and fears their kind… and occasionally worships them.

1st Edition published by Dreamspinner Press, June 2010.

three-half-stars

Okay so I’ve had this book for a long time. Thank Bingo for calling the Urban Fantasy shelf. I knew a little bit about the series from other friends. I knew it heartbreak expected in book two, but urban fantasy isn’t my go to genre. I like romance and even paranormal mixed together. So I was very hesitant about reading this. I know book one in alot of fantasy series deals with the world building and some times that can overwhelm a reader. It can be difficult to follow along with the story, the terminology and the rules to the story that before we look up and have finished I don’t know what’s happened to the characters. What Andrea Speed did was good. She split book one into two novels, where there was world building and introductions to the world but we got to see these characters in all their glory so book two wouldn’t seem like an introduction into the series.

Our two main characters, Roan and Paris are cat shifters who inherited the cat virus in two different ways. They were definitely night and day, but I really enjoyed them. I’m still a little off put of the no sex in the book, but once I started reading, I’d realized I didn’t need it and I was good to go. The story holds up on it’s own merit and it’s good. I loved Roan and Paris relationship. Roan is this tough as nails, ex-cop turned private eye who seems so grouchy and grumpy, but it a soft ooey goey marshmallow underneath it all. Parish brings outs the best parts of Roan and this is where I noticed that I didn’t need the sex I was 1000% comfortable with them being together. It doesn’t help that Parish is fine as hell. Clearly he has something about him besides his looks that has everyone nodding yes about him. I really enjoy his charisma and his personality plus he’s super bad ass.

I definitely like the plot surrounding the cat strain virus, the cast of characters. Oh my goodness I loved the diversity alot. So many different colored people in the cast. I especially love Diego, Matt and Kevin!!! I want to wrap Kevin up in a hug. I should definitely talk to Ms. Speed to see if Kevin gets someone down the line or maybe I should wait until I finish the series. This was a good start to an amazing series it seems like. I’ll be back reviewing my journey as I continue to explore this world. I’ll leave you with this quote, it’s my favorite of book one. (SN: Think I’m going to leave a quote after each book read)

“You are so funny. You do know I love you more than I’ve ever loved anyone, right? Well, admittedly, I never really loved anyone before, but saying that blunts the impact. I know you’ve got the whole hard-boiled detective thing going on, but I know what you’re really like. I know that under all that armor you’re the most decent man I’ve ever met. You’re my hero.”

About Andrea Speed

Andrea Speed was born looking for trouble in some hot month without an R in it. While succeeding in finding Trouble, she has also been found by its twin brother, Clean Up, and is now on the run, wanted for the murder of a mop and a really cute, innocent bucket that was only one day away from retirement. (I was framed, I tell you – framed!)
In her spare time, she arms lemurs in preparation for the upcoming war against the Mole Men. Viva la revolution!

Withered + Sere by TJ Klune

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review.
This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

o-withered-sere (1)Withered + Sere by TJ Klune
Series: Immemorial Year
Release Date: April 19, 2016
Pages: 280 • Format: eARC
Published By: DSP Publications
Purchase Links:
DSP • Amazon • ARe

Once upon a time, humanity could no longer contain the rage that swelled within, and the world ended in a wave of fire.

One hundred years later, in the wasteland formerly known as America, a broken man who goes only by the name of Cavalo survives. Purposefully cutting himself off from what remains of civilization, Cavalo resides in the crumbling ruins of the North Idaho Correctional Institution. A mutt called Bad Dog and a robot on the verge of insanity comprise his only companions. Cavalo himself is deteriorating, his memories rising like ghosts and haunting the prison cells.

It’s not until he makes the dangerous choice of crossing into the irradiated Deadlands that Cavalo comes into contact with a mute psychopath, one who belongs to the murderous group of people known as the Dead Rabbits. Taking the man prisoner, Cavalo is forced not only to face the horrors of his past, but the ramifications of the choices made for his stark present. And it is in the prisoner that he will find a possible future where redemption is but a glimmer that darkly shines.

The world has died.

This is the story of its remains.

three-stars

So here’s the thing, everyone knows I’m a TJ Klune fan. I love his work. How To Be A Normal Person has bumped itself up to my favorite book by him. I don’t even know how that happened. Otter is still one of my favorite people in the world. He exists and I won’t stop searching until I found him. When I saw the blurb and cover for this I was immediately hooked. The cover is so beautiful. I couldn’t quite guess what the title meant. I had to think could T.J. pull off a dark novel? I mean he’s known for taking us apart with his emotional reads, and he’s down right hilarious with the sputtering characters. I didn’t know if he could right my kind of Dark. TO me Dark is the end of despair and humanity. It’s when there’s nothing else to live for, and all you got is yourself and maybe a select person that you care enough about for them not to die. I enjoyed the premise of the story, and Bad Dog and S.I.R.S are good characters. I loved them. I loved the opposite of every Dystopian story I read about the Dead Rabbits.

TJ’s world that he build was destroyed almost hundreds of years ago. I loved the opening sequence on how the world ended. As usual he’s very spot on with his words. He’s able to bring you into the scene like you are there. Years later and the world is a gray land with little to no sun. Everyone is trying to survive. We have our Hero Cavalo. He’s the main focus in the book. Him along with Bad Dog (a dog which only he communicates with) are traipsing through the world at their own pace. So many things happened in the story that I enjoyed and other things that I felt didn’t fit into the world. I will say reading about Cavalo and trying to gauge his lunacy or the past and present was a headache.It made me feel like I was on a tidal wave and couldn’t get off. I never really adapted to him. I understand all his shortcomings and why he was the way he is, but he didn’t work for me. It should be warned that this is not a romance story. I knew it going in and I’m okay with it. I can see how it’s set up for book two. There is definitely a cliffhanger at the end. I liked this book, and it wasn’t what I was expecting but hopefully book two leads into the gory stuff for me.

About TJ Klune

When TJ Klune was eight, he picked up a pen and paper and began to write his first story (which turned out to be his own sweeping epic version of the video game Super Metroid—he didn’t think the game ended very well and wanted to offer his own take on it. He never heard back from the video game company, much to his chagrin). Now, two decades later, the cast of characters in his head have only gotten louder, wondering why he has to go to work as a claims examiner for an insurance company during the day when he could just stay home and write.

He lives with a neurotic cat in the middle of the Sonoran Desert. It’s hot there, but he doesn’t mind. He dreams about one day standing at Stonehenge, just so he can say he did.

Cover Reveal + Excerpt – Code Name Jack Rabbit by Elizabeth Noble

960x350

Continue reading →

About Elizabeth Noble

Elizabeth Noble lives by the adage “I can’t not write”. She can’t remember a time when she didn’t make up stories and eventually she learned how to write them down. A part of every day is spent living in worlds she created that are filled with intrigue and espionage. Using a real love of scifi and urban fantasy highlighted by twisty plots she crafts stories taking place in a slightly altered version of our world.

When she’s not chronicling the adventures of her many characters Elizabeth is a veterinary nurse living in her native Cleveland, Ohio. She shares her little brick house with an adorable canine princess and her tabby cat side-kick. Elizabeth is a fan of baseball, basketball (go Cavs and Indians!) and gardening. She can often be found working in her ‘outside office’ listening to classic rock and plotting her next novel waiting for it to be dark enough to gaze at the stars.

Elizabeth received several amateur writing awards. Since being published two of her novels have received honorable mentions in the Rainbow Awards. Her novel Jewel Cave was a runner up in the 2015 Rainbow awards in the Gay Mystery/Thriller category.