Romancing the Wrong Twin by Clare London

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review.
This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

clRomancing the Wrong Twin: by Clare London
Series: Dreamspun Desires
Release Date: November 1st, 2016
Pages: 256 • Format: eARC
Published By:Dreamspinner Press
Purchase Links:
Dreamspinner

How tangled can a romantic web get?

When gruff mountaineer Dominic Hartington-George seeks sponsorship for his latest expedition, his London PA insists on a more media-friendly profile—like dating celebrity supermodel Zeb Z.

Zeb can’t make the date, so he asks his identical twin, Aidan, to stand in for just one evening. Aidan, a struggling playwright, shuns the limelight to the extent people don’t even know Zeb has a sibling, but he reluctantly agrees.

When the deception has to continue beyond the first date, Aidan fights to keep up the pretense. Dominic likes his sassy, intelligent companion, and Aidan starts falling for the forthright explorer. But how long can Aidan’s conscience cope as confusion abounds? Will coming clean as “the other twin” destroy the trust they’ve built?

four-half-stars


**ZOMG** This is my gush face!

I loved every second of this sugary fluff. Loved the age-gap, the fieriness, fluff, and the British Boys.

I’m almost certain that this is my first Clare London book, I will definitely be reading more from her. This Dreamspun Desires series seems to be going one of two ways for me. Either I dislike them or love them. Ha, this is a good one. I do okay with fake relationship aspect. I think the author did a fabulous job on making the twins as nigh and day as she could. I mean they were two completely different people but I loved Zeb & Aidan as equally good. Maybe Aidan a little bit more since he brought out this side of Dominic that no one wasn’t able to see. I love the dry humor in this story. I also like that they both had two difference of opinions a lot of times. For all of Dominic’s abrasiveness he surely opened up and fell in love unapologetically with Aidan. Even Aidan becoming his brother who is famous and completely different then Aidan was a prize to see. I loved Aidan’s vulnerability at times, and loved how when the same feelings were reciprocated within Dominic he did everything he could to pick Dominic’s spirit up.

Dominic!! You big grouchy bear. He’s a commitmentphobe who lives life on the edge or on adrenaline. Dominic is a man of few words, and with the look of my favorite face. The RBF (Resting Bitch Face)!! He is a mountaineer and he won’t be anything else. It’s his passion and every man in his family is the same. He comes from a legacy of excellence where he wants to follow in his father’s footsteps. Only one teeny tiny problem. His ass is broke. No money for excursions, so he sucks it up and tries to get sponsors. HA!!!! I loved his initial reaction to having a sponsor. I loved the relationship he has between his self and his PA’s. He literally seemed like the Grinch most of the book. Here’s where the author excelled for me. I like that he has these feelings and recognized what they were. He didn’t immediately push Aidan away for fear of rejection. Sure he never talked about it, but I think for H-G just being able to converse with someone else was enough for him to fall in love. That’s the message I atleast got from it. I don’t think he was so hung up on Aidan’s looks more as being able to be himself with Aidan.

Aidan was great as well. Talk about taking the bull by the horns and going for it. When Zeb brought him this proposition sure he was scared but the excelled at the subterfuge of it all. I can see where he was falling for H-G and having the hardship of lying to him as well. Yes, he lied about who he was. You get that in the blurb, it shouldn’t be a surprised. I really enjoyed seeing him with his friends. Titus is the best ever!! He had my favorite line out the entire story. I loved seeing them together. I’m a huge sucker for age-gap and this one worked perfectly to me. I wouldn’t mind seeing these two in the future or revisiting this world some time.

This is a high recommend for me. It was just a good reading day I presume. It’s low-angst, heavy on the attraction, witty, and really good. I definitely enjoyed it and can’t wait to read more by this author!

About Clare London

Hi, I’m Clare London, a published author of gay romantic fiction, often erotic, usually contemporary, but sometimes in other worlds entirely. I publish with several publishers, in print and ebook, and I also offer free fiction on my website www.clarelondon.com. Clare took the pen name London from the city where she lives, loves, and writes. A lone, brave female in a frenetic, testosterone-fuelled family home, she juggles her writing with her other day job as an accountant. She’s written in many genres and across many settings, with award-winning novels and short stories published both online and in print. She says she likes variety in her writing while friends say she’s just fickle, but as long as both theories spawn good fiction, she’s happy. Most of her work features male/male romance and drama with a healthy serving of physical passion, as she enjoys both reading and writing about strong, sympathetic and sexy characters. Clare currently has several novels sulking at that tricky chapter 3 stage and plenty of other projects in mind . . . she just has to find out where she left them in that frenetic, testosterone-fuelled family home.

Marriage of Inconvenience by M.J. O’Shea

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review.
This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

perf4.250x7.000.inddMarriage of Inconvenience by M.J. O’Shea
Series: Dreamspun Desires
Release Date: August 15, 2016
Pages: 214 • Format: eARC
Published By: Dreamspinner Press
Purchase Links:
DreamspinnerAmazonARe

Lights, camera, lies.

Kerry Pickering has a problem. As a publicist for Hollywood bad boy Jericho Knox, it’s Kerry’s job to keep Jericho in the news. So far, Jericho’s partying and public escapades have made it easy. But Jericho has a secret, and when that secret is revealed in the most spectacularly disastrous way, it’s up to Kerry to spin it.

The team decides the best course of action is to make the public fall in love—with Jericho’s secret committed relationship. The one that doesn’t exist. Yet.

The team wants someone they can trust. Someone in the inner circle. That someone is Kerry. But what will happen when Kerry realizes that for him, the romance is no longer pretend? Can Jericho love him back, or is he just playing a role?

 

three-half-stars

 

This was my first book in the Dreamspun Desires series. I liked it. It took a while for me to get into it, but I definitely enjoyed it in the end. Jericho Knox is a man made to not follow rules. He’s giving his PR firm a pretty big headache. He’s been persuaded to appear “straight” for Hollywood. This is not a big shocker,because if he wants to be famous then he’ll have to play by their rules. Well things go wrong for him when he’s picture with a guy in a NSFW type of photo. Enter Kerry Pickering one of the publicist for Jericho. He makes a pitch on how to save Jericho’s career and future job.

Sure enough Kerry’s helpful advice comes back to bite him in the butt literally. Instead of a sweet girl next door, the firm tells Kerry it’s his time to buck up and help out. By way of playing Jericho’s fake fiancee’. I liked the steady climb of their relationship. Sure Jericho was a major douche in the beginning, but he doesn’t have anyone in the same city he seems like he can trust. Kerry is so sweet. He’s a little naive about things, and maybe sees the good in people to much, but I still enjoyed him for Jericho. When they both realize that they aren’t really faking it, signals get crossed and actions happen that forced them apart.

This was a sweet, cheesy, low-angst story. I enjoyed it, and liked the OTT things that happened. I enjoyed seeing both guys happy and seeing them mend their relationship!

About M.J. O’Shea

M.J. O’Shea has never met a music festival, paintbrush, or flower crown she can stay away from. She loves rainstorms and a perfect cup of tea, beach days, music, bright colors, and more than anything a cozy evening with a really good book.
She is from the Pacific Northwest. While she still lives there and loves it, M.J. has the heart of a wanderer. So she puts all her dreams of far off places and extraordinary people in her books.
Except for every once in a while when she does what all travelers have to do on occasion… come home.

The Greek Tycoon’s Green Card Groom by Kate McMurray

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review.
This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

perf4.250x7.000.inddThe Greek Tycoon’s Green Card Groom by Kate McMurray
Series: Dreamspun Desires
Release Date: July 15, 2016
Pages: 218 • Format: eARC
Published By: Dreamspinner Press
Purchase Links:
DreamspinnerAmazonARe

Marriage gets less convenient when love is involved.

It started simple: Ondrej Kovac marries Archie Katsaros so Ondrej can stay in the US, away from his judgmental family in eastern Europe. Archie marries Ondrej in exchange for the money to bail out his failing company. It’s a fraud neither man is convinced he can pull off.

But as Archie introduces Ondrej to New York society and Ondrej proves his skill in the office, they start to discover a connection between them. Can they overcome the rocky foundation their relationship was built on, meddling immigration agents, gossip columnists determined to out their deception, and an aggressive executive set on selling Archie’s company out from under him? Only if they can prove to each other their love is worth fighting for.

three-half-stars

This was a-dor-able. Simply adorable

I read this while nursing a wicked migraine on a hot summer day in the desert and it was the best medicine.

“Mr. Katsaros wishes to make a proposal.”

Quick review of a super sweet story: Ondrej needs to get away from his non-accepting and meddling family so he comes to the states. Archie is now running his father’s business and trying to keep his head above water and the company from sinking. When Archie finds out Ondrej wants to stay in the US and that he recently came into some family money, he gets an idea.

I love the whole sham of a marriage for whatever reason trope and this was done well. It helped that both men were truly attracted to one another before the marriage but of course didn’t realize they both felt that way.

I liked the slow burn of the relationship between Archie and Ondrej. It was adorable to see them get to know one another without studying for the interview with immigration. I mean, of course that interview would have to come in a story like this, but the simple time they spent together was sweet as they just became a couple without trying.

But the interview does happen and it throws in a bit of angst and worry into the new relationship building between our men. I loved that they went at everything with caution. I loved that Archie was a big marshmallow in Ondrej’s eyes and that he made room in his home, his company and his heart for this lost boy in need of permanent status.

The parties were fun to watch, I mean there is dancing and taking care of sea sick partners to be had so the intimate and swoony moments were plenty and this just worked… well most of it did.

To be honest, I loved the story until the last couple pages. It was fun, it was a ride on the Dreampsun Desires express that I will be a forever ticket holder to but that last bit? It came out of nowhere and for me, added absolutely nothing to the story. Nothing at all and I groaned that it was even there because it left an icky taste in my mouth.

But over all, this was still fun and I enjoyed watching these men go about their relationship backwards but making it work.

About Kate McMurray

Kate McMurray has been writing stories since she could hold a pen. She picked up her first romance novel when she was thirteen and has loved the genre ever since. She started writing gay romance after reading a book and thinking there should be more love stories with gay characters. Her first published novel, In Hot Pursuit, came out in February 2010, and she’s been writing feverishly ever since. She likes stories that are brainy, funny, and of course sexy, with regular guy characters and urban sensibilities.

When she’s not writing, Kate works a nonfiction editor. She also reads a lot, plays the violin, knits and crochets, and drools over expensive handbags. She’s maybe a tiny bit obsessed with baseball. She lives in Brooklyn, NY, with a pesky cat.

She is currently serving as president of Rainbow Romance Writers, the LGBT romance chapter of Romance Writers of America. She’s also active in RWA NYC, the local New York City RWA chapter.

Ace in the Hole by Ava Drake

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review.
This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

perf4.250x7.000.inddAce in the Hole by Ava Drake
Series: Dreamspun Desires, Wild Cards, Book One
Release Date: July 1, 2016
Pages: 216 • Format: eARC
Published By: Dreamspinner Press
Purchase Links:
DreamspinnerAmazonARe

Christian Chatsworth-Brandeis has a problem. A huge one. The US senator he works for has run away with his latest mistress on the eve of a make-or-break fund-raising event, and it’s up to him to cover his boss’s irresponsible tracks.

Stone Jackson, the senator’s new bodyguard, looks enough like the senator that, with some extensive grooming, he might pass for Senator Lacey. Christian and Stone hatch a plan to fool everyone by substituting Stone for the senator, but Miami madness and the incendiary heat between them are throwing obstacles in their way. It’s a race to find the senator and pull off the con of the century before the attraction between them spins completely out of control.

four-half-stars

I can’t lose with the books coming out from the Dreamspun Desires series. I have said it with each story read and reviewed, these are my happy place and they give me exactly what I need every time.

I will keep this brief because I tend to ramble when I love books.

Told from the dual POV of our MC’s we get a fun and sexy tale of two strong and stubborn men who have finally met their match in every way possible.

I adored the meet cute with Stone and Christian. I loved that they were a perfect mental and physical match for one another and how they got cock blocked too. It lent to the build-up of the UST that is throughout the book and made me want… WANT for their next meeting. Thank goodness I did not have to wait long.

This book was fun.  Hands down fun and super sexy. I love it when an author can make me feel the intimate moments without all the porny details associated with sex but just feel through the emotions and new to me author Ava Drake did just that. Don’t get me wrong, the sex is sexy in this but the way the author handled the different times added so much intimacy to the romance.

Christian is stuck in a job with a boss he hates but he’s there to pay his dues. When Stone gets hired to protect the hated boss, the two decide they are off limits physically until Stone’s company dumps the senator because he won’t behave. What happens next gives the men an opportunity to be close to one another and stay together but at what cost?

The things that happen to Stone as Jack Lacey were incredibly fun to read. The way that Stone decides Christian needs to lose a bit of control was hot as all hell and the picture the paparazzi get made me melt. Goodness, there was so much in this that I can’t quite find the words to describe it all but sweet, sexy and swoony are a few that come to mind.

Ace in the Hole was another ace romance for his series about two men who find out the jobs they take are the ones that will lead them to their future in many ways. The fact that this is listed as a Dreamspun book AND Wild Cards #1 makes me hope that we see more of these two down the road.

 

About Ava Drake

New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Ava Drake grew up in the heart of the rural Midwest but beat a hasty retreat to the big city and bright lights as fast as humanly possible. Armed with a pilot’s license, fluency in several languages, a large dose of daring, and her dashing good looks, she took off to travel the world.

She flew everything from single-seat private airplanes to supersonic jets and the western world’s largest airplane, the mighty C-5 Galaxy. In her adventures, she visited forty-two countries on five continents, was detained by the KGB and East German secret police, got shot at, flew in the first Gulf War, met her shockingly handsome husband, and amassed a lifetime’s worth of war stories. Along the way, she engaged in a little light espionage and met more than her share of dark, dangerous, and good-looking men.

Travel weary at last, she came home and settled down to the business of writing stories of romance and adventure, which may or may not be autobiographical. Winner of a Golden Heart and Holt Medallion for writing, Ava is a five-time finalist and two-time winner of the prestigious RITA Award for Romance Fiction. She’s also a two-time winner of RT Book Review’s Best Harlequin Romantic Suspense Novel of the Year, and is a Romantic Times Lifetime Career Achievement nominee.

Undercover Boyfriend by Jacob Z. Flores

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review.
This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

UndercoverBoyfriendLGUndercover Boyfriend by Jacob Z. Flores
Series: Dreamspun Desires, One Fine Day
Release Date: June 15, 2016
Pages: 236 • Format: eARC
Published By: Dreamspinner Press
Purchase Links:
DreamspinnerAmazonARe

A One Fine Day Novel

Two men, one lie, and a whole bunch of trouble.

Marty Valdez is in serious trouble. His sister’s wedding is around the corner, and everyone expects to meet Marty’s super-successful underwear model boyfriend—whom Marty invented. Now Marty has to produce a half-naked hottie or suffer the worst humiliation of his life.

FBI agent Luke Myers is in serious trouble. He’s been working undercover to take down a dangerous drug cartel, but his cover’s blown and he needs to disappear. Luckily, a geeky yet intriguing comic book artist gives him the perfect opportunity. Luke just has to pretend to be his boyfriend, and pretending is what he does best. But between Marty’s mother and his ex, Luke might’ve bitten off more than he can chew, and Marty’s knack for finding trouble might ruin more than just his sister’s wedding.

four-half-stars

I think this might just be my favorite from the Dreamspun Desires series. I cannot stop smiling and going over all my highlights from the book and I have found a new author whose backlist I need to stalk, like now.

Let me attempt to make this short and sweet. Don’t look like that, I can do it… maybe?

Marty is a man who has a knack for spinning tall tales about folks that don’t exist to make his life just a tad bit easier. When he needs a date for his sister’s wedding events to get his mom off his back and to show his ex that he too has moved on to bigger and better men, Marty is in a bind because his current boyfriend, Tim is only a figment of Marty’s over active and extremely vivid imagination.

OMG! Marty is one hell of a crack up. From the first word we get from him I adored him. The meet cute with Luke was ridiculously adorable and the follow up had me laughing out loud at my desk because, well it was funny as all heck.

I love the fake boyfriend trope! It’s one of my favorites and it always leads to the best moments when the fake fades and the real is all that matters.

…who was this man his father’s lucky coin had brought to him?

Luke, Luke, Luke… LUKE.. where do I begin with you? I adored Luke in so many ways. He is this big strong, super smart and talented FBI Agent who meets his match in Marty. I loved that being in Luke’s line of work, meeting someone like Marty who is inherently good kind of knocks his socks off and makes him take notice. His instinct to trust Marty and Marty’s to trust him made the the romance so much fun to read. I love a good long slow burn of a relationship but I am a girl who moved in with her now husband after 1.5 months of “dating” so I get that you can fall hard and fast and have it last a life time.

I love that this is all a matter of being in the right place at the right time. Sure, there lies/secrets a plenty in this story but they are cleared up pretty quick and we get down to the fun banter and super sweet moments with these two men as they let down their guard and become stronger because they have crossed paths.

Marty’s family is wacky and yet so supportive and loving of one another. The way Marty’s mom grills Luke as Tim to make sure he is okay for her son was endearing. The fact that Sophia, Marty’s amazing and hilarious sister, stirs up trouble with “Tim’s” occupation had me laughing out loud again but really, his family is what those of us without familial ties wish for; to be loved and supported for being your true self.

This was full of tropey goodness with a bit of action tossed in. Crispy was a great side character and the mystery around the lies was fun as it all unraveled and you wondered who really the target of the bad guys was.

But what makes this my favorite is not just the sexy and sweet romance but the witty banter between Luke and Marty and Marty and his family. I love to laugh and this had me grinning, snorting and cracking up time after time all while knowing everyone would be okay in the end.

Oh and that end??? Shut. The. Front. Door. because that kind of romantic gesture needs to be kept under a lock and hidden away for Luke and Marty because it was Happily Ever After perfection.

One last thing, this is in the Dreamspun Desire series but also listed as part of another series that I am kind of more than curious about. Do we get more of these two or more of…. I need to know!

About Jacob Z. Flores

Jacob Z. Flores lives a double life. During the day, he is a respected college English professor and mid-level administrator. At night and during his summer vacation, he loosens the tie and tosses aside the trendy sports coat to write man on man fiction, where the hard ass assessor of freshmen level composition turns his attention to the firm posteriors and other rigid appendages of the characters in his fictional world.

Summers in Provincetown, Massachusetts, provide Jacob with inspiration for his fiction. The abundance of barely clothed man flesh and daily debauchery stimulates his personal muse. When he isn’t stroking the keyboard, Jacob spends time with his daughter. They both represent a bright blue blip in an otherwise predominantly red swath in south Texas.

Finding Family by Connie Bailey

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review.
This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

FindingFamilyLGFinding Family by Connie Bailey
Series: Dreamspun Desires
Release Date: June 1, 2016
Pages: 234 • Format: eARC
Published By: Dreamspinner Press
Purchase Links:
DreamspinnerAmazonARe

When you find your family, you’ll do anything to keep it.

When Charles Macquarrie inherits a fortune and an international clothing company, he also inherits three young cousins he desperately needs help raising. By a stroke of luck, he discovers and hires Jonathan Lamb, who spent his life in a children’s home due to chronic illness, to be his nanny.

If Jon thought a budding romance with his wealthy boss complicated his life, he has no idea of the hardships awaiting him when he’s charged with embezzlement and kidnapping. But even when threatened by accounting discrepancies and mob connections, Jon and Charles won’t let go of the family they’ve built together without a fight.

three-half-stars

 

Another fun book in the series. I know I keep saying that but it’s true.

I sometimes do this thing where I don’t read the entire blurb for books. It’s weird, I acknowledge that but it’s what I do and with this I am happy I did and I’ll explain why a bit later.

Jonathan Lamb, talk about a fitting name, is a lovely young man who grew up in a children’s home and raised by nuns. When Job comes of age, he takes on a job at the home instead of leaving as it’s the one place he feels he belongs. When a job offer arrives to be a nanny to three young charges of a wealthy man, Jon interviews, gets the job  and the move to the Big Apple happens.

Charles, I sincerely liked. From the beginning you feel for him as he runs the family company and tries to honor his late father’s memory. You feel for him as he skirts around the details of his sexuality with his personal assistant and attempts to keep a foot in the closet. The moment when Charles realizes that he, Jon and the kids are all orphans tugged at my hopeless romantic heart strings and while it was predictable at times, his path to Jon was a joy to watch. Even Charles’ drunk moments were insightful though one time I wish Jon would have tossed something at him…for reasons.

I loved Jon and need to channel his abilities with kids when I am dealing with my own. I loved that this story was a bit different with Charles being the cousin to the kids and not the lonely widower. It leant a new twist on his need for Jon and his true detachment from the kids. But of course, you don’t bring someone like Jon – caring, adorable, trustworthy, and able, a culinary artist in the kitchen – and not have your life changed.

The kids were well written. Holland was a forward and bright young man who I am so glad never fought against Jon being there. Madeline has a strong head on her shoulders yet was still the young girl whose life would end at missing a party and then there is Juliana who I just want to cuddle the heck out of and kiss her cheeks. The kids were all an essential part of the story and never took from Jon and Charles’ relationship, but added more because as the title says, this is a story about finding family.

Now back to me not reading blurbs, I am so glad I didn’t because when Charles whisks Jon and the kids out of town to a remote cabin and police show up at the door with accusations of kidnapping I was gasping under the covers trying not to wake my husband. I went back and read the blurb and sure enough it’s there but it was such a surprise for me and I love that.

The story had moments that were predictable and some that weren’t which made this a fun read. A few niggles with the head hopping, though it could have been my review copy,  the lack of a real romance and not exactly feeling the chemistry between the two men and not really getting into Jon’s birthmark and why the blurb mentions it makes it a chronic illness but other than those small things, this was another fun read from the Dreamspun Desire series.

 

About Connie Bailey

I was born on an Air Force base and I’ve been in flight ever since. My father took the family with him wherever he was stationed; Spain, Morocco, Turkey, and Alaska were among his postings. While studying commercial arts, I married a musician who turned out to be a pilot in disguise. Having no burning ambition of my own at the time, I devoted myself to his dream. His job as aircraft designer and competition pilot has taken us all over the world. I have now set foot on almost every continent (a personal life ambition), but I don’t hold out much hope for Antarctica anymore.

I have always loved to read. Since I was four, reading has been my favorite diversion and books my best friends. A few years ago, with my husband’s support, I set out to become a writer. I wrote every day and posted what I wrote at various Internet groups and later on livejournal. I cannot recommend this school of writing highly enough. The candid feedback I received was invaluable to my development. I kept working at it, and one day I received the most exciting e-mail ever. A publisher wanted to talk to me.

That’s pretty much it so far. There are a few fun facts like: my only child is a rescued Greyhound named Lizard, I live at a small grass airfield with a hang gliding school, I have what’s commonly referred to as a “photographic memory”, I collect words as a hobby, and my only nickname is “The Judge”.

Pleased to meet you.

The Cattle Baron’s Bogus Boyfriend by Nicki Bennett

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review.
This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

CattleBaronsBogusBoyfriend[The]LGThe Cattle Baron’s Bogus Boyfriend by Nicki Bennett
Series: Dreamspun Desires
Release Date: May 15, 2016
Pages: 216 • Format: eARC
Published By: Dreamspinner Press
Purchase Links:
DreamspinnerAmazonARe

It might be a sham to his boss, but it’s all too real to him.

Administrative assistant Jonah Hollis has nurtured a hopeless crush on his boss, millionaire cattle rancher Lincoln Courtwright, ever since he started working for him. But hope is kindled when Linc and beautiful rodeo star Melissa Cutler break up just weeks before the biggest event of the Dallas social season, the Cattle Baron’s Ball, and Linc asks Jonah to accompany him in her place.

Is it all a ploy to make Melissa jealous? Can Jonah fit into Linc’s world? It takes some encouragement from his roommates and his best friend, Caylee, for Jonah to agree. Before long, Jonah dares to believe Linc might just feel something for him… until interfering family and a series of misunderstandings threaten his fragile dream of happiness.

three-half-stars

This was cute, as are all the stories I’ve read in the Dreamspun Desires series.

The title, it’s misleading. I thought with it being a “Bogus Boyfriend” we would be getting the fake boyfriend trope that I really enjoy but that wasn’t the case.

Jonah is an administrative assistant to Lincoln, billionaire rancher, owner of the Broken Spoke Ranch who is ruggedly handsome, kind and ….. Jonah is smitten with his boss and goes above and beyond his job title – as most Administrative Assistants do – to make sure Lincoln is taken care of. The above and beyond seems to include dealing with Linc’s pushy AF girlfriend, Melissa who treats Jonah like crap but Jonah puts  up with it because he will do whatever he can for Linc.

Well, one night when Jonah stays late for work, Linc decides they need to get their grub on and the men head out for dinner and begin to get to know one another. They have a few deals of going out for food and then Melissa breaks up with Linc and Linc seems totes okay with it. He invites Jonah out to the ranch and Jonah learns that his boss is not so straight but bisexual and then things start to happen.

I liked that Linc was pretty sly with his secret dating and not letting Jonah in on the fact. Jonah’s reaction to the first kiss was priceless and though I said I wouldn’t read passed my bedtime, that kiss threw my adulating out the window.

This was kinda like a slow burn romance with a side of unrequited love mixed with a retelling of Cinderella. It was a nice blend complete with Jonah’s friends in lieu of fairy godmothers to dress him proper and evil step mothers. It was super cute and super fluffy and really romantic. I get why Jonah let the world tell him Linc’s feelings and not trust his gut but the end was worth all of it.

Again. This series is a happy place for me to get lost when I just want to read a romance that makes me swoon and sigh.

The Cattle Baron’s Bogus Boyfriend is a fun and sexy romance built on tropes that make me smile. If you like your romance with a built in twist on Cinderella with cowboys, dancing and declarations of true love… this is the book for you.

 

About Nicki Bennett

Growing up in Chicago, Nicki Bennett spent every Saturday at the central library, losing herself in the world of books. A voracious reader, she eventually found it difficult to find enough of the kind of stories she liked to read and decided to start writing them herself.

Duke in Hiding by M.J. O’Shea

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review.
This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

DukeInHidingLGDuke in Hiding by M.J. O’Shea
Series: Dreamspun Desires
Release Date: May 1, 2016
Pages: 204 • Format: eARC
Published By: Dreamspinner Press
Purchase Links:
DreamspinnerAmazonARe

Every gentleman has something to hide.

Meeting Heath Blackwood, a gorgeous English farmer, is probably the most exciting thing to ever happen to small-town landscaper Theo Brody, who has lived in quiet Maplehurst, New Hampshire, all his life. The sexy and secretive Brit shakes the foundations of his orderly world as they are swept up in a springtime romance neither can resist.

But Heath’s secrets run deeper than Theo ever imagined. He’s actually Heathcliff Pierrepont Blackwood, Duke of Kingston, in hiding from recent death threats. Suddenly there’s more separating them than the Atlantic Ocean, and Theo doubts he’ll ever fit in with English nobility. Though Heath and Theo are opposites in almost every way, their love might bridge the gap—if they’re willing to take the risk.

four-stars

I don’t think I have to say how much I love his series because I have said it so many times but I really do. The Dreamspun Desire stories are becoming my happy place to curl up with a good romantic story and just fall and love.

This is a very low angst book and I was so happy with that. It was what I needed on a stressful day. I needed a book that would comfort me and make me long for living in small town and be saved by a prince…er um, duke who would fall for the real me because I fell for the real him… yeah, while he was lying because he was in hiding. But semantics… you know?

I loved how Theo and Heath first met and the sarcastic comments they toss back and forth at the bar. I am a sucker for good banter and these two gave it, though it started to be more flirting but you know the best form of foreplay is two dudes hating on one another when they really want to smash their faces together and shove tongues down throats. Don’t look at me that way! You know it’s true.

So anyway, the two get off on the wrong foot and once Heath learns a bit about Theo from the small town busy bodies, he realized he got Theo completely wrong and decides to make amends.

Theo you are amazing! From all that you have gone through and all that you are now, sigh. You love what you have in Maplehurst and the people you call family but that one thing, the one thing you’ve been missing is finding that true love. I loved you though all the work you do with your two jobs was making me tired. Goodness you are a hard worker and you so deserve to be swept off your feet by the dashing Brit who walks into the Gull and changes your life.

Heath, I dug you from the get go. I am a fan of the grumpy dudes with a heart of gold and while you weren’t really grumpy, the vibe of intimation was like a magnet to me. But you are so swoony, even when being a total dork and so enamored of Theo that I enjoyed being in your head as you realized how much the small town across the pond and the boy who lives there might be what you really need.

I loved this story, yet again, and the trope is so one of my favorites. I can’t count how many movies I have seen where we have the celebrity/royal/nobility in hiding who just wants to be seen for who they really are and loved for that person alone and not their title. This was so damn sweet, even with the lies and I couldn’t get enough. Though what I would love to see is for George to get a story. The author is one of my favorites and her YA/coming of age boys always own my heart so yeah, George growing up in the same town Theo did and what could be different for him? Ugh. My heart kinda needs that… please???

Duke in Hiding is another fun and romantic tale from a series that reminds me why I love to read romance; for the romance alone. Heath and Theo may be from opposite sides of the Atlantic but what they want, what they hope for deep in their hearts is so similar, it’s no wonder they fell in each other’s arms.

 

About M.J. O’Shea

M.J. O’Shea has never met a music festival, paintbrush, or flower crown she can stay away from. She loves rainstorms and a perfect cup of tea, beach days, music, bright colors, and more than anything a cozy evening with a really good book.
She is from the Pacific Northwest. While she still lives there and loves it, M.J. has the heart of a wanderer. So she puts all her dreams of far off places and extraordinary people in her books.
Except for every once in a while when she does what all travelers have to do on occasion… come home.

Unstable Stud by Ariel Tachna

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review.
This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.


UnstableStudLGUnstable
 Stud by Ariel Tachna
Series: Lexington Lovers, Dreamspun Desires
Release Date: April 15, 2016
Pages: 204• Format: eARC
Published By: Dreamspinner Press
Purchase Links:
DreamspinnerAmazonARe

Horses were his passion, until he laid eyes on his boss.

Eighteen months ago, tragedy struck Bywater Farm when a riding accident killed Clay Hunter’s lover and traumatized his prize horse, King of Hearts. Clay and King lingered in limbo, surviving but not really living, until a breath of fresh air in the form of Luke Davis, a new groom in the stud barn, revives them both.

When a fall from King’s back sends Luke to the emergency room, Clay watches the shaky foundation of their budding relationship tumble down. Can Clay really love a jockey again, or will his fear of losing another man he loves keep them apart for good?

 

four-stars

This was so damn sweet.

Again, another fun and romantic read from the Dreamspun Desires series and another new to me author under my belt.

Unstable Stud, just the title makes me wonder exactly who we are referring to; King of Hearts, aka King – the horse, or Clay – the studly owner since both are a bit unstable after the death of Nick, Kings rider and Clay’s lover.

We meet Luke Davis as he is working at the Bywater Farm just doing his job, mucking out stalls and doing it with his utmost determination and loyalty because Luke needs this job and the money. You see, Luke is dealing with the recent passing of his mother and having to pay off her medical bills while he lives of the bare necessities and never quite having a social life.

Luke loves working at the farm and with the horses. King is a special horse as he was ridden by the late Nick and King is not keen to many people doing this around him but King was a champion and folks want his babies. Yup, there is a lot of breeding talk in the beginning of this book that honestly, had me kinda uncomfortable. It’s a personal issue for me so I won’t speak much on it but it’s there and parts are odd but, this book is about a horse bringing two men together so it’s relevant. Relevant but not my favorite thing.

Anyway, Luke and King get along well and when Clay sees the horse that used to love only he and his late lover Nick, take to Luke, he promotes Luke from a stable boy to Kings groom and this gives Clay and Luke a chance to be around one another more.

Luke has crushed on Clay the entire six months he has been there but Luke, he doesn’t think too highly of himself as men in the past have basically told him he’s nothing but a pretty face with nothing going on upstairs. It’s gonna take a good man with a lot of love, patience and determination to change Luke’s mind and it’s a good thing Clay is a good and patient man.

I like the approach to the romance, Clay and Luke take their time with the relationship through there is enough UST and tender moments to sustain the reader. I will admit the turnaround happened quickly and it took me a minute to buy that Clay was really into Luke for LUKE and not all the similarities or reminders he brought up of Nick.  But once I settled into the romance when it began, I was hooked.  I was hooked and it was worth it.

King was a character all his own in the story, his presence was always a joy to read as I am a huge animal lover and once fancied myself a Equine Veterinarian until contradictions arose within my conscious but I sill love watching and being around horses. I wish I’d had the privledge my older siblings did of learning to ride horses as the times we get with riding in the book, made me wistful and nostalgic. I cannot leave out the amazing Mrs. Twitchell as she was a great comfort to Luke as well as a positive influence on him in so many way.

Have I said how much I love this series? Speaking of series, this is listed as “Lexington Lovers” as well, I’m curious where the series will take us next.

Unstable Stud was a lovely slow burn romance that never rushes the gallop of love, but lets you trot your way through until you are comfortable. It’s a story about falling off the horse – literally – and getting back in your seat because it’s where you belong, with the man who will be there with a promise at the end.

About Ariel Tachna

When Ariel Tachna was twelve years old, she discovered two things: the French language and romance novels. Those two loves have defined her ever since. By the time she finished high school, she’d written four novels, none of which anyone would want to read now, featuring a young woman who was—you guessed it—bilingual. That girl was everything Ariel wanted to be at age twelve and wasn’t.

She now lives on the outskirts of Houston with her husband (who also speaks French), her kids (who understand French even when they’re too lazy to speak it back), and their two dogs (who steadfastly refuse to answer any French commands).

Forgive and Forget by Charlie Cochet

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review.
This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ForgiveandForgetLGForgive and Forget by Charlie Cochet
Series: Dreamspun Desires
Release Date: April 1, 2016
Pages: 194 • Format: eARC
Published By: Dreamspinner Press
Purchase Links:
DreamspinnerAmazonARe

He’s hot. He’s dangerous. And he can’t remember anything.

As the owner of Apple’n Pies, Joe Applin leads a quiet, uneventful life, content to spend his days serving customers who come from all over to eat his delicious homemade pies. Along with his motley crew—Bea, Elsie, and Donnie—Joe couldn’t be happier in his little kingdom of baked goods and java.

Experience has taught Joe that love is overrated—and at times dangerous. He has no intention of repeating past mistakes. But then he meets a mysterious, handsome man with amnesia, and Joe can’t deny something sweet is in the works. He isn’t one to take risks, not with his heart and certainly not with his life, but the more time he spends with the man he knows as Tom, the closer he is to losing both.

four-half-stars

 

I don’t think I will ever not like a book from the Dreamspun Desire series. This book is just fun. This series is fun and that’s why I keep coming back to it all and am never disappointed. This is my first read from the Charlie Cochet and I am in love with her writing.

We meet one Joe Applin, owner of Apple’n Pies as he is going about his day of normalcy in his pie and coffee shop. We meet his motley crew of employees and get a general feel for Joe; he’s in his late 30’s, single and really married to his job. You get a sense there was a bad break up in his past and that he is hesitant about new relationships.

When he is changing a light outside his cafe with his employee young Danny, he hears a noise in the garden and they investigate to find one battered, semi-conscious man who doesn’t want them to call the cops but may have a concussion. While passed out, Joe and the gang drag the stranger up to Joe’s apartment and try to wake him up and find out what the heck is going on.

I loved that the author handles the first instances of amnesia with actual thought but includes the comedy. Being in Joe’s head as he questions the comparison of the situation to a Lifetime movie and if amnesia is plausible in the case was fun to read.  It brought a moment of realism to a story that only happens in movies and TV Shows… or does it?

I adored the hell out of Joe with his ability to quote movies, shows or anything else that pops into his head. I am the same way and I can guarantee you 99% of the time, my response to most situations has nothing to do with that is going on or what has been asked. My brain is always on six degrees of random, so beware.

Bea, Danny, Elsie and Jules were great supporting characters. They show how much Joe will go to take care of those he cares about and they also show how much they care about Joe. Bea was hilarious and I really hope Danny mans up and tells Elsie how he feels and I am happy Jules ends up back on her nurse feet as well.

Anyway. Joe is letting amnesia boy, though now christened Tom, stay in his apartment though he questions his decision of why. When he tells the gang, I was cracking up. Joe’s reaction to Tom and Tom’s reaction to Joe had me on pins and needles waiting for small touches, coy looks and the moment they both say screw it and give in.

Ugh.

The mystery of who Tom is though… let’s talk about that for a minute. I was so damn thrilled when I turned a page and we get Tom’s POV because oh boy did I ever need it. It was great to see him trust his instincts with Joe and give them both a chance… well, at a chance at something more, something special and something damn romantic.

I am not a reader who tries to figure out a story, regardless of its complexity. For me, letting the author and the characters lead me through it all is what I love about reading. Sure, I come up with theories from time to time but I like to let the story tell itself and having said this, I did have a theory on Tom and I am so happy I was right.

This story, of a sugary sweet romance between Tom and Joe was a joy to read. I loved every word of it and was honestly kinda bummed when it ended. I feel like I haven’t said enough as I look over the many highlights and notes I have from the story but I’m gonna keep those a bit longer so I can laugh and swoon over the moments a few more times.

Forgive and Forget is another wonderful addition to this series. It’s a story about taking a chance on love, even when the guy who are with may not know his name at the moment,  it’s about trusting your gut and it’s about being rescued and rescuing right back.

 

 

About Charlie Cochet

Charlie Cochet is an author by day and artist by night. Always quick to succumb to the whispers of her wayward muse, no star is out of reach when following her passion. From adventurous agents and sexy shifters, to society gentlemen and hardboiled detectives, there’s bound to be plenty of mischief for her heroes to find themselves in, and plenty of romance, too!

Currently residing in Central Florida, Charlie is at the beck and call of a rascally Doxiepoo bent on world domination. When she isn’t writing, she can usually be found reading, drawing, or watching movies. She runs on coffee, thrives on music, and loves to hear from readers.If you’d like to connect with Charlie, just drop her an email, or find her on Facebook, Twitter, Goodreads, and Google Plus.