MoMo: My Everything by Posy Roberts

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review.
This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

MoMo: My Everything : by Posy Roberts
Release Date: February 28th, 2017
Pages:96 • Format: eARC
Published By: Labyrinth Bound Press
Purchase Links:
Amazon

William Harris is a reserved man, private and guarded. He has no one to go home to. He’s never found a man worth sticking around for. He’s never been in love. And he’s convinced he’s happy with his lone-wolf life.

Nate Kelly is William’s opposite, social and easy going. He comes into William’s life as the elegant geisha Momo. When William realizes Momo is a man in drag, he’s captivated.

From their first date, William’s world changes. Nate is nothing like his usual type. And William soon finds out being with this carefree man means always being on display and attracting attention, which makes him want to retreat. He tries to keep Nate at arm’s length, but it’s no use. Nate’s transformed his life in a matter of months and keeps drawing him back in.

If they stand a chance, William has to be comfortable standing next to someone so at home in the limelight. Their future together and William’s happiness depend on it. Is Nate the man finally worth giving up William’s solitary existence? Is he worth sticking around for?

three-stars

 

I never expected to use this gif with this author. Posy Roberts is one of my favorite authors. Her realistic words, characters and emotions get me every time I read one of her works. Its hard for me to write this review. I don’t think this should have been a novella. It should have been full length. With the amount of backstory and characteristics that she put into William, it wasn’t far to not get the same for Nate. So much information surrounding Will, and yeah it was told from his point of view, but it still took me a while to get into the story. It seemed so disjointed in the beginning, and I wanted to DNF it because I didn’t see the point of the story. It took me a while to get into the pacing of the story, and I’m still not sure how I feel about the ending.

I think this is one of her only insta-love stories. I’ve read everything she’s ever written, and the emotions between the two were fast, and I can see the connection from two people who opposites attract. I don’t know if I’m okay with some of the actions or verbiage used in the story. It seemed unnecessary for me. It didn’t add to the story. William’s ignorance made me side-eye him a little bit. The whole fantasy around “MoMo” didn’t move me. I don’t know if that was the right thing to say, but that’s how I felt. I’m so unclear on why this was a big thing for him, and why not admit it to your significant other. I mean you did meet Nate who was MOMO at the time. It just didn’t seem sincere to me. I really liked Nate, but we got so little of him. I really would loved to have more of his story, and his voice, but he felt overshadowed at times by William’s lack of knowledge or comfort ability in his sexuality. Nate easily made the story bearable for me. I liked where they ended up.

This was my first book by this author who I wasn’t sold on it. From the very beginning I was a little put off by it. I guess I didn’t care to much of the tone. I don’t think you should let my review deter you from reading her work. It’s really worth it. I love her characters alot, and I’m always able to connect with them. This just wasn’t meant for me.

About Posy Roberts

Real life. Genuine men. True love.

Posy Roberts writes about the realistic struggles of men looking for love. Whether her characters are family men, drag queens, or lonely men searching for connections, they all find a home in her stories.

Posy is married to a man who makes sure she doesn’t forget to eat or sleep. Her daughter, a budding author and dedicated Whovian, helps her come up with character names. When Posy’s not writing, she enjoys crafting, hiking, and singing spontaneously about the mundane, just to make normal seem more interesting.

Stroke of Luck by Posy Roberts

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review.
This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

strokeofluckcoverStroke of Luck: by Posy Roberts
Release Date: October 26, 2016
Pages: 86 • Format: eARC
Published By: Labyrinth Bound Press
Purchase Links:
Amazon US

After everything Marc owned burned to a crisp, he’s living off the kindness of others. A model condo is his temporary home, and his last dime went to essentials. He doesn’t need another distraction, but the fates conspire against him, setting up a chain of encounters that bring him face to face with Cas.

Cas’s love life has been in limbo for years, lovers moving on as soon as they discover how close he is to his best friend, Maisie. Then he meets Marc. The attraction between the two men can’t be denied, but Cas isn’t sure he can risk his friendship for a guy who will only end up leaving when he sees how close he and Maisie are.

When Marc and Cas discover they live in the same building, it’s kismet. But Marc has to invite chaos into his life if he and Cas stand a chance, and Cas faces a choice between friendship and love. Luck may be on their side… if they’re willing to risk it all.

three-stars

I’m not use to feeling this way when I finish a Posy Roberts book. It’s definitely one of her lightest read in terms of angst and emotions. It was super cheesy at times, and I did like Marc and Cas when they were together. My issue with the story is MAISIE. As a feminist, I hate saying this, but I wanted her GONE. UGH!!! The biggest thing for me in Gay Romance is the enormous parts that certain side characters get. I hated Maisie. Okay, hate is a strong word, but I really wanted her to back the hell off. She played a major part in this, and yeah I know she’s involved in every aspect of his life, but I would have been so happy if she wasn’t mentioned again. How were Marc and Cas ever doing to get to know one another with her around at every bend?It wasn’t just be feeling like this seeing as Cas was trying to get some space as well. I can’t see how this wasn’t an issue before Marc. I mean, 8 years is a long ass time to me. I see what it is, maybe it was co-dependency on one another for so long, that when either found someone to be with it wasn’t going to be hell to pay.

I didn’t really feel the connection emotionally between the two. At certain times it would feel like that’s where it was headed, but then the connection dropped. I want to say I felt it was a bit disjointed, but then I’m not sure if that’s the right word. I can’t think of the word. I did like that they were very open with each other regarding their history and sexuality. Yes Cas, did a dumb thing and the “communication bug” roared it’s ugly head, but I was able to get passed that.

Physically they were compatible. I think if it was longer, then maybe I would have enjoyed it more and was able to see the progress that they’ve made together emotionally and mentally. I really would have liked to see them grow and just be together. I think 15 more pages could have sustained me. All in all, it’s Posy Roberts, so the writing was great. I despised Maisie after 5 minutes, but I liked Cas and Marc at the end.

About Posy Roberts

Real life. Genuine men. True love.

Posy Roberts writes about the realistic struggles of men looking for love. Whether her characters are family men, drag queens, or lonely men searching for connections, they all find a home in her stories.

Posy is married to a man who makes sure she doesn’t forget to eat or sleep. Her daughter, a budding author and dedicated Whovian, helps her come up with character names. When Posy’s not writing, she enjoys crafting, hiking, and singing spontaneously about the mundane, just to make normal seem more interesting.

New Release Spotlight & Giveaway: Stroke of Lucky by Posy Roberts

solbanner

Oh My Shelves welcomes one of Mika’s favorite authors, Posy Roberts to the blog. She has a new release Stroke of Luck that came out October 27, 2016. She brings us an exclusive excerpt and her inspiration for Stroke of Luck! She’s also giving away an e-book of winner’s choice from her backlist! Comment below for a chance to win. Please welcome Posy to the blog!!

Exclusive Excerpt

Scene setup: Marc is shopping for kitchen items and clothes at Goodwill to replace what burned in a fire a week ago. He runs into Cas and Maisie looking for Halloween costumes.

Oh. My. Gawd!” the blonde woman said, voice rising in pitch with each word.

What do you think?” A built guy with jacked-up shoulders and an amazing ass that had been poured into tight, red jeans walked in front of Marc and over to his previous dance partner. The guy wiggled his hips in a mesmerizing way.

Cas… oh my God. Turn around! Let me see that ass.”

Marc watched as… Cas turned. The woman spanked him, and Cas stuck his ass out as if asking for “another, please.”

They look amazing. What do you think?”

Hmmm.” Cas looked over his shoulder at his reflection in the mirror, and Marc noticed a white streak in his dark hair, about two inches wide. “Well, Maisie, I think these are it. Now, if I can find a red leather jacket, that would be great. You still have those leather pieces at home from the vest you made last year, right?”

Yeah. You gonna embellish?”

Mhmm.” Cas marched over to the jackets and stood right across from Marc. Maisie went back to picking through the racks a few rows away.

Marc found himself staring outright at the hot guy and studying that streak in his hair. He tore his attention back to the coats, hunting for something that could serve for both work and casual. A peacoat would be nice, if he could afford it.

Look at this!” Cas was enthusiastic as he slipped on a hideous red jacket, but Maisie ignored him.

Marc couldn’t keep his snort of laughter in. The coat was that bad.

Something funny?” Cas asked with a bitch brow.

Marc bit his lip and shook his head before double-checking the size on the coat he’d just found. He slipped it over his shoulders. It felt comfortable.

What? What’s so funny?”

Nothing. I’m sorry. It’s just….”

Laughing at the queer guy willing to try something besides black or navy, huh?” Cas gestured to the navy wool coat Marc wore.

No. It’s not that. It’s just that… you look… you look like….”

Maisie came to the rescue. “Get that off, Cas! You look like Michael Jackson. All it’s missing is silver zippers and spangles on the shoulders. Off!”

Marc slipped the navy coat in his cart and had started to make his escape when he was stopped by Cas’s apology. “Sorry, man.” When Marc turned back, he was glad to see the hideous coat was no longer on Cas, and Maisie was tucking it deep between other clothes so no one else needed to be accosted by it. “I didn’t mean to imply you were homophobic or anything.” Cas shrugged.

I’d be a hypocrite if I were.” Marc gave Cas what he hoped was his warmest smile, and then he winked.

soltagline

Posy’s inspiration for this novella!

When I was looking for a photo for the cover of Stroke of Luck, I had to search to find a guy that worked for the story, and that meant I needed a profile shot. Cas has two birthmarks on one side where sections of his hair have no pigment. They appear white, and I didn’t want to be messing with recoloring small sections of hair in the photo. When I found this man covering half his face with a devilish, come-hither smile, I just had to have him!

Cas’s birthmarks come into play in the story. For most of his life, people have randomly come up to him to touch his hair without consent. They just reached out and touched. He’s gone so far as to cover one of the sections with color so nobody notices it.

From the time he was a young child all the way up until his late twenties, people have disregarded his personal space bubble because of their own curiosity, but Marc is different. Marc is curious as hell, don’t get me wrong. He finds the white hair stunning, but he doesn’t disrespect Cas. He nearly does, but he catches himself, which I love about Marc. He recognizes what he’s about to do and pulls up short.

As a woman who didn’t always have her “noes” and “stops” heeded, I know how having consent disregarded feels. And as a mother, I wanted my daughter to know her words should be respected the first time. From when she was a toddler, if my daughter said “Stop” during tickle time or even a hug, I stopped. Sometimes she would get upset that I’d stopped, but that was part of the lesson for her as well. I gave her alternative words to use if she really wanted the fun to continue, because I wanted stop to mean stop and no to mean no. I wanted her to know that those words should be respected and heeded at all times. So teaching my kid about consent became a natural part of parenting at an early age. Now that she’s in high school, those lessons have served her well.

When I set out writing Stroke of Luck, I had no clue this consent theme was going to come out, but it did. And more than once. I wrote about consent in at least three different ways: between close friends, between Cas and Marc with the hair thing, and once more. I was going to write a sweet story with no mention of any serious content whatsoever. But I guess I can’t do that even in something this fluffy. 😉 I’m an educator to my very soul, I guess.

But to me, consent is part of everyday life. It’s something we do to show respect. Oh, and does Marc respect Cas. Oh my! That shock of white hair may have been the thing that initially captured Marc’s attention. Well, actually it was Cas’s ass poured into a pair of tight, red jeans, but then he noticed the hair. That was the thing that Marc spotted first as fate kept bringing these two men together to get it right and get together already! This is a sweet, meet-cute, contemporary MM Romance between two bisexual men who are ready to fall in love. Enjoy!

strokeofluckcover Stoke of Luck: by Posy Roberts
Release Date: October 27, 2016
Pages: 86 • Format: eARC
Published By: Labyrinth Bound Press
Purchase Links:
Amazon US

Blurb

After everything Marc owned burned to a crisp, he’s living off the kindness of others. A model condo is his temporary home, and his last dime went to essentials. He doesn’t need another distraction, but the fates conspire against him, setting up a chain of encounters that bring him face to face with Cas.

Cas’s love life has been in limbo for years, lovers moving on as soon as they discover how close he is to his best friend, Maisie. Then he meets Marc. The attraction between the two men can’t be denied, but Cas isn’t sure he can risk his friendship for a guy who will only end up leaving when he sees how close he and Maisie are.

When Marc and Cas discover they live in the same building, it’s kismet. But Marc has to invite chaos into his life if he and Cas stand a chance, and Cas faces a choice between friendship and love. Luck may be on their side… if they’re willing to risk it all.

Author Bio

posyrobertslogo Posy Roberts writes about the realistic struggles of men looking for love. Whether her characters are family men, drag queens, or lonely men searching for connections, they all find a home in her stories.

Posy is a Jill of all trades and master of the drill and paintbrush. She’s married to a partner who makes sure she doesn’t forget to eat or sleep during her writing frenzies. Her daughter, a budding author and cinematographer, helps her come up with character names. For fun, Posy enjoys crafting, hiking, and singing spontaneously about the mundane, just to make regular life more interesting.

 

∗∗∗∗Giveaway∗∗∗∗

Please comment below on which Posy Roberts cover is your favorite and why? Winner will be selected by 11/07/16. E-book of your choice from the author’s back-list only.

I myself am in love with the Naked Organics cover but the new cover for the North Star Trilogy forced me to buy it when I own all 3 e-books separately!!!

About Posy Roberts

Real life. Genuine men. True love.

Posy Roberts writes about the realistic struggles of men looking for love. Whether her characters are family men, drag queens, or lonely men searching for connections, they all find a home in her stories.

Posy is married to a man who makes sure she doesn’t forget to eat or sleep. Her daughter, a budding author and dedicated Whovian, helps her come up with character names. When Posy’s not writing, she enjoys crafting, hiking, and singing spontaneously about the mundane, just to make normal seem more interesting.

Farm Fresh (Naked Organics #1) by Posy Roberts

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review.
This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ffFarm Fresh by Posy Roberts, Series: Naked Organics 
Release Date:  January 28, 2016
Pages: 204   • Published by: Labyrinth Bound Press   Format:  eARC
Purchase Link:  Amazon  

Jude Garrity visits the farmers market every Saturday. As an environmental engineering student, he’s curious about living off the grid and sustainable agriculture.

And one particular farmer.

Hudson Oliva has worked hard to support his commune, where queer people live without fear of harm or retribution. When Jude asks pointed questions about living there, Hudson realizes he needs to be honest about his home. Few people know what the farm is actually about, but Jude is insistent.

Jude moves to Kaleidoscope Gardens, however his sexual hang-ups make it hard to adjust. He’s an uptight virgin living among people who have sex freely and with multiple partners. When Jude finally loosens up, Hudson is flooded with emotions. Falling for Jude wasn’t part of Hudson’s life plan. But when vindictive rumors about the commune begin to spread, love might be all he has left.

four-stars

Posy Roberts rocks!!! I think she is one of the most realistic fiction authors out here. I don’t think I grasped the concept of the story until I was halfway through the book. It’s not subject that I’ve familiar with. I think it was taboo 10 years ago and I would have turned my nose at it. Presently, I’m okay with the social issues surrounding the story as well as the self love, and love among multiple partners in this story. I think people judge what they don’t know, or aren’t familiar with and I can understand the dialogue better in the story because of it. I swear reading gay romance these last 4 or 5 years have opened my eyes in ways I would have never thought of. The closes things I knew about gardening was my grandma making her grand kids dig her garden up every June, then planting the tomatoes, collard greens, bell peppers, blueberries, cucumbers, peppers. That’s all I knew, and I did that because I was made of it. I didn’t get in the organic fruits & vegetables until last really. I started going to the farmers market and learned so many things, so this book was a comfort seeing as how they go about producing quality ingredients for their customers.

The idea of me reading about a commune is ironic, seeing as a few weeks ago a friend and I were discussing things and her ideal dream was to do yoga, eat organic food, rescue dogs and live on a commune. Before she could explain it to me I looked it up. The first thing that popped in my mind was orgies and Mormons. Not together, but those were my thoughts. Fast forward to this moment, and I see why people would want to live on a commune. Take away the sex part, let’s talk about the peace that everyone has. Each one of these people are living their truth, and are extremely happy. They made me happy, because it was so much love and openness between everyone.

Jude & Hudson equally frustrated me at times. Both have horrendous past that they need to overcome. I still say need, because it’s not something that they have overcome. They are both dealing with religious zealots for parents. Hudson is still punishing himself for his actions. He has abandonment issues that could have caused Jude to never open up to him. Jude’s abuse at the hands of his parents make all the sense in the world by his actions. He’s wrapped up in his thoughts, and past that it takes him a long time to accept his sexuality. This story has alot of sweet parts too it, and the sexual parts were equally beautiful. I don’t think I’ve ever looked at sex their way, but I get it.

I didn’t want it to end, I wanted to know what happened next with Jude and his family. I wanted to see Leo counsel Hudson. I happy with what we got. They deserve each other and I was so happy to see them stop fighting themselves.

About Posy Roberts

Real life. Genuine men. True love.

Posy Roberts writes about the realistic struggles of men looking for love. Whether her characters are family men, drag queens, or lonely men searching for connections, they all find a home in her stories.

Posy is married to a man who makes sure she doesn’t forget to eat or sleep. Her daughter, a budding author and dedicated Whovian, helps her come up with character names. When Posy’s not writing, she enjoys crafting, hiking, and singing spontaneously about the mundane, just to make normal seem more interesting.